Or take up singing and star in the show, and write the theme tune.
Poor oul Arthur Daly's nose might be out of place though.
he has a point my friend... around here in north kerry.. ginger will tell you the same stories... guys near retirement with half decent land need not worry bout a pension they will get 300-400 euro/acre for their land no problem... not too far from me a young man around your age has rented a 200acre block of land with parlour+cubicles+calf house and reportedly the rent is 7000euros per month every month for the next 10-15yrs...
420 an acre for ready to go dairy farm…..I wouldn’t do it but sounds not that far fetched …and you did say reportedly …..3/400 an acre plus pension ….yes please
Very good 😉
The land alone is making 50% more than that in a lot of the country, never mind with a ready to go yard and parlour along with it.
Even before the big jump in land rental prices in the past 12 months that wouldn’t have been viewed as an astronomical price for such a set up. I reckon he should be happy enough that he got a reasonably good deal at that money.
As a modest sized landowner id rather be fair to all parties in a lease.
Give everyone a chance to make a living. That lease at 420 will go belly up and for all the greed the landowner will have a serious tax bill
Local fella with two farms taken and after taking another one for next year last week been going around telling people when the **** hits the fan he will walk from each lease for some time. The big money is great in theory from a landowner pov but it can’t last either. What will the inevitable removal of tax free land leasing do to the land market do people think?
It's going to be enlightening to anyone dealing with dairy farmers from now on once the last decent milk cheque is spent for the year which for alot of lads is September how tight cash will get, the perceived notion is that even at current milk prices the majority of us are still rolling in it and paying 400 euro plus rental a acre is still a runner on paper, will be a totally different story come next spring/summer when the real crunch will come on alot of farms
The money for land will allways be there people forget that this land will eventually get national average entitlements.
Disagree it’s 420 for 200 acres plus parlour /sheds/yards /storage ….you’d give 400 just for land around here and that’s just starting point
It seems a lot of ye are going leasing the whole lot out and retiring to the villa aged 55, are ye all bachelors or is it just ye have no intention of passing it to the next generation...
I don't waste my time going to a mart, no fees, no haulage, no time spent talking to experts like yourself. No stress on cow but you know better. If I'm not happy with price I ring one of the other lads
How could there be a next generation with the rent figures people are quoting how could you sign up for that unless you’re already in too deep. A lot of potential successors now could be forced to cut numbers with everything that’s looming after taking over with land becoming priced out of reach of a lot. How many on here milking are milking less cows than there parents were I would say not very many.
Dairy farming has hit its peak and is now on the decline.
What young fellow in their tight mind would go milking caws in this day and age?
You are not even half paid for dairying and then you will have posters coming on here blowing that milking cow is an unskilled job and only worth minimum wage
Now mj even you have to admit we're not the brightest 😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😀😁😁😁😁.......... some people love shouting from a soap box especially when it's just complete trolling I've never seen someone trying to wedge in the phrase "listen lad I'm a dairy farmer ". It's complete bull he's talking......or else I'm a Dutch man
Around here a lot of the next generation are not going to take over farms and have a good career got with a lifestyle to match and don’t want to farm, neighbours three children are a Garda, nurse, it job, and no interest in farming, three work and live in Dublin. He is 58 and has only started to take holidays in the last couple of years and has took up going to rugby matches. Which is a huge change for a man that was 24/7 farming and the kids couldn’t wait to get to college. How many farms around the country are like this.
Thousands of us listening ......like the sheep 😁👍
Any of those 3 might go farming yet. Those “good jobs” often only look good from far away. And they’d still be new entrants, with new ideas, experience from a different sector, new interest, energy, etc (albeit with little farming experience and a steep learning curve!)
I think it’s an outdated notion that farming needs young lads in their 20s to take over from their parents.
So what if “no young person wants to farm anymore”. Doesn’t the man/woman recently married, in their 30s (or 40s), moving home, helping the parents, etc. bring something to the farming community?
I’m talking about my own situation to an extent but there’s no point in saying the world is ending just because the stereotype family farm of father passing on the place to the son isn’t happening much these days.
Dont you know them boys all know each other see them around the ring arms round each other in the canteen laughing and joking driving new jeeps dressed like buisness men.
My question is will people continue to pay big rental fees for land that's going to return way less of a turnover regardless of the price of milk there will be less stock to pay for it 🤔 so less income. Then throw the fact that milk is below breakeven and that the volume has just collapsed completely.
As regards the tax free leasing going I don't think it will but it would definitely reduce purchase price of land
Wouldn't trust them as far as I could throw them. Pure gangsters.
You have the right idea of taking the tax free rent if you can get away with it. Armchair farming is the best type of farming as far as I can see.
Some amount of busy fools renting ground and buying themselves work. My teagasc man was saying the other day that on a feed basis it is worth 2 to 300 an acre tops. I wouldn't pay 100 myself.
It may be mj but its completely mental . It doesn't stack up no matter what way you work it out only one winner if they get their money form the famer
Agree …..think it’s completely nuts …..whatever floats lads boat tho …..Tegasc and advisors and other so called experts 🙄🙄🙄have a lot to answer for …..next year or so is going to be fairly hard on any medium to heavily borrowed farmers and some may not make it through
The three have a site on the farm and don’t want to live on the farm, they are married in Dublin with young children with everything on their door step, weekends free for sport etc, and also realise farming is in trouble and hard to make a living out of sucklers and sheep and dairy is 7 day job.
A huge amount of dairy farms are this we no matter what they say about finished up at 340 bull
Ya but seems to take a long time for the lads in trouble to get caught out eventually
Well in fairness it is a fine set up with all new buildings and parlour and a good block of quality land. The lad who took it is a good goer. I wish him best of luck with it. I believe the underbidder was a cattle dealer from a neighbouring county.
Should have given it to the dealer be some craic after a couple of years 😀
Tax free i hope for landowner .Itl not go belly up farm orgs lobbied for tax free leases big farms usually take these lease cus they have the cash.So big farms get bigger.Another trick being played by big farmersvis they can go into partnership with the young lad or lassie.I think they can get entitlement or if on put in there name definetly get theres more to these stories than we think.