It's not the same situation at all. Russia had 3 bridges to cross the Kherson river and Ukraine targeted them all completely neutralising 2 of them and damaging the dam crossing.
In this situation they have a land bridge and they've mobilised who they're throwing into the meat grinder. Regardless the guy who made that tweet recognised his error.
The massacre of Russian artillery continues
Russell Brand is a paedo? Ah here, he's probably had more women than I've had hot dinners!
This is born out by the various Both Sides merchants and overall contrarian: there's always a heavy smell of smug superiority in their attitudes, a pitying of those who buy into the "MSM"for instance which is often am acronym trotted out to preface some conspiratorial or tankie bollix.
History lesson - Crimea
Aleksandr X on X: "I'm sick of pro-Russians saying that 'Crimea is intrinsically Russian'. (Thread 1/) So let's take a look at just how 'Russian' Crimea is... and how it came to be that way. --- Crimea's original population was NOT Russian, of course. The idea that Crimea's population was… https://t.co/WsPgaVSBsW" / X (twitter.com)
Goodwill gesture from Russia
Russia's most ambitious kamikaze drone to date.
Russell Brand... Author of that seminal tome of geo-politics - 'My Booky Wook".
Keep an eye out for the full translation
I guess that includes F16s from other countries, I don't think the Dutch have that many.
In Soviet Fascist Russia, moon lands on you!
The lad at work was twisting the narrative the other day and used the RTE report of that Irish journalist on the front lines to say how inhumane the Ukrainians are. Saying that they should be burying the Russian dead immediately like they do for their own soldiers.
I generally try to be balanced in my responses to him but I said that is way down the list of priorities for soldiers in an active combat zone and fk the Russians, if they stayed home they wouldn't be turned into fertilizer. He could see I was getting annoyed at his BS so maybe he won't mention the war anymore.
First signs of a successful drone attack on the Soltsy air base in Novgorod Oblast
At least one destroyed Tu-22M3 strategic bomber.
Brand is the the most surface level, performative sense of celebrity-liberal obnoxiousness I can imagine. Faux concern with all the intellectual rigour of a first year undergrad dropout. He's not even an especially funny comedian nor particularly quick witted or original.
I remember last seeing him on a Qi panel and the difference in prowess was quite noticeable. Brand just sat mute most of the time, his rare comments just empty nothings that barely got a chuckle from the audience or his colleagues at the panel.
I know an Irish fella who absolutely hates Britain because of the colonial history with Ireland. Instead of seeing the parallels with Russia's war against Ukraine, he blames NATO as an American-British imperialist project for provoking Putin into the war.
What it really boils down to it: any enemy of Britain can be excused.
It's the conspiracy theorist mentality and it's become worse and worse in recent recent years.
They know because they believe they've access to special online sources and have the back story. They believe that the entire media, every political figure, every commentator, the establishment, big tech and everyone else is colluding to lie to them for some, yet to be revealed, reason and that everyone who doesn't agree with them is a gullible moron who hasn't done their own research and that they're special and clever because they're taking a contrarian point of view from non-mainstream, edgier sources.
I'm seeing exactly the same thing around discussions around rather a few topics at the moment.
Russia: it was slightly damaged.
Funnily I see a lot of parallels betwixt Russia and Britain and Ireland with Ukraine. The former being former empires in various stages of decline and the latter as survivors.
Another decade of decline in England could give us very belligerent neighbours. A far far right british government could make northern Ireland a battlefield.
Thats I've more interest in a new EU defence pact as NATO has its own problem members.
I'd say modern Britain, for all its flaws, is a much better neighbour to have than Russia, and is a far more developed society (though I know there are plenty of empire apologists in conservative circles)
A decade ago if someone said the UK would leave the EU and impose trade sanctions upon itself I would have laughed. But then I lived there during the brexit process and I saw sensible warm people harden and regurgitate the most ridiculous asinine claims about being ruled by Brussels.
I saw material poverty there that I hadn't seen since sherrif street in the 80s and it scared me.
The UK, like the USA is a flawed entity - a hugely corrupt one depending on your perspective really - but it has the capacity and institutions for "doing better". There are checks and boundaries that allow some degree of truth spoken to power, the free press encouraging dissent and revealing problems, and an overall respect that one should at least try to do the right thing.
Russia remains an absolutist state, and hasn't changed an iota since the era of the tsars.
Putinism .. when fanatics see empire just to be contrary with no value to life or modern values. Eejits.
He is actually quiet smart but he would never say something in 10 words when 50 could be used instead but spoken at the speed he could have said 10.
That's really off putting.
To me it only looks only slightly burned to a crisp.
Fair play; it’s good to challenge these people once in a while, might just make them use their brains and hearts a bit. Now I wouldn’t be too hopeful, but you never know.
One “acquaintance” of mine reckons it’s population reduction. Covid and vaccines is all about killing us off. He makes comments about the Funeral home “working over time lately “ and sends on R.I.P death notices with “ another one” written underneath. Totally behind Russia /Putin admirer as well but doesn’t mention it in front of me anymore.
I suppose he's smart enough to have reinvented himself as an edgy political commentator with some degree of success. However, he's really sold his soul in order to do it. You only have to go onto his channel and you can see how he's chasing the algorithm. He's got the leading titles, capslock words, and the face in the thumbnail. It's like Stewart Lee said of Jeremy Clarkson - he has outrageous opinions which he expresses to a deadline for money. Almost as if they weren't real...
Lol