Ireland v Romania, RWC Pool B. Stade De Bordeaux, 14:30 Saturday 9th September 2023. Virgin TV / ITV

• 08-09-2023 12:24PM

In 1898, a young Winston Churchill played a starring role in the final stages of a battle fought in modern day Sudan.

It all began 4 years earlier when a regional leader of a rebel faction called Mahdi Muhammad Ahmad staged a revolt and within a year of fighting against British Occupation his forces had captured large swathes of territory around the Nile basin stretching from the border with Eritrea and up to near Egypt.

After the killing of famed British general Charles Chinese Gordon (played by Charlton Heston in the 1966 movie Khartoum), the British army sent a number of gunships down the Nile along with 8000 heavily armed soldiers backed by Sudanese irregulars. While they were massively outnumbered by Mahdi Muhammad's 50,000 strong army - however they were far better equipped carrying heavy arms and backed by artillery. The Mahdi's rebels were largely equipped with hand weapons and only a few old and barely functioning muskets.

The battle was a massacre. The Sudanese rebels refused to retreat but were suffering significant losses to the British. At one point 12,000 of Mahdi Muhammad's men were killed and a further 13,000 were wounded with the British having suffering just a few losses.

It wasn't until a decision was made by a young lieutenant named Winston Churchill to mount a cavalry charge (such an act would curry favour in London) whereupon almost 50 of the mounted division were killed and many more wounded and ultimately forced to retreat as the Mahdi's forces were resolute. But for this failed charge the British forces would likely have suffered virtually no losses and it is for this reason the battle of Omdurman is to this day considered one of the most one sided conflicts in history.

On the opening weekend of the RWC 2023, the World no.1 team on a 13 game winning streak face Romania ranked 19th in the world. By rights Romania are the third lowest ranked team in the tournament, but such has been the unfortunate implosion of the sport in Romania that in a knock out against Namibia or Chilli (ranked 21 and 22), Romania would likely lose both by a margin.

Romania's last three fixtures are losses to Italy (57-7), Georgia (56-6) and USA (31-17).

This is a ridiculously one sided fixture and one that Ireland will exploit with the rest of the tournament in mind. The downfall of Romanian rugby has been incredibly disappointing to watch with youth development having been left in terminal decline. Representation by Romanian internationals in Europe's top leagues has dropped to at or near zero and even the pro D2 has virtually no Romanian internationals. Romania were disqualified from the last world cup having fielded ineligible players in the qualifiers and gained there spot in this tournament due to Spain being disqualified for the same reason.

Teams

image.png

Talking Points

From an Ireland point of view, the absences make for as interesting a discussion as the starters. Ireland fans will continue to sweat over the fitness of Sheehan, Conan and Kilcoyne but the omission of Hansen, Bealham and Byrne have emerged as the slightly eyebrow raising non selections given the otherwise first team nature of the 23. Similarly having VDF on the bench alongside Henderson with JoeMc getting the 4 jersey is a tough one to figure out.

For the most part, this is ultimately another warm up game but far weaker opposition so the selection needs to be viewed with that in mind.

Aki slotting in at 12 with Henshaw on the bench might be a sign of a change in the pecking order there, and McCarthy / Henderson is starting to become a bit of a debate. I'm quite keen to see this second row in action however, Ryan our breakdown expert and McCarthy already looks to have the physicality to trouble top teams.

What is success from an Ireland point of view

The unfortunate reality of this game is that Ireland will need to keep running in the scores. This needs to be one of those New Zealand type scenarios where they absolutely demolish one of the minnows. If I were coaching Ireland in this game and it wasn't a world cup, I'd turn it into a conditional game and restrict aspects of play to increase the challenge.

I think from Andy Farrell's point of view - he will want to see near perfect discipline. You often get the sense that a referee is going a little bit lighter on a smaller nation if they are getting blown away, but that doesn't happen in world cups. Ireland need to be very exact and composed tomorrow given the disparity between the teams and a red card would constitute a Churchillian moment of stupidity and needless cost for Ireland

We want a clean bill of health at the end and for the combinations to work from the start. Ireland's score margin record win is 83 - 3 against the United States in 2000. It's not disrespectful to Romania to suggest that margin might get beaten.

Johnny Sexton looking sharp and taking some attacking play onto himself would be what the coaches are hoping for and some dynamism from Furlong to show he's over his fitness concerns. I'm interested to see how the backrow goes and keen to see Crowley come on and take a run at tired legs.

Historical World Cup Results

This is the fourth time that Ireland will play Romania in the World Cup. The last time we played Romania in a World cup was 2015 where we made quite hard work initially and were 13-3 up at 30 minutes until Earls scored in the left corner.

1999 Rugby World Cup

2003 Rugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup 2015

Conclusion

Ireland have gone more or less full strength whilst having it's most historically successful team whereas Romania is at a historic low. I can't see beyond Ireland having scores on the board early and honestly I worry about the fixture becoming a farce by full time. We would expect France, New Zealand, South Africa or Scotland to put a significant score margin on Romania so I expect we'll do the same.

