Derogation is gone because water quality won't improve unless the government cpo or rent the riverbanks off farmers at a high price. Too many farmers spreading slurry up to the bank of the river and nearly the same with fertiliser. Only answer I can see is take the land off them in the way of an index based rent like the solar contracts and let them graze it or cut hay off it in extreme weather years.
The government and namely the minister have been dishonest Jack98
that’s the issue. How can the Ifa lobby if the minister is being sly and dishonest about what the situation is
I inherited my farm sold a a fair few sites during the boom got to buy a farm in 2012.How didvyou come to have over 2000acres owned if u dont mind me asking thanks
Coolmore after buying another 750 acres in the golden vale.
Fair play to them
I don’t disagree with you GTM re the govt but I just can’t understand how farmers can allow farmers to negotiate on their behalf with the government as is the current setup with the ifa. Memberships would be a lot better spent paying for external parties with backgrounds in deal brokering and negotiating on a much higher level to represent farmers. The people nominated to represent farmers in these situations could be paid and ratified by members in an election like system.
The current setup which we’ve had for years is the equivalent of sending junior b hurlers into an all Ireland final in croke park, times have changed and so should our representation and the way it operates.
they must be worried about the nitrates😁
Im no fan of ifa but infairness to them have they not got people already employed behind the scenes that are there after presidents and chairmen move on
Much the same plus an amalgamation between families
Fair play lad i totally respect u and all u have achieved top man
Where did they buy this land?
I heard it was leitrim
https://www.irishexaminer.com/property/residential/arid-41182153.html
No different from boards of coops having farmer elected reps ….it’s a good thing and good to have people in these positions with skin in the game ……unfpurtnately lots get too comfy in these positions and can loose focus ….there big commitments and you’d need to have a lot of help for when your not around …..lots of very good young people with young families and developing farms just don’t have the time
There's paid staff there well qualified to negotiate in all the different commodities and legal advice onsite as well.
Farmers themselves fucked out one of the best over a few euro
Is that my point exactly they are not up to the task on co op boards either Negotiating with top business men. This has been proven by Kerry milk suppliers this year with the leading milk price issue. Fine having elected farmer reps but they should not be doing the representing they would be fine in a middleman role between farmers and qualified representation but farmers don’t ever want to pay for proper representation…
i think you said back a few pages you were part of ifa for a while or I might have the wrong poster. Do you think farmers are best positioned to represent farmers in negotiations with government, processors etc…
I don’t think farmers see the value of proper representation, you said there they through out one rep over a few euro it seems to me a lot of farmers would rather complain about poor representation than pay for proper representation.
Cancel culture
I'd say the less said about organic nitrogen allowance the better for the lads stocked up to their oxters. Those in glasshouses and all that...
You can’t have corruption either tho ….there has to be standards …you break them there’s consequences …..big Phil prime example ….his role in Europe for is was unquantifiable ….power maby went to his head and he thought he was above rules and flaunted them ….cost him his job (correctly)but ended up costing Ireland more …..ultimately he let us all down
Out the Cahir road from Clonmel.
Barn Estate
https://maps.app.goo.gl/WHdeiGrBwrPTD5eT8
farmers including ifa top brass and George Lee stoked the flames
Farmers just aren't as important as they were thought to be once, and so as a result the lobbying isn't going to be as successful as it once was.
It's not very important that derogation milk is produced to anyone but the farmers producing derogation milk. Rest of the world doesn't care.
Definitely correct in your comment there anyway derogation farmers are vilified by a lot of fellow farmers as is evident on here so easy understand why it’s hard gather sympathy outside of farming circles also.
That is not directed at you btw just a general comment.
We might find out how valuable that milk is to their processors and the staff yet.
Phil doused himself in petrol, turned on the gas cylinder and bought a box of matches.
No one needed to stoke that inferno.
The multiplier effect of how much a dairy cow generates in a local economy was worked out at circa 25000 dollars by Iowa state university
Say in a Irish context with lower yields say 14k, if 300k-400k cows where culled on account of derogation going altogether for argument-sake, that's a range of 5-7 billion lost yearly out of the rural economy, was interesting to see the corporation tax take for august this year was down a billion euro compared to the same month last year, if that golden goose every steps laying, future governments might be glad of a strong dairy sector but their doing their best to torch it at the minute
Is that really true thecway i c it the bigger farms get the less the local economy gets.Foreign labour,,Buying in purchasing groups,,Taking land from small farmers
Anyone with any bit of common sense can see it.