Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,043 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm surmising that the vast bulk of people wishing to actually buy a house in Ireland, rather than to rent, would be Irish citizens, probably couples in their 20s and 30s. Non nationals who are working here may well feel less inclined to buy a house, as it might not be their intention to remain here for decades or life. That would easily give us a figure of 90%+ of prospective homeowners being Irish.

Yes, I'm living in Ireland....in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Excuse me I am not saying that about immigration whatsoever. Feel free to look over my posts across the whole thread. Immigration is great for our country - makes it a more vibrant place and fills any gaps we have in our public services.

Im more than happy to have people coming in in areas of need with experience or qualifications in areas we are lacking.

What I’m against is the anyone and everyone sure c’mon be grand, help yourself to our (extremely strained) public services, doesn’t matter if you can’t contribute mantra that you espouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

You obviously didn't read your own article.....

It could was the key word not it will .

Never said a bad word about it , we've a 20 + billion pa welfare bill and increasing we've whole families solely reliant on welfare for everything,rent ,food and bills if anything we should be looking at ways to cut the Bill,but with more and more migrants arriving who will also be solely reliant on welfare handouts and then there extended families who will follow later...

I'm certainly not embarrassed I actually read my links 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,701 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

There are woulds and coulds in the article! ..Just because you choose to take one word out of it goes more to your own generosity of spirit or lack of than anything else.

I think I would be very embarrassed to be arguing like you are over a measure that could or would bridge the gap for families on the poverty line . Especially one that has been researched and presented by a group such as the ESRI .

Are you referring to Ukrainian refugees perhaps? That doesn't sound like the regular migrant workers who pay taxes etc.

So your basically saying your living for hopes and dreams, explain the billions and I mean billions spend over the last 30 + years of welfare increases do we still have child poverty,

More welfare doesn't fix things,

But it could,it might,it maybe, possibly ,

But it hasn't cured it here or anywhere for that matter.....

Has any of the 70,000 + Ukrainians here been granted refugee status?, how many of the 70,000 + has applied for asylum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Serious problems developing in the Med: https://www.rte.ie/news/europe/2023/0917/1405736-eu-italy/

200 boats arriving on Lampedusa, swamping it with c8500 immigrants over just a couple of days.

Is it time for the EU to deploy a naval blockade and stop this trafficking. Would we send a navy ship to help?

Every person that has come from Ukraine is of course a refugee - they have fled a war zone and their country is still at war (with no end to the war in sight).

The main difference between them and 'regular' asylum seekers is that the Government has decided to give grant them a special, one off status - as they have come from another European country which is an EU applicant state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

Lampedusa going through a shocking situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,203 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The Italian leader is the only one not afraid to tell it like it is.

Those illegal economic migrants should all be deported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,701 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yeah right. 🙄

Waste of time... Anybody trying to help people who need a dig out, Gatling says" don't bother " despite any evidence to the contrary..

Ignore.

What you mean is that other than moaning you have nothing to offer,

Unfortunately nothing new for serial types

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

We could send 6 ships as we cannot crew them anyway. They may as well be tied up blockading some Italian island as tied up in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭Cordell

Main story on RTE site is this hearth bleeding one:

And of course they avoid those videos which show how they are really behaving when they aren't making nice for the camera.

The airport attack (or incident how they call it) is buried somewhere in the regional news.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Posts deleted

And none of you know what happened. Twitter is not a reliable source. I am guessing someone will be charged and whatever the relevant background is will be discussed and and determined in court.

Any questions PM me - do not reply to this post in thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Some discussion of it again this morning on RTE and main angle was the traumatised migrants and their desire to get of the island they had swamped, to get onto Sicilly and presumably further afield, quite likely some soon to appear in arrivals here with no documentation. The EU / individual EU states will have to start getting much tougher, controlling land borders, intercepting boats and returning them safely from whence they came.

Sadly we're never going to see boats being intercepted - somehow we are past that point where defending the borders with force, even deadly force when it's needed, was an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

IT now has more.

It's not that poor African man's fault. It's the fault of the EU and FFG "immigrant farming" policy to land poor people from around the world directly on top of the poor people here. Just watch how Ministers Leo, Roderick and Helen reassure us that Ireland will continue to provide a "humane response" to this ongoing crisis ;-)

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2023/09/18/dublin-airport-stabbing-suspect-is-long-term-resident-in-state-never-a-security-risk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Irish Times are suggesting it arose due to a potential disagreement around his welfare benefits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

No, a grievance over his benefits. The victim wasn’t known to the attacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Can indefinite leave to remain be revoked?

Sounds like an attempt at victim blaming

"Detectives trying to establish if dispute over social welfare payment may be motivation for unusual attack"

"Unusual attack "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

“The man who was stabbed is in his 50s and was not known to his attacker. Gardaí believe the victim was effectively selected at random for attack, suffering multiple wounds including to the abdomen and neck.”

Sounds like the Terror attacks we've seen elsewhere.

No, it can't be that. We have been promised that that kind of terror activities in Ireland won't ever go beyond financing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,843 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Considering it was a random unprovoked attack, then I think it's highly likely there would have been more victims.

Thankfully, the response was so fast that we won't know if it was a terror attack because no others were harmed.

Hopefully we get the full details soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

“I’m not getting enough free money from the people who brought me into their country, so I’m gonna attempt to murder some randomer trying to mind his own business”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,203 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So the Guards are checking his background in Africa, would it not have been a better idea to check his background 10 years ago before letting him into our country to be a welfare scrounger.