Is it known how many extra dairy processing jobs are around today Vs pre abolition of quota?
There's always professionals in the important meetings and IFA always paid them well, some went on to great jobs from IFA.
Still going. Identifying good staff. Very difficult not to loose them to the outfit across the table from you.
Before 2015 they were paid comparable with those on the other side of the table
How does everyone think protests went i see theres more for friday i think.
It will depend on Global milk markets - which look pretty ugly atm and are as volatile as any corporate tax take so no sense to hang the economy on such things either. In any case with the EU signaling further Eastward expansion into Ukraine, all agri commodities are going to see further margin reductions. You can already see the start of that with Farmers in countries like Poland, Hungary etc. freaking out at what Ukrainian grain etc. imports are doing to local prices
our politicians have shocking short memories... in 2008 when the tiger blew its load... the milk price was 40c/l... nitrates and all the regulations following it arrived... there was billions spent by farmers up an down the country on slurry storage.... only for the agri sector god only knows how many quarries would have went bust... i remember many politicians commenting on the economy staying afloat thanks to the farmers and how it was and would be the cornerstone of the irish economy going forward...
if you can find it.. go and read Richard Curran from last Sunday wks Sunday Independent Business section... he wrote about the huge positive influence on the rural economy the strong price paid for milk last year had...
tis actually really sad to see the EU just calling the shots.....
Listening to the state of the union in the EU today there seemed to be (to me at least) a shift in the anti ag narrative. Ursula vdL mentioned farmers and hinted at a change of approach, and asked for the end of "polarization" and the us against them shite we hear. Mairead McGuinness followed up this evening with similar. Fingers crossed but I'd say the upcoming elections are weighing heavy on very pro green MEPs
Could be links becoming apparent with some of our anti agriculture enviros and Putin's tentacles. Just like how the Kremlin guided the enviros to object to nuclear in Germany. And look where that got the country..
This man has just resigned from his role in the eu commission
he was very much pro green agenda and pushed hard for slot of stuff. That might help things now but he’s not gone away. He’s hoping to get s bigger role within the commission
Look lads u cant havevur cake and eat it yous all want bps and subs and want to stock heavy you cant have both.If you want to stock at 250 dont submit bps
What entitles you to bps and subs more than a dero farmer abiding by every rule put infront of them I’d love to get your opinion on this? They comply with every inspection or they lose dero so why should they not be entitled to bps and subs?
Possibility there he may not get elected back in Holland.
Isn’t he running in Holland to oppose the farmer movement he could be fighting a losing battle as you say so could be back as an mep yet?
Thankfully the Dutch Labour party are even more politically toxic than the Irish version.
Yes. He's doing so as he wants a labour, green party coalition in Holland.
He wants to be the Prime minister of Holland.
He's resigned as an MEP. To be back he'd have to go for election again in the European elections.
What i mean is if a farmer want to farm above 220 or in the future above 170 it will be illegal if you are getting payments theres two option 1 start complaining and protesting and hopeing our reps will save the day which id have little faith in. 2 just do without bps and farm as you wish i think option 2 isbest for most farmers going from 250 to 170 is a huge loss of milk
The eu has decided im more entitled to subs than someone above 220 i dont make the rules
Currently they haven’t anyway but in the future perhaps, I wouldn’t drop bps for more cows in our situation due to having a beef enterprise for years.
With the curreny effort to improve water quality i can guarantee water will be as bad if not worse in the future.They will make another attempt to remove derogation altogether.
Nitrates isn't linked to agricultural payments. It's administered by the Department of Housing and not DAFM, and it's the local authority who will do the inspections. Plus, if DAFM figure out there's farms not submitting paperwork, they'll assume the worst
Two days ago the enviros via their WhatsApp group and media representatives launched an all out attack on the icmsa and the ifa and farmers with the aim of a good Russian agent to spread anarchy and division.
This to me it says like what a Russian does in the circumstance. It means they are scared. Is the truth finally catching up?
The most environmentally destructive sector is the cry of them being found out as the liars and rogues of all things environment in this country.
The same ones wouldn't know a nitrate in a water source if it bit them in the ass. But it fits their anti livestock narrative. Sad really to be so blinded by fanaticism that the environment is now not to be thought of but to be used as an excuse for to drive the anti livestock agenda. Which livestock themselves are very much part of the environment and fauna for wildlife. But how and ever. Boo those ifa and icmsa. Boo them representing livestock farmers.
Hooray to the fert and chemical merchants. Hooray to them. Bring more in for more plant based. Hooray.
The derogation is the goal for these loonies. It's a soft goal as there'll be another after that and another. But back to today. Division. By the Putin loving loonies.
Speaking of John,I see he had a go at Carlow weather on twitter,it is John's way or no way
You only have to look at this week universities in Ireland such as trinity considering banning selling meat on campus, that is total dictatorship policies. Nazi germany wouldn’t come close to it there only agenda Is a non meat society as that is how they live their lives.
Meat, dairy etc consumers don’t tell everyone at every opportunity that they eat all these products and everyone else should, that is their identity. A sad existence…
You might tip along. Be a break for the thumbs.
He is as entitled to post as anyone else here. There is a level of free speech here with moderation.
You are not a MOD.
Some of these dairy threads remind me of going onto the Teaching forum where any criticism of teachers was/is not allowed as it had to be a ''safe place'' for teachers to post.
Maybe we need to set up a safe place for dairy farmers to post
A bit of an overreaction maybe?
It might need to be pointed out that you’re not a mod either!
Given the number of toxic algal blooms in lakes and estuaries across the country this summer, I wouldn't be surprised when the stats for 2023 get processed. Seem to have similar if not worse problems in NI with the likes of Lough Neagh and its rivers covered in slime with dead fish, birds etc. adding to the stink. Again its the failure of state agencies to properly implement and police existing regs in regards to slurry, chem fert, sewage etc. In that respect this issue is not going to go away as some people here seem to think with a recent poll in the UK showing the sorry state of their rivers due to mismangement and failures by water companies, Defra etc, being in the top 5 issues for voters.
https://www.itv.com/news/utv/2023-09-11/lough-neagh-has-become-ecological-disaster-on-biblical-scale
If you exceed the nitrates limit you are fined off your payment
That was uderstanding too