As a result of this shite, talk I checked around No luck I'm afraid. Goodman base 4.55 for Fresians this week.
The beef plan group are getting €4.80 for bullocks next week. Up 10cent from last week.
I got €4.50 for 13 Ps last week. All bought last October for €770. Coming into €1350 average. Back on other years but still not loosing.
What weight were they when you bought them
From 350 to 450kgs. I’ve a lad buys for me. Everything so far is between 1250 to 1600. All averaged 770 last year. Mostly Ps. 1/2 ton each of nuts. Bad year of grass. Only 1 load left.
Sold 2 HE heifers out of the field to a butcher this morning. They’re approx 520kg and I let them go for €1,280 which is €2.46/kg. He’ll collect them himself Tues morning.
On 3kg of nuts with 4 weeks.
Not OTT money but happy to move a few straight out of the yard. Haulage and mart/factory commission is around €25 here
A bird in the hand. I always find any sort of fair price in the field is a good price.
Just a one for a few heads around here. With dero heading to 220kgN/ha,what will be the impact to the beef trade. The main 2 that I can think of is a flood of cull cows from the dairy side. The big one is when will these appear on the hook, my own feeling is that they will be this side of Christmas.
The big unknown is the feedlots,how many of them are over 220kgN/ha.
At 19-20 months that's good going.
The bonus is no haulage or deductions
Would exporting slurry save someone form dereg? If so I predict a large increase in exportation (both genuine and paper based).
Good question. As @Bass Reeves pointed out a few weeks ago, the milk quota kept a lid on beef production. So maybe reduced cow numbers from the derogation change will mean less dairy-beef animals?
What it will mean is a reduction in cow numbers, and thus less calves. Some operators who had a bit of beef enterprise, be that calf to beef, calf to store or calf to weanling, will simple just move these earlier as calves to pull the numbers under 220.
Will lads like us be charging dairy farmers to take slurry from them for the paperwork? Might be handy to have Vaseline on standby
The values of slurry has changed meaning that double the volume has to be exported. Also it's now a too part process that has to be completed by each party on agfood before the 1st of October. All ground is assumed to be index 3 or 4 for P, unless you have recent soil tests to back it up and potentially a nutrient managment plan.
The goalposts have shifted a lot in the past 3 years on slurry export. Anyone exporting to get them themselves under 170 or 250, are at a high risk of inspection
If feeding meal to finishing cattle, and you have most ground at index 3-4 for P. You have very little wriggle room to take in slurry. It's the P allowance not the N that catches most folks. The real only outlet or export of slurry is now to tillage farms
Why do Cattle cough while eating meal is it because the feed is so fine and their eating too quickly or do they need a Worm Dose. I value your opinions.
Probably 260-265DW. It's equivalent to a factory price of 4.9-5 euro/kg. They would probably grade O=/+ so 4.65-4.75 of a base.
Would sending to AD plants work. Possibly get carbon credits
Does it only happen when they are eating meal?
Or if you are around a while before their meal...do they cough while walking around
i have readjusted my system. I give up buying friesians from mid July on. averge buy in last year was about 650 euro accross all cattle Friesians would be below 600 average. meal feeding this year will average about 200kgs/head later sold cattle will be at 250kgs. Sold cattle in May that had only eaten 100kgs. Those seem to have killed about 300 kgs average, buying those friesians late in the year never seem to be worthwhile in my system either
Worm dose i'd say, are they coughing after running as well?
Lung worm
They don’t really want it. Slurry is a low yield and inconsistent feedstock
What are lads being quoted this week? All media outlets saying there's 4.65 to 4.70 plus available but that's not what's available on the ground.
470 & 470
took 4.65 last week and getting 4.70 this week.
Lads with numbers getting 4:75 and 4:85 freely for bullocks and heifers fair chance more been given too serious demand
What part of the country is this? I have about 30 well fleshed continentals to go this week / next week.
Midlands though I presume it’s the same all over agents ringing farmers looking for cattle which is always a good sign too much grass in the country farmers in no panic I’d say tis lovely to see the factory on the back foot for once
Lads with a 12 x 6 trailer 4.65 & 4.70.... Lads with lorry load add 10 cent +