I'm going to miss Friday night craic at Pete's gaff.
I’d say that apart from the rent-a-friend grand reveal a la Dermot Bannon, very few went back for seconds.
I wouldn’t, even for the free beer.
I like it tbh.
Now I'd get rid of everything red and some of the curtains.
The man cave is too much and I wouldn't have a bar in the house.
Some stuff could be dialled back but I'd be happy enough.
google James Elliot properties Cavan, the aul lad built/owned it I guess.
Looks like a 1980s property developers house all right.
I’d guess knocked the existing house and built that lump sometime in the late 70/80s?
Lump is right, it hasn't aged gracefully.
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-tudenham-park-mullingar-co-westmeath/5432553
I wonder if I could get the derelict grant for this one. 🤪
Great back story - especially the Jealous Wall!
But with the house being 3 storeys over a basement, you would want some serious coin to turn restore it to its former glory.
Paging @niall_horan 😁
That's a very good shout, c'mon Niall
Re “Pete’s house” the main bedroom screams “I was a farmer that won the lottery” with the tin bucket light shade and the rusty corrugated barn metal on the wall 🤔
I am watching a guy in YouTube doing exactly that in France by himself with a chateau in a similar state aka trees growing in the living rooms.
I imagine this period house is protected so it is going to be a fight for the person that is going to renovate it.
It's protected alright, as is Belvedere house and folly (the jealous wall)
This is a useful source of information;
I have a massive issue with protected and listed buildings*.
It's fairly obvious this house has gone to sh*te and not one f*CK is given.
As soon as someone is willing to take it on and invest time and money the red pen emerges and suddenly a whole lot of f*cks are given.
*obviously if a house is in good nick I understand keeping it protected with original features and not allowing a dope to rip it apart etc.
+1 on this
It is like they would prefer to see these houses demolished by the weather than being saved.
Had a look at the Barbie House on Streetview, it's been that colour over a decade, you'll never guess what the owner drives.....😆
Pink scarlet for them (her, I presume).
I wonder if @New Home lives near here. They saw a woman and dog dressed head to toe in pink out walking over the weekend.
It would be too funny if it were the same 😂
Derelict grant would be great, you'd be able to put a roof on one corner of it and maybe put windows in that same corner. You'd have somewhere to keep your tools dry anyway
Needs a bit of updating but this could be a stunning house. The stained glass! OMG. And it's a pretty reasonable price too for the size and location.
That has a load of potential. It could really make a lovely home. Also, when was the last time you saw a VCR :)
I didn't even notice the VCR! I'm still stuck on the shower in the bedroom.
The toilet in pic 14, between the creative plumbing angle the shape of the seat I'm agog
I knew I had forgotten to mention something but they have a pantry. I'd love a feckin' pantry. Also, where does that door in the kids room go! I doubt it's the main door into the room.
...and for the love of god please stop putting carpets in there.
I’m more offended by every inch of the outside covered in concrete for a ‘low maintenance’ garden. Far too common in the UK and here. I’ve given up going back on Streetview to see what was ripped out. It’s just too sad.
Logged out of twitter today when I saw someone had chopped down a 1000 year old yew tree. What hope have 50 year old gardens got?
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-15-saint-johns-drive-johnstown-naas-co-kildare/5421772
This doesn't seem like it's worth €1.2 million. It feels:
bland
there appears to be 4 living rooms (ok one is the cinema room but still)
a tv in one of the rooms is right in front of the wardrobe with a power cable running off to the side
What was the justification for chopping the yew tree? I do think absolute massive fines should be charged for cutting down trees without a good reason...
A 1000 yrs FFS , criminal!
I think anyone who tarmacs or lays concrete all over their outside space deserves to be flooded. Same goes for fake grass.
It can't be good for the soul. Imagine not having birds visiting your garden?
Easy to change but I absolutely hate those colourful led strip lights in photo 12. It just looks so tacky. But 1.2 million to live in an housing estate in Naas? No thanks.
Edit: For an extra 275k also in Kildare you get this house along with 24 acres. Even if you didn't want to farm the land you could rent it out with all those stables it's worth quite alot.
Or for 250k more this beautiful home with 23 acres but probably a costly house to maintain
Even comes with its own servants quarters*
* Irish 2023 version