Got a Zgemma H7S from Amazon France last night for €145 delivered.I'll have it Thursday according to tracking.
I took a free Prime FR trial and got €40 off the original price of €170+pp.
I'll be cancelling the trial as soon as I take delivery.
Might be of use to one of ye lads.
https://www.amazon.fr/Zgemma-R%C3%A9cepteur-t%C3%A9l%C3%A9vision-Satellite-DVB-S2X/dp/B078ST6NV9/ref=sr_1_1?crid=169392P2NTYQJ&keywords=zgemma+h7s&qid=1696665928&sprefix=zgemma%2Caps%2C61&sr=8-1
I remember zgemma box of old :)
What's the story with this one?
Does this work with the newer sky dishes? I'm not at all up to speed with this stuff but my understanding is that sky updated their dishes so it's more difficult to replace their box with something like this one. I rarely watch TV so would like to get rid of my sky subscription and something like this would be ideal.
Open to correction but I think it’s if you have a sky q lnb you need to swap it for a hybrid one.
We previously had sky, now I can only tune in a few channels on my tv. The lnb on the dish needs to be changed, very annoying
Surely if the LNB was an issue you wouldn't be pulling in any channels?
I've had one a few years now. It's still a great box and snappy, but as said you will need a hybrid LNB to use it.
You'll also need to do a bit of reading to get the best out of it. It's not as straightforward as a Sky or Freesat box. There's a very good thread on it over in the satellite forum.
The only downsides for me is that it occasionally freezes in standby, but that could be a software problem, and one of the tuners has failed but because they're not replaceable it would mean buying a new box.
As I only rarely watch live TV nowadays though, I haven't bothered.
Octagon SF8008 is also a great box that competes with the latest Zgemma, In fact I would guess most are possibly made in the same factory as the PCB have a very similar layout.
I bought a SF8008 earlier this year,sold it on...just didn't like the feel of it.Only thing I did like was the Netflix add-on.
Gone back to trusty old Zgemmas.
I have a H9S and I55plus,great models too.
the os can be changed, I am a open pli person. I do not own one but have set one up for a friend. Seemed quick and responsive. Had no android or multiboot installed so comparing new with old. I have a vu zero and edison os mini+. at present
Sorry to hijack, but would this change by Sky also have a knock on for freesat etc? I dont watch much TV through the satellite, but tried the other day and zero signal, even tho the sat dish/connections look to be OK.
Not really, if you are connecting your freesat box to a sky dish that only has a "Sky Q" lnb, then it won't work.,
You will need to replace it with a hybrid lnb, that's all.
Thanks a mill - its an old sky LNB so should be no issues, there must be a loose connection etc somewhere.
Dish might have moved a little.
Oddly enough you do bring in some channels on a non Freesat box with wideband Lnb but with funny frequencies on them. Channels vary depending on which polarization you plugged into on the dish be it vertical or horizontal.
I have wooshbuild infinity on an Octagon and fine it the same as wooshbuild infinity on the Zgemma. Octagon was on offer at the time and wanted to get a saorview combo.
Much as the Octagon was a grand fast box I just didn't like the remote configuration and it just didn't feel as good as the Zgemmas I've been using since 2017.
I 'd advise you get away from Wooshbuild too...hasn't been updated in a few years.
Try Willobuild or Grogbuild,both well suited to the Octagon.
I am an vu fan for the remote layout, I also have a Edisison,
Layout looked ok to me for the box i setup but the person also bought a spare that had a slimline design and looked a bit better.
I am an openpli buff, load in my epg import and Jedimaker and I am all set.
Only wish is that they could make a freesat plugin so it would also update the channels when a few move around to different transponders
Yeah the remote is a bit light or something. I was going to update but no builds seem to use to use open atv 7+. I'm at the "if it ain't broke don't fix it stage" i don't use it that much or use many fancy features so long as the stations keep updating I'm happy. If somebody does a build on open atv 7 i might take a look!
Why not use Openatv 7.3 without a build?
Fairly easy to add your favourite skins,extensions etc. without the bloat if you want.
I have it on an i55 and H9S.
I can get Dave, Channel 4 ,itv 1 and BBC 1. Lots of other **** ones also
I think just laziness 😀 I might get arond to it some day, at the minute it does what I need it to do, unlike other things about the place os I've to prioritse those 😀 It's somewhere down the list! I can do it risk free as there are a few different boot partitions or whatever thery are called as far as I'm aware so that's no exsuse!
Sky have a lite package for €10 a month you basically get all the Irish and freesat channels all on the one EPG as normal.
the recordings and series link work. As do all the apps. So much nicer than one of the other boxes out there.
Do you get any HD channels?
Is there a link for those channels? I couldn't find it
Yes
Do you have a link to the sky lite package for €10 a month
No I just saw it on the satellite forum. And rang Sky about is as I was going to cancel and go freesat.
we rarely watch TV. It’s normally Apple, Disney or Netflix. €75 a month was rubbish value in comparison.
A Sky Q LNB will still pull in some channels but not all, the box only sees a small part of the LNB's IF range. The only FTA receivers I know of that work with the wideband LNBs are the Freesat 4K boxes.
It's a retention package, not listed on their website (I think it's called Sky Essentials). If you're an existing customer and out of contract, ring them and ask; or get them on FB which is easier in my experience.
All the RTE & BBC channels (in HD); VM channels (not sure if they're HD); Dave (but not Gold) and some of the other UKTV channels, and various random others. Not Channel 4 but you can tune it in to watch live and the C4 catchup still works (and it's on Sky Go for some reason). Recording and series link still work.
I ordered this and it arrived yesterday. I'm a complete novice as far as getting it setup. I tried running autobouquetsmaker but I get a tuning failed error. Is there any walkthrough guide available? Thanks