This case had been absolutely harrowing for all involved.
Those poor babies and their families.
Words cannot describe the depths of cruelty at present here. My first child was born 6 weeks early. They are so delicate and helpless.
This vermin Lucy Letby deserves to rot
She was getting life in prison regardless. If she was really remorseful she could have shown it by pleading guilty and not letting the poor families going through the trauma of a trial and the details
With all due respect. Every victim impact statement always sounds the same. Every single time.
She knew what sentence she would get, victim impact statements or not.
She is not human, she is a monster, just stop now please, I'm going to report you to Gardai for helping her and you'll get yourself in a lot of trouble
How is she been grown up about it. She pleaded not guilty and then refused to be there for the sentence and victim statements. If I remember she left the courtroom also and refused to come back for some of the verdicts. While I don't wish any harm but do hope she has a long time in jail
I went through the war and saw my closest family being destroyed in bombings, have you? How old are you, how much experience in life do you have?
Yeah, I don’t really buy that. Prisoners can be routinely forced from one place to another (into their cells or out of their cells), and the fear of compensation doesn’t seem to be a limiting factor.
The mechanics of it would be very similar to being arrested in the first place. People try to kick and fight their way out of that, and injure themselves on the process, and there’s no issue with compensation.
Handcuff them and put them in a secure box. Don't they do this in the US?
Give her her €1 million compensation in the form of a cheque she could only cash in person.
Tramp
That's some weird hospital dynamics going on alright. Hospital management assumed 7 consultants are trying to bully a good nurse off the ward to cover up for their collective incompetence.
She must be very powerful to convince the management to take her side without a second thought
One of the reasons given why murderers can’t be dragged up in front of the judge and the victim’s families is that if they put up a struggle and were injured in the process they could take legal action against the prison service
I think this is the type of thing that is being proposed.
she denied they were remorse at trial because she didn't want to spend the rest of her life in prison.
strange how she never destroyed the notes.
Could be reliving and pretending. No idea. But sounds very suspicious.
Bringing babies items home and pretty much taunting the parents.
No remorse at all.
The main component of her sentence is that she never again, from here to the grave, will have the opportunity to satisfy her lust for visiting suffering and death on anyone or anything.
What is going to cause her the most severe suffering is the total loss of control over almost every aspect of her daily life.
If you think about it she will have gone from seeing herself as some kind of God like character, deciding who lives and who dies, who in torturous pain and who is spared, to having to ask someone for permission to do even the most mundane tasks. Forever.
The lambs have stopped screaming
If the people in charge had done their job at the hospital, this trial would not have happened. The damage to these babies and their families is irreparable.
What more does it take, when one doctor sounded the alarm and nothing of consequence was done before other deaths occured?
She denied they were remorse at trial.
They had some meaning in some way, but they weren't remorse.
Yes at trial she showed no remorse but when she wrote the notes she did in my opinion. I was just talking about the notes she wrote.
No need to drag. Just wrap them up like Hanibal Lecter and wheel them in
But she didn't plead guilty and put those families through a 9 month trial, with 12 jurors with apparently nothing better to do. Denied those notes were confessions during the trial.
She showed no remorse...... Ever
She had plenty of opportunity to show remorse and she never did and never will
It’s totally disrespectful to the victims of her crimes for her to choose to ignore their impact statements. The BBC says that moves are afoot in the British government to have criminals dragged, yes, kicking and screaming if need be, into court for sentencing.
I wouldn’t be able to do it myself, but if I heard this was her punishment, I’d walk away and smile!!
I know that she is, beyond a reasonable doubt, guilty. If you want to propose a different bench mark for guilt in criminal cases, then you’d need to say what it is, and how it might be met.
Don't get me wrong. A minute alone with them I'd love initially. But could you live with yourself? Afterwards?
I don't think I could. Rage, yes definitely and it'd probably feel justified at the time. I'd just be glad I wouldn't be allowed.
But a life time of torturing somebody. No. You're ruining two lives if not more. Couldn't do it.
Tell ya, if it was my little helpless newborn that she murdered I don’t think I’d disagree with blarney’s suggestion. And I’d say plenty caring and decent people (like myself) wouldn’t be against it either. She is a monster..
As much as you dislike her (without knowing her) she is actually human and, being grown up about it, not a monster. It just so happens that she has committed absolutely despicable deeds on the most vulnerable of people. What I do find strange is the number of people who wish to inflict pain on her or see her in pain for the rest of her life. I'm not trying to sound soft or lefty or woke or any other stupid description you might think for me. I'm just conscious about how your desires are similar in some ways to hers?
Absolutely! She should suffer every second before someone get her
Ah here. Listen to yourself.
Disgusting acts but really?
Cases like this make me wish for return of death penalty.
Beyond reasonable doubt is no real established standard because the threshold has never been precisely defined - it's actually a very personal decision and highly judgemental on where the threshold actually lies. It's different for every juror.
One man's beyond reasonable doubt is another's mans on the balance of probabilities.
Trial by jury (in other words 12 people with nothing better to do) with no actual firm guidance on what threshold to apply to evidence to determine guilt is the sand on which the whole justice system stands.