Spring calving??, What kinda % is the MP. The hitch eye must be wore off the zero grazer with that much ground
With respect ….u should run figures …I did and it’s some eye opener but there’s isn’t anything like that out of them ….I transfer calf at 2 weeks account for all milk ,meal hay/straw vetinary labour etc …there’s less work but financially returns aren’t there if even some of them are replaced with dairy ainmals …..you say you’ve no interest in more cows which is fair enough but returns from beef just ain’t there
You own over 2000 acres man you must be one of the biggest land owners in the country tought i was big
It's not as profitable as the dairy. Haven't done the figures in detail but clear a few hundred on each. Stay with it as its less labour intensive than more cows. Tbh have no interest in milking anymore than we currently are for lifestyle reasons.
I actually do most of the heavy work the wife does all paper work calves but its surprising how much time those two things take if she left me id be finished but i doubt she ever will
That’s a nice gig
we’ve a few more, parents still involved, wife has a good job and paying for every acre plus some new infrastructure. For there to be a future here for the next generation (if they want it ) my herd has to stay at the size it’s at.
its worked very well for us uptil now but now it’s just been made a whole lot harder to do it
everyone has there reasons for leasing land and being in derogation. You shouldn’t be so blunt in your understanding as to why
897 ha (acres is so 80's)
92 ha
That's 77 or 8 cows each so. Fairly achievable between two people.
Not a dairy farmer, I have sucklers & dairy calf to beef. The issues I can see for dairy farmers are.
Land currently used by non dairy farmers will be rented by dairy farmers (just to stand still really) at circa €500 / acre that's a big additional expense on some dairy farms.
This will reduce the demand for calves. Dairy farmers who once reared calf to beef will now be selling these calves increases supply. To get rid of calves dairy farmers may have to pay farmers to take their calves.
Teagasc have been advising farmers in Cavan & Monaghan to farm that same as lads in the Golden Vale, that's just not sustainable.
I am hearing stories of farmers in Cavan & Monaghan walking away from leases as they can't afford them, in 1 case the Garda were even involved.
A sales rep (good lads to carry bad stories) was telling me a local dairy hero here told him "paying this months meal bill wasn't in his budget". If this is happening at the minute after a few great years what will happen if current milk prices continue for then 3-5 years?
How many cows u milk
How many acres owned
How many rented leased
Ok lad
155 cows no hired labour just me and the woman
Now ur making sense taught u were losing the plot
👍👍I interpreted it that you’d continue to rest all calves and increase cow nos and still stay out of dero ….question tho financially has it and dose it make sense to keep all those beef calves rather than selling them at 3/4 weeks and milk more cows and have simpler more profitable farm ….I used keep calves …great way of keeping money together but when u sit down and do figures there’s nothing out of them
Because there can be 2 generations on farms
as another poster said you must have more than 100 cows if you call yourself a large dairy farmer or is it carpet farming you’re at ?
You're welcome here if you have a more open conversation and tone down the anger a bit. People are just going to be pissed off with you. Sure we're all just trying to manage our own bit at the end of the day.
I'm in derogation. I keep all calves on farm to finish at 24-30 months. Fresian bullocks and whitehead. I keep all heifers on farm. I could send these to contract rearer. I could get rid of the beef enterprise and sell all calves at 4 weeks old Instead of keeping to 24 months. That would reduce my nitrogen below the limit and I could add on more cows with both of those options been taken.
Thrash that out more why are u in dero now if going on what you’ve quoted there
My farm is in derogation, stocked at 220 kgs with the beef enterprise alongside the dairy. Can u understand how it works now?? Less beef cattle, land on more cows. Get it??
Seriously no acrs 10 rows per hour from july onwards all spring calvers
I said derogation farm can u read lad
Open the popcorn
Plenty of sense, finish all calves to beef on farm. Will just get rid of the beef enterprise, can send heifers to contract rearer, and load on 40 more cows and still be at 170 kg. Make sense now??
I know plenty farms like that, so ul be disappointed if u think it l be a mess on all farms.
Fair play your good at trolling, while fairly obvious to some your getting a rise out of a few.
You must be milking goats so. My cows are middle band and no way you'd milk them in 6 minutes a line.
Gd lad
Not in derogation laaaaad.
You must have a fair few cows to justify 24 units you were better leaseing the land at 500 and getting some sort of a job for yourself
Lad ur not making any sense your in derogation yet u will be able to keep 40 extra cows if derogation goes am i missing something
How many units you have then apply same to others