Can be sure who not in bps but going by number of cows some lads have u have to wonder where they would have enough land
I've ranted enough.😬
Yes but it's not under dept of agriculture rules or remiit its a Council by law 🤔 to save dual inspection and court costs for a couple of grand of a fine the department of ag inspects and fines are issued on single payment etc this was negotiated by the ifa after people were receiving multiple inspection for the same things
Northern Ireland is a **** show for decades and if your not well aware of that you've been living under a rock
Your some gullible ejeet its plain to see the poster is an environmental nut in disguise 🥸 ....either that or he's just a farmer of some description having a good laugh at anyone who engages with him as another poster said its completely gone to **** here since he joined ......there is no discussion just shite talking 😴
What are you telling me that for
And every hedge trimmed on the 3 sides
It’s all well and good now the small majority who are not submitting maps and supplying milk but if people en masse start doing so it’ll be clamped down on you can be guaranteed. Wouldn’t be counting on it as a viable plan going forward…
And if you aren't in receipt of payments then what? Just because you don't take money doesn't mean they won't come after you and take you to the cleaners some other way
I know. I've been banging on about this for the last five years maybe more.
I started seeing it and realising when I studied regenerative agriculture and understanding biochar.
The carbon in the soil holds the nutrients. That carbon is from the dead soil life. When you expose the carbon to oxygen the nutrients it held are free to leach. The less carbon in the soil the more leaky the soil gets.
It's really bs with the way the epa and our environmentalists are behaving in this country. Not a brain cell left. Must be the vegan diet..
But it suits the whisky industry to have low protein in grain and nitrate leached from soil.
Now imagine if all this was reversed and this was cows with a nitrate release of 20 and it was milk that was looking for low protein.. there'd be pictures of blue babies all over the net.
But to the Irish environmentalists this is perfect. It's tillage and whisky. Absolutely rational for protection (not cows) and not rocking the boat.
It’s still the cows fault tho ……
There are currently three countries with derogations I think
Edit: Actually looks like 2 - It seems Belgium's expired last year. So only Ireland and Denmark
Relevant documents available from here:
Watercourses around here have high nitrates but the catchment area is nearly all tillage.
I doubt Putin is paying them directly but the fossil fuel crew are surely looking at the Irish environmental “commentators” as useful idiots.
I’d say you’re right too about them getting more paranoid, and louder as a result. They’ve shouted about the sky falling in for years now. It hasn’t and while people listened at first, they’re now turning away from it. The media might still give them a platform but very few outside that bubble are listening.
Out of interest, does anyone know how many derogations are currently in place for other countries and/or agri sectors in Europe?
Fields ploughed everywhere from December to Feb and then washed out of it all March and April
Since we're all being honest and understanding here.
Ploughing a field has been measured by Teagasc to release 20 mg of Nitrates to soil water and watercourses.
So why is it permitted from the 1st of December to leach all winter into the waterways?
Surely with all nutrient sources supposedly to be guarded and cherished and the big focus on improving water quality. It makes no sense bar the agenda is not to improve water quality but to greenwash the tilling.
The whole problem is rules what happens when slurry speading season opens every tom dick and harry is spreading then we get wet week where does it all go
That was uderstanding too
If you exceed the nitrates limit you are fined off your payment
Given the number of toxic algal blooms in lakes and estuaries across the country this summer, I wouldn't be surprised when the stats for 2023 get processed. Seem to have similar if not worse problems in NI with the likes of Lough Neagh and its rivers covered in slime with dead fish, birds etc. adding to the stink. Again its the failure of state agencies to properly implement and police existing regs in regards to slurry, chem fert, sewage etc. In that respect this issue is not going to go away as some people here seem to think with a recent poll in the UK showing the sorry state of their rivers due to mismangement and failures by water companies, Defra etc, being in the top 5 issues for voters.
https://www.itv.com/news/utv/2023-09-11/lough-neagh-has-become-ecological-disaster-on-biblical-scale
A bit of an overreaction maybe?
It might need to be pointed out that you’re not a mod either!
He is as entitled to post as anyone else here. There is a level of free speech here with moderation.
You are not a MOD.
Some of these dairy threads remind me of going onto the Teaching forum where any criticism of teachers was/is not allowed as it had to be a ''safe place'' for teachers to post.
Maybe we need to set up a safe place for dairy farmers to post
You might tip along. Be a break for the thumbs.
You only have to look at this week universities in Ireland such as trinity considering banning selling meat on campus, that is total dictatorship policies. Nazi germany wouldn’t come close to it there only agenda Is a non meat society as that is how they live their lives.
Meat, dairy etc consumers don’t tell everyone at every opportunity that they eat all these products and everyone else should, that is their identity. A sad existence…
Speaking of John,I see he had a go at Carlow weather on twitter,it is John's way or no way
Two days ago the enviros via their WhatsApp group and media representatives launched an all out attack on the icmsa and the ifa and farmers with the aim of a good Russian agent to spread anarchy and division.
This to me it says like what a Russian does in the circumstance. It means they are scared. Is the truth finally catching up?
The most environmentally destructive sector is the cry of them being found out as the liars and rogues of all things environment in this country.
The same ones wouldn't know a nitrate in a water source if it bit them in the ass. But it fits their anti livestock narrative. Sad really to be so blinded by fanaticism that the environment is now not to be thought of but to be used as an excuse for to drive the anti livestock agenda. Which livestock themselves are very much part of the environment and fauna for wildlife. But how and ever. Boo those ifa and icmsa. Boo them representing livestock farmers.
Hooray to the fert and chemical merchants. Hooray to them. Bring more in for more plant based. Hooray.
The derogation is the goal for these loonies. It's a soft goal as there'll be another after that and another. But back to today. Division. By the Putin loving loonies.
Nitrates isn't linked to agricultural payments. It's administered by the Department of Housing and not DAFM, and it's the local authority who will do the inspections. Plus, if DAFM figure out there's farms not submitting paperwork, they'll assume the worst
With the curreny effort to improve water quality i can guarantee water will be as bad if not worse in the future.They will make another attempt to remove derogation altogether.
Currently they haven’t anyway but in the future perhaps, I wouldn’t drop bps for more cows in our situation due to having a beef enterprise for years.