Ireland 106 - 6 Romania

Date & Time

Saturday 9th September 2023, 14:30

Stade De Bordeaux

Where to Watch

Virgin Media or ITV. Or Stade De Bordeaux obvs.

Obligatory - the other big game against Romania

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭swiwi_

I’m taking it Ireland are the British Force and Romania the Sudanese Rebels?

About the only good think you can say about the Romanian dictator Ceaușescu is that he liked his rugby. Rugby has been in decline there since the fall of the iron curtain. You would think this might be the last time we see them on the world stage.

There are countless other one sided battles in history that would have filled in as a similar thread introduction but I like to point out what a gobshite Churchill was when I get the chance.

Honestly there is just so little to say about Romanian rugby. Saw a thread on Reddit from last year saying the last Romanian players in Top 14 / ProD2 retired in 2021. Didn't fully investigate the veracity of it but really highlights the demise of player production through whatever youth system had been in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Quality.

I would just temper the expectation of running up a record score. I'm not sure we are that type of team to be going coast to coast often. For example, I think we are a better side than NZ but I'd back them to run up a bigger score than us.

Sheehan involved in the captains run is positive news. I just want to see us ramp up the accuracy in the set piece and pray that Johnny is the one we are used to and hasn't gone over the cliff.

Ireland putting up more than 100 points? I hope you've backed that because you'll get amazing odds. Will not happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Nine of Romania's World Cup squad play in France (a tenth player quit the squad for family reasons). Four in Fédérale, four in ProD2 and 1 in the Top14.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,488 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

nice one venjur

ireland are currently -65 for this game, i dont think ive ever seen than so far out in the bookies spread.

we certainly can score 10 tries to none. But it will be interesting to see if we can tear them up around halfway and finish off line breaks. try too hard and we'll be killing ball and tempo, and giving them the one platform they're particularly adept at ie the scrum. So im hoping to see us be controlled but adventurous, no need to throw the ball around in our third. We have the experience and players to win the kicking battles, no need to put ourselves under pressure in a humid warm afternoon.

i had said ireland by 50, and anything over 50, would certainly be acceptable, but id like to see us perform under the banner as the "no 1 team in the world right now"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭TheRona

I'd say Ireland are number one team in the world, but not necessarily number one team in the world at tearing another team to shreds.

That said, I'm picking 80+ margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Rugbymad2020

What’s going to be the excuse when ireland aren’t number 1 at the end of the weekend ?

If they're not number 1 at the end of the weekend it's because they've lost to Romania which will probably merit a completely different discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

I was looking at the world rankings there, and I don't understand how it works with home and away. For example, NZ were the 'home' team against SA at Twickenham, so a win for SA was worth a lot more than had they been designated as the home team.

SA are the home team against Scotland, so I don't know if it's possible for them to get past Ireland this weekend. I'm sure they could if they were designated as the away team.

Edit: now I get it. There's an option for No Home Advantage, and SA will get past Ireland if they win handily this weekend, which I can't see happening. NZ can actually get to number 1 in the world if they beat France by more than 15, regardless of any other results.

Based off this I can't find any combo that doesn't required a draw or loss against Romania

Ah, OK, RWC needs to be ticked as points are doubled for the tournament I think.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

At this stage who cares who's world no 1? It's about winning games now and world ranking will mean diddly squat to the team lifting Webb Ellis on Oct 28th.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 34,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Probably that it is completely irrelevant and there is nothing Ireland can do about it and its a consequence of double rwc points and the schedule.

So probably no one will care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I’d temper any expectation of a record score a little here based on the weather. Incredibly hot and therefore a sweaty ball means there could be a bit of sloppiness that comes into it. We should win well but I don’t see it being an 80 point job. 60 or so would be more realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Yeah world rankings don't matter until the end of the RWC, and I'm pretty sure that the double points mechanism basically means winner is #1 directly after, so ultimately whoever wins is the best, the ups and downs mid tournament don't matter a jot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,167 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I'd say the team are getting ushered off to bed now

A BP win tomorrow the only answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Ireland to win by less than 60points looks like a great bet. World Cup nerves and that 35°C heat will surely make it difficult to run in numerous tries. The players in todays game looked knackered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,319 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Critical injuries would be the concern today not the margin of the win.

A BP and no injuries. 🤞

Henshaw drops out, Hansen in

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,398 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Jaysus hope there won't be a choir for Ireland's Call. It's hard enough to endure as it is 😬

Any word on what's up with Henshaw?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Hopefully the only gripe I'll have today is the lack of HD on Virgin Media Saorview, if only I wasn't such a tight arse I might get Sky back in, UTV HD on FreeSat will have to do #firstworldproblems

For me today will be about BP, no injuries with everyone getting a bit of game time.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,584 ✭✭✭fitz

Really think they should be required to broadcast in HD on Saorview. I won't watch anything on Virgin Media - the quality is awful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I don't know what it is, just checked the new TG4 channel and RTE News, according to my TV they are all the same resolution at 576i, but the quality is just shocking.

Water breaks in the game, sensible but great to be confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,001 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

You can sign up for Sky Q lite for €10 per month and that will give you the Virgin Media channels in HD.

Alun Wyn Jones.. Virgin Media are not worthy.