I thought Karen Duggan was a poor interview and talked a lot of nonsense, and I'm surprised Eoin didn't call her up on a few things. I was getting frustrated listening to it while driving! She sounded like a player rep and obviously has pals in the squad and didn't want to burn bridges. Eoin said to her at one stage that she had said before the world cup that getting a point and being competitive in the 3 games would represent a good tournament, at which point she back tracked on it immediately saying it was completely different. She was reluctant to give any praise to Vera Pauw is how it felt to me.
I do agree with her on the 'player power' narrative being thrown around and it was likely a combination of issues that led to Vera Pauw's departure - the players likely being a large part of the reason and Vera did not help herself with her interviews as the lads have discussed before.
Also agree on the remarks about Trimble on the PED chat ... very poor responses and definitely a case of not wanting to be caught up in it. Passed the buck it felt like to me.
Yeah but she wasn’t on as a representative of the players, she was meant to be an independent expert/pundit. I just felt like I might as well have been listening to Katie McCabe’s agent or PR rep.
Stretch and strengthen and the creak factor will diminish
The lads constantly going on about their creaking bodies makes me feel depressed about getting older.
I don't see what the problem is with that? She's giving insight into what the players have issues with.
She's definitely on the players' side and the players supposedly really don't like Vera for multiple reasons, it coming out as player power makes it sound like the players were just being difficult when the reality is probably quite different. Karen knows a lot more of what's going on than we do. Hopefully we'll get an inside story some day
Listening to the discussion on the decision not to renew Pauw’s job - while I think the decision was probably right, it seems that Karen Duggan’s contribution is to just repeat the views of her friends on the playing panel
I'm doing a 180 here but Not sure I'd have him on again after some of the shite he talked
I think the novelty would expire. Keep him in a broad rotation.
Saying he felt sorry for Sexton and the ban too. Eoin didn't let him away with that. Absolute spoofing/whataboutory of the highest kind. Had to backtrack then desperately and say he was only messing when Eoin questioned the waffling.
Yes, I got excited and posted my comment before they got to that part. It felt like he panicked and didn't know what to say, also felt it odd saying they (whoever they are) should get Paul Kimmage to find out what's going on.
Left a bit of a weird impression of him
It was the sort of nonsense cyclists said 20 years ago
I think his "we never talked about it" explanation, for whether the squad discussed players from opposing teams being caught, sounded ludicrous.
Totally agree. He doth protest too much I think.
Came here to post the same actually.
I rarely listen to the rugby coverage tbh but was out running and couldn't fast forward it.
His defence was a bit flimsy imho....he didn't sound convinced by what he was saying himself even
I found Andrew Trimble's response to the questions about PEDs in rugby was very odd.
I think him and Ken are buddies. I like him but he can get a bit stumbly over his words at times. He's no Jonathan Wilson that's for sure
Can they not do better than John Brewin every week?
After today's rugby podcast, they should replace Shane Horgan with Andrew Trimble, he's far more engaging to listen to
I love the love the lads have for The Rodfather. Nice Bump for Dion's pod at the end (I haven't listened tbh).
But Eoin's voice got all dreamy when he said Roddy Collins... to my ears at least😊.
What you think doesn't really matter.
Both those audiobeds are superb
You cheeky bastid
I honestly thought the Neville interview was great.
I'd seen Neville occasionally previous to it being interviewed by people who were outside the football bubble - not real football men etc - and I thought he came across as a bit of a bully and I think Ken did a great job bringing that side of him out.
I was enjoying that until Murph stopped her answering a question and instead had his own life experience that wasn't the same, but allowed him to say that he was considered a good footballer by John O Mahony. And I think he got to tell everyone yet again that Jim Carney is his uncle.
Him and Ken constantly interrupt guests at an infuriating level.
The one thing I'll say about Ken is he doesn't shirk tough questions. There's obviously an audiobed about him interrupting Gary Neville but the Roy Keane one if I remember was based on a few questions people are generally afraid to ask Keane.
I think Murph is a better interviewer than Ken, when Ken does interviews, it's kinda hard to explain but I find he has a slightly odd way of asking questions and the back and forth isn't as smooth as you'd have with Eoin
My biggest gripe with Murph would be that he's overly enthusiastic about everything or he can be a bit of a lick arse.
I enjoyed his and Eoin's their interview with Eimear Ryan recently but he acted a bit like she's one of Tipp's greatest camogie players of all time, which she (and she admitted) clearly isn't
Agree. I find Murph irritating too on occasion but they’d miss his enthusiasm if he wasn’t there. He also seems to have the widest sporting interests of the group
It's the combination that attracts me. Any of them on their own just isn't as good, they need to bounce off each other.
3 on 1 in a SC Saturday interview would be too many.
2 on 1 is perfect for it.
I think he knows when to reel it in. Quite a lot of the political interviews have been great. I think he can be a more disciplined interviewer if he knows the leash is shorter.
He tends to go off script and get a bit improvisiontal when talking football on the show because he can be a bit more loose in that format - and it's kinda his style - and a lot of the time he's talking to people he knows - Johnathan Wilson, Dion Fanning, Miguel Delaney etc, etc - so it's a lot more casual and really, at the end of the day, a bit of a laugh.
Murph does appear, occasionally, to have a wider range of cultural knowledge than either Ken or Eoin. But he just can't keep his mouth shut half the time. I listened to the Radio One show yesterday and he was at it again - interrupting, talking about himself - it's not terrible, but he does butt in more in interviews than the other lads.
Eoin is the best interviewer. Asks decent questions, can alter his tone and approach depending on the guest, seems to listen and doesn't really insert himself, too much, into the conversation.
Yeah but Ken is the reason most of us are subscribing. No chance I would be subscribing for Eoin and Murph.