That is exactly what it means though, the dead persons actions are the reason for their death. It confirms it was not accidental, or could be excused by other factors, their actions alone are the reason for it.
To be fair, until they got behind the wheel, there are several people who could be mistaken for being fine at that level until tested. One of the main reasons I suppose we don't use sobriety tests as I know several people who could pass them. Also the reason they got rid of the suspicion of drink before you could test as it could be bluffed. Back in the day it was common practice to knock a few Rennie into you so smell could not be a factor for suspicion. Thankfully those days are gone, although, in hindsight, someone's breath stinking of Rennie tablets at 3am should be a reason to be suspicious.
This article just popped up on my phone's news feed. It claims that Santafixie are aggressively pushing bikes in the UK without front brakes despite this being against the law. Seemingly they just have rear coaster brakes...
A weird one as the journalist clearly doesn't know what he is talking about in regards bikes and brakes. Also a cursory glance at their website in the city bike section has all the single speed only bikes with a front brake, only the track/fixed don't so not coaster brakes. This said, I'm all for front brakes on the road, just giving out about the journalist not even doing the minimum amount of research. Also, the cyclist who was jailed in the story, let's not kid ourselves, was jailed because he behaved in court like he did on his bike, an absolute t**t.
Coroners don't allocate blame. They make findings of fact.
David from cyclist.ie on Radio1 discussing the 20,000 bikes stolen per year in Dublin alone, and the effects this has on the cyclist
20,000 bike stolen in Dublin per year??? 😲
that's an estimate by dublin cycling campaign; the official number reported to the gardai is around 5,000, but DCC reckon the actual number is several times higher.
Just the first few minutes
15km/h speed limit for bikes being proposed for some greenways under draft changes to byelaws (msn.com)
Fast runners will be next in the cross hairs. No sub 3 hour marathons allowed on our greenways!
This was flagged on here back in June, and I think a number of us made submissions.
More than 900 people seriously injured on Irish roads so far this year | Independent.ie
On the same topic...
Love the way the Journal lumps cyclists into the headline.
Whereas the actual breakdown was
Of those 908 children who were killed or seriously injured,
just over half
(51%) were pedestrians,
28% were vehicle passengers, and
18% were cyclists.
Impressive bias.
“That is why we must all exercise extra caution and responsibility when driving near places where children are likely to be present, such as schools, playgrounds and residential streets,” said Waide
“The report shows that children cycling or walking in urban areas are at particularly high risk and it is vital that motorists slow down, observe carefully and share the roads safely with children.”
In fairness, the RSA spokesperson is clear in advising motorists to slow down rather than asking children to put on another few layers of hi-viz or an extra helmet
I see no issue with bias. It's another way of stating '70% were vulnerable road users'.
How about instead of headline with cyclists and 70% the headline was how many kids are hit by cars, and how often speeding in residential areas.
One is implying cycling is dangerous the other is telling people to slow down and pay attention in residential areas.
Not specifically cycle related, all those road accidents this week, just poor weather and roads, that's all.
Poor road surface? Looks fine to me.
Sure it's wet, can't be expecting drivers to be expecting that, in Ireland, in October.
That tree was swerving all over the road, no hi-vis on it
Is it worth the trip compared to say the Waterford Greenway (which is my favourite of the ones I've tried, the others being Achill and Royal Canal)? I've been tempted but it's a long way to get there.
It depends what you like I suppose! I'm from that part of the world and after doing it a couple of times I wouldn't be tempted to do it again. Have done sections of it a few times with kids purely because it's a safe place to cycle but I find it a bit boring. You have long straight stretches with either grass banks or hedging at both sides so no great scenery or visual interest a lot of the time. It's gets better as you go west after Barna - the landscape around you is hillier so nicer to look at. It would be super cool if they could somehow connect it to Ballybunion as that would make for a great destination (nice swim in the sea). I really like Listowel - lovely hotel there and loads of great pubs. That hub mentioned in the article is gas and typical of the design standards of cycle infrastructure in Ireland - it's at the top of a steep incline so not possible for people to cycle to and people are meant walk with their bikes when leaving the hub to join the greenway (they actually have no cycling signs on the greenway).
Can't be expecting the gardai to be putting any onus on people driving to drive at an appropriate speed to the conditions, and the standard drive at a speed you can safely stop in the distance you can see.
It's lovely for sure. Cycled it all the way from Rathkeale to Listowel with a few mates in the summer late on a Saturday evening (landing in Listowel in the midst of the Dolly Parton lookalike record attempt for a surreal air). There wasn't a soul on it when we were doing it so with nice long sight lines and really nice surface we were able to crack on
The overhead lines were 6-abreast FFS... how is any motorist meant to deal with that sort of behaviour on their roads.
Trees and disabled spot parking posts need to start taking responsibility for their own safety, that's not victim blaming, that's just common sense.
Can we paint them some day glow colour. 😀
In fairness there a decent amount of single cyclist accidents.