Tell us this, if smaller farms sub 100 cows hadn’t derogation previously there farms weren’t viable if they wanted to support a family and build a house
who’s there to farm this land then if you shouldn’t be renting your neighbours farm ?
Why arevu worrying what other people are going to do with there land ive a neighbour who has 10 cattle on 70 acres
The politicians must be delighted with the fools that are farmers. Big dairy farmers against small dairy farmers, beef farmers against all dairy, tillage against dairy and beef. And they can do what they like to fuuuck us over. You are all fools.
There will be funerals all over the country this week, TDs and councillors knocking around looking for votes and packs of farmers laughing and joking with them licking there holes
why are you commenting on the dero so if it doesn’t affect you
Im entitled to give my opinion
The man who is stealing the full stops and commas from your posts.
A bit of advise from a non dairy farmer. We buy calves/cull cows from dairy farmers.
1)What's your opinion on anyone that previously wasn't milking cows, (beef, sheep, tillage, sucklers) and got into the dairy business?
2) who happen to rent land as well?
3) opinion on dairy farmers who have rented land all their career, often from the same tenants?
4) opinion on anyone else not in dairy renting land?
5) opinion on anyone buying land?
Everyone on here is great at asking me question you have asked me 5 in one post not a single question ive asked on this forum has been answered
Any person that can't survive on 100 cows might as well call it a day imo
I love your straight talk. You're able to cut through all the BS like a hot knife through butter. And not one ounce of virtue signalling of falseness. Just straight to the point.
I have seen those farmers giving out about Michael creed for years and when he called to our local mart they queued up to shake his hand and get their photo taken with him. Couldn't believe it.
Answer those first and then list your questions out like I did and I'll answer them.
You understand others seeing you as a troll for the sake of it. So if you answer those questions people will get a sense of you.
Lad u must have no cows to milk this evening i have n sympathy of any of ye derogation boys greedy little men you all tought u were great men few years ago giving 2 to 300 acre for land getting entitlements for the young lad to pay for it big grants for parlours look at the state of you all now yous are in some mess
A troll and not even a farmer.
You have no sympathy because you were born with a silver spoon in your mouth…coming in here **** on derogation farmers.
We are high into derogation father left school at 15 when his father died started with 20 cows up to around 110 now. Owned very little land bought 1/2 the owned land we now farm. No mountain of shares to fall back on worked extremely hard for what he has today. I have the utmost respect and admiration for him and his story would be similar to a lot of derogation farmers.
You are in no position to talk down on derogation farmers who the majority of which probably have half the cows you must have as a ‘big’ dairy farmer with a mountain of land that has cost you nothing you would know SFA about adversity.
Were the questions too hard?
No one ever asked anyone to buy land any way u all had ur chance after the celtic tiger to buy land i bought some at just over 5 K but what were u derogation buys doing building parlours busting gaps into Neigbours to lease land all seemed gd at time but gd times dont last 4ever
Milking out of 10 unit parlour built in the 80s, renting 50 acres 20 of which since 1990 other 30 for last 20 years.
what kind of a sheltered existence do you live to think every single derogation farmer is operating the way you are painting out above you haven’t an iota.
Well I'm at this craic actually.
Drawing and stacking silage bales.
Not that I'm proud of it on the Sabbath.
*Be honest now.
You're not a dairy farmer at all.
What you know of it is what you read on a Facebook or WhatsApp forum.
Answer those questions I posed to you to redeem yourself.
God forbid anyone might try better their circumstances.
No he didn't buy land and then he did buy land.
Keep up Grueller.
Fair play to anyone who tries but what went on in dairying in last ten years was stupid every week in the ifj some clown with a new parlour saying how the old one took half the day to milk look at what went on in greenfields
Is that European wide or just France?
Milking in a 15 unit 40 year old parlour atm. New 24 unit being built, I assume I'm a greedy farmer too. Existing parlour not fit for milking in anymore. God forbid I might like a more comfortable existence milking for the next few years. I must be a clown....
100 cows no debt Yeadh fine 100 cows won’t run a farm service debt and rear a family ….sad fact
Ffs your nothing only a giant shite stirrer who I’ll bet is neither milking a big or small herd of cows
People dont like to hear the truth look at all the derogation farmers probably only a minority percentage of farmers looking for sympathy.ive seen the same farmersvin my area putting beef and sheep farmers off rented ground .Thinkin there the big men going in reseeding drawing silage for miles the slurry back these guys were at nothing even when derogation was 250
How big is a big man?
This thread is gone to s***e with the likes of you on here.
Sad alright considering the investment required and hours put in and risk, etc. 140 acres here now but I don't think I'll be going past 90. If it won't work then that's fine.