Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Hate to break it to you but Northern Ireland is not England
I highly doubt he could think that far ahead - he just glossed over the report, thought he saw something that made him look to be in the right and went with it without any serious consideration of how what he said would be taken. He is not exactly the brightest bulb
Idk if it’s been mentioned already; but it’s weird he made the statement before the contract was signed cos I imagine it would’ve been much harder for Kevin to sack him had he signed it.
tubs and NK surely knew this & I wonder if he was being deliberate in trying to break down negotiations in a roundabout way. Highly possible he wasn’t comfortable coming back to RTE because he has scarce few friends it’s fair to assume.
I think if he’d just decided to leave he's inadvertently admitting his fault which would ruin the whole innocent facade.
just mad to think the contract being torn up on the back of such could slip his mind.
he is the face of RTE greed and incompetence. That's his legacy in broadcasting. Not the LLS. Not his radio show. Just the face of a scandal.
Very true.
Also very true.
The Maria Bailey interview - 'I was hurt, Sean' - move over.
New account...incoherent ramblings...I wouldn't bother.
Looking at that has reminded me of when I used to buy the Sindo coming home on a Saturday night and loved reading it then with a cup of tea before I went to bed. Haven’t actually bought a newspaper for over two tears now, all online subs.
Two Englishmen?
Just goes to show that he's lived in a bubble so long he has no comprehension of how to act in public that does not entail projecting some kind of star persona involving stories about how he almost forgot to put his shoes on before leaving the house - all the puff pieces about him in the papers over the years have been nothing but banal ramblings of him to keep his face in the papers on a regular basis.
But now the sh*t has hit the fan he doesn't know how to act in a professional manner and acts like a teenager that's been told off - he has the mental maturity of a teenager
It may sell a few copies of the Sindo. Tubridy should be happy that he's the main story. It may not be quite the circumstances he wanted but he is the face of RTE greed and incompetence. That's his legacy in broadcasting. Not the LLS. Not his radio show. Just the face of a scandal.
Regards...jmcc
Not only making himself unemployable by RTE but with just about everyone else. Who wants to work with someone who might leak what you tell them in confidence?
The Sindo is like Liveline for celebrities where they vent at how unfair everything is.
No-one cares about Tubrity's sob story, he has no-one to blame but himself. He needs to move on like the rest of us.
He also needs to work on his CV and learn how to do interviews. Its going to be a big culture shock, a 50 old man finally entering the grown up real world where you have to apply and interview for jobs.
That was evident at the committee hearings too. He wanted to be back, no matter what.
One of the TDs possibly Catherine Murphy asked him about the fact that he wanted to return to the organisation that, according to him, had treated him badly. I can't remember his response tbh.
I don't know who is advising him but all he seems to be doing is opening his mouth to change his feet.
His friends in the Sindo have to try tugging the heart strings. Some of their readers might feel sorry for him. The mistake that Tubridy and Kelly seem to have made is in expecting Bakhurst to be another Dee Forbes.
He requested one final meeting with bakhurst after the ill-advised statement
So Tubridy is said to have asked Bakhurst 'Is there no way back' in the sub-headline there.
Tubridy didn't even have a little bit of pride about himself in the end. Pleading for a job he treated with contempt.
Whatever about shooting yourself in the foot, this guy's turned an Uzi on himself.
As long as the children love you ...
It is Tubridy. He hasn't a clue about the real world outside of RTE and it may have been a rude awakening to find out that he's no longer Mister RTE. The Sindo is just doing what any tabloid will do (kick'em when they're up, kick'em when they're down).
Oh FGS! Isn't his best bet to shut up and lie low for a while.
Apparently not.
Still playing the victim; when in a hole, it's best to stop digging.
Yep. :) It may have went a bit like this.
Still leaking private conversations I see
That’s alright, we are used to a certain waaaay-overpaid presenter who can’t handle buttons on the sound desk. We are making him redundant and replacing with a merely overpaid one. Notice has already been given via a chat in the car park, he wasn’t happy and hasn’t spoken to me since but that’s the way the cookie crumbles. The program runs 15:00-16:30 weekdays, plenty of holidays. Starting first week September.
Regards
Kevin
Agreed. RTE have never looked outside their own bubble. They've always been too comfortable to see any need to change with Irish society. There's been the odd lip-service to modernity, buzz-word salad visionary statements that never amount to ****. Their RTE player is a glitchy mess that looks something like a teen Programmer with a hangover knocked out. Dread to think what that cost them.
An appropriate model, if they'd cared to look was the BBC. In the early 90s they brought in a guy called John Birt(of Frost/Nixon fame) who took a broom to the place. After a lot of pain he helped drag them into the modern digital age and stabilise their finances, despite SKY etc hammering away at their market share.
RTE have never been through that process despite having a reasonable template to follow, albeit on a scaled down level.
The only thing they've tried to emulate about the BBC is the management's renumeration.
The Sindo is leading with a sob story about Tubridy. Lots of spin.
I do actually meet many of those requirements. I'm not very smart though. The sound desk might befuzzle me.
There's still room for state broadcasters though. The European Broadcasting Union has a huge amount of clout - I don't see any scenario where each country still doesn't have its own national broadcaster, even in 20 or 30 years time.
With linear TV viewership dropping 2-3% year on year the current RTE model is doomed to disaster. UK linear TV has dropped something like 20% in the past 5/6 years
The only future for RTE is purely as a PSB channel and leave all the commercial stuff to private broadcasters - RTE could never hope to compete and a lot of the stuff on the RTE player (of what is worth watching) is available elsewhere. The RTE player if run right could be a subscription service for 5 euro a month (not worth anymore when you consider the alternatives like Now)
But RTE cannot see outside their own bubble - lots of talk about modernisation and planning for the changing viewership for years but nothing has happened
100% agree with this .
Think Tubridy's statement was needed by Bakhurst to get rid , but he has been very careful to play along and give RT enough rope , knowing that yer man would hang himself eventually .
Am fairly impressed after that interview that he was sending a strong message out to all with NKM that the fun was finally over and that everybody can justify their salaries or move on.
Good for him , somebody doing their job in RTE , finally.
What a saga. Glad to see Tubridy where he belongs but the real problem is RTE culture. If I'd my way I'd sell Montrose for a billion or so and use those funds to re-establish the national broadcaster in the various regions. HQ would be in Athlone though. Keeping it in ivory towers land aka D4 would only embolden the effers and lead to the culture eats strategy for breakfast phenomenon. I'd scrap the licence fee too and have it fully funded from the exchequer. Overall budget would be much smaller. None of this advertising shite as we have all seen where that ends.
All of the above is probably populist nonsense but it's what I'd do.
There's no talent in RTÉ, just NKM's spin that the people he represents aren't incompetent fools.