As all the diesel used now is full excuse fuel if you can get receipts for diesel used in cars the technically you could write it off against farming expenses. Problem is there is only so many dub 100 euro cash receipts you can use.
However I think you have employee's. If you had a tank I. The yard and were selling it for 2-3c/ L less than the local stations you might convert a 1O+K euro farm expense into cash.
Problem is too many might know about it. Fall out with an employee and he might inform revenue authority
Even from a straw point of view it'd make more sense to have your own guaranteed. All the talk this year would frighten you of availability into the future.
It's what will happen anyway. Those strong enough livestock producers will be taking land for tillage.
It won't be limited to 100% only tillage farmers.
If a combi crop could be harvested and straw used it would be perfect.
Working on something atm alright. Might be able to work something with my BIL either
the grandson of the lady that owns the land wants to have a go at farming. Can’t do much about it. I told him it won’t be easy but don’t want to be a bollix about it either
Yep, tanks of giving them 150-200€ per ac flat rate payment
think I’ll set up a tillage enterprise along side the dairy
Are they planning on giving tillage farmers some kinda handout?
Why, what’s your thinking there?
fair play. What type of are sire are using if you don't mind me asking, hi ebi, Holstien, mixture of both.
Lost a block here, was asked what Id give and 300 a acre plus sfp back was the max i said id go, auctioneer has him convinced 400 plus will be got no issue, 300 was to much for it to be honest its 15% space for nature, very middling late wet ground and the slatted unit yard/silage slab isn't allowed to be used....
If I where you whatever your going to do I'd get it done before charlie rolls out his acres for tillage farmers, it will put ground up past 400 plus a acre anywhere that can be put into crops, combined with dairy farmers competing as well
Theirs going to be a significant per acre payment on tillage ground going forward I'd say of 150-200 a acre for tillage ground going by the journal this week, ground will probably end up costing him circa 200 a acre and he's futured proofed the dairy side with enough ground to hold numbers if derogation goes, having the brother at tillage and in a partnership is fair cute with the current state of play
Yep and loosing some land next year we’ve had for 10 years bit of a dose but we’ll sort it some way
He milks 250 on his own and is partnership with the brother at tillage
In top band, are ye above 220?
We did 4.61 bf and 3.78 pr for the year 566 kgs on the coop report. Will be around 570 kgs this year I’d say
That's a nice yield. Did you feed much to achieve that?
is he dairying, tillage or beef. was it bravery or stupidity. 110K/year and he is handing them the sfp. only one winneer there I think
Local man took yard and 290 acres for 380 an acre. 7 year lease.Sfp goes to land owner.
He rang me today to see if i would have an interest in leasing some of the yard or knew someone who would.
He is brave
Fair play
Start collecting every diesel receipt you can. Family,friends, neighbors all expenses
On the back of the last 2 good years yes. Slowly expanded numbers every year since 2015 and had the facilties and cow numbers built up.
Just looking at average price we got on icbf last year. 63.7 cents/litre for the year average. Milk solids of 553 kg/cow. 6900 litres/cow supplied. Hit 71.8 c/litre in September, 22 litres/cow at 3.94 protein and 4.57 fat. It was a strong price year in fairness.
You hardly bought 54 acres on the back of one good year.
Fair going what did ye average % wise for 2022 must be getting near to 8.5% combined f and p
We were doing 17 l late last September when we were doing 5.10 fat and 4.01 pr
Definitely not a waste of last years milk price. Worst case scenario it's storing last years profits and hopefully increase in value.
In my early thirties so it l be beneficial going forward. Would love to know what an example of a waste of last years price would be.
I did something similar only a smaller scale. Turning out to be one of my better investments I think.
My neighbour who milk 30 cows wasted last year windfall upgrading to a 2010 case tractor from a 50 year old mf 165,I suppose we all can't be as wise as yourself living in misery!!
How would a dairy farmer have wasted last years profits? I reinvested it in buying 54 acres close by and don't see that as a waste. Big help going forward with nitrates.
Who's the waster you are referring to?
I honestly give up , read the bookgraph it's from July last year to july this year, for the past 12 months they have received the same price basically on a like for like litre of milk at the same solids, the bulls**t line last year of lads getting 70 plus cent for a litre of milk was only down to the fact the fat and protein % was hitting 5% plus and 4% plus, but the cows doing this where probably doing maybe 10-14 liters of milk a day, the other fact that the high 50's base prices coincided with alot of herds lowest production months of the year, as a % of total milk supplied for 2022 only circa 25% of a average spring calving herd got their mik away at mid 50's base price
TBF if I remember right milk producers in France did not receive the strong price Irish producers got last year. I think a lot of the UK was the same.
Lucky for them they did not get a chance to waste it