Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
He'll be grand.. dole at €200 will see him right. Might even qualify for the winter fuel allowance.
Tubs leaking like a sieve to Fionnán Sheahan, much good that will do him.
Newstalk is no longer owned by Dinny O'Brien's Communicorp. It is now owned by a German company, Bauer. The Indo/Sindo are now owned by a Belgian company, Mediahuis. Tubridy might have some brand recognition but that brand is tainted. When Pat Kenny left RTE his brand was still good. Tubridy has a track record of losing viewers and listeners. In commercial terms, paying Tubridy money to lose listeners and advertisers does not make sense in the real world outside of RTE.
Regards...jmcc
Isn't it just brilliant that they screwed it up though. The timing of it too. Very satisfying. I imagine Tubs and NK are very tense with each other now. Their actions throughout have been dishonest.
7 Mistruths was another one....
Yes. For two so called intelligent men they seem to put their foot in it. I wonder has their relationship been badly damaged by this scandal. I would love to be a fly on the wall.
Huh?
What media company in Ireland would want to touch him when they've seen what he is like with RTE - he's poison ivy
As somebody posted earlier it’s like the terrible advice tubs was getting was actually all about saving his agent
nk is badly damaged goods, he bulls into an office now demanding pay for his clients he will be laughed at
Bakhurst specifically mentioned that and looked mad as hell whilst saying it 😂😂
The Ryan Tubridy Show is no more - it's now called - wait for it - The Nine O'Clock Show, some creative thinking went in to that new name for sure
It also shows how incredibly overpaid he was for so so many years.
As someone rightly pointed out, he was born and raised in Blackrock, went to primary school there, secondary and then on to UCD and down to Montrose a 100m down the road for his working career. His entire life has been within a 5km radius. He has absolutely no life experience, no cop on, he is completely devoid of self awareness and is nothing short of delusional about his ability and how he is perceived in Irish society. All of this taken into account his behaviour throughout this and his shock and dismay that he is unwanted and disliked by a large cohort of people is quite understandable. He’s almost childlike in a man’s body and has been in this bubble his entire life that’s just burst spectacularly.
He changed lanes fairly fast. Didn't he have articles earlier on in this farce heavily criticising Tubridy.
Could you get a Gofundme going for RTE please.
On him being childlike, one thing that still really stands out for me from the Oireachtas appearance (I can't remember which committee) was when he was asked something about going back to work and facing his colleagues and his response was to cut in to refer to them as "my friends", even the tone he took made him seem like a primary school aged child talking about a situation that he couldn't comprehend fully due to lack of maturity. It was very odd.
Fionnan Sheehan is a light weight. Wonder why he switched sides in the debate?
This Eagles song really explains the media frenzy around this:
Tubs will be fine. I'm sure has a nice nest egg set aside. I know he is still a young man but surely he's has enough cash stashed away to keep him comfortable for the rest of his life. And besides when all this blows over I'm sure he will pop up some where. Maybe a Tubs podcast 🤔
It didn't seem like that though from what Bakhurst had to say. They had agreed a starting date for him and a salary. If Tubridy had kept his mouth shut, it seems he would have been back.
Bakhurst mentioned talking to his colleagues also and that opinion was divided about Tubridy. (Which apparently was a shock to Tubridy). But Bakhurst was apparently going to go ahead regardless of what anyone said - either the colleagues or the message coming through from the licence payers.
Tubridy shot himself firmly in both feet and that was what caused Bakhurst to decide he wasn't returning...at this time.
A hunch? Got leaked info on the condition that it would be favourable to tubs. Bit of NK genius, not in the least bit transparent. Wonder how many other journos he approached, Fionnán Sheehan wouldn’t exactly be the top of anyone’s list.
I have no idea, but tbh, he has no other options as has been proven over and over again since this debacle started.
I would imagine he thought everything in the garden was rosy and everyone would be delighted to see him return. Bakhurst mentioned that opinion on him was divided among his colleagues and that was apparently a shock to Tubridy.
Personally, I am glad he shot himself firmly in both feet. I was disappointed to learn that he was practically back in the door, if he only had the cop on to keep his mouth shut.
I also think he wouldn't have been able to resist holding forth about how hurt he was and all the rest of it, once back on air!
There is such a delicious irony to RT torpedoing himself at the 11th hour with a completely unessecary self aggrandsing statement.
To quote Al Pacino, vanity is definitely my favourite sin.
However Fionnan Sheehan was at the top of the media doing the damage to RT/NK brand.
I wouldn't be surprised if that's the case. Sheehan probably decided the mileage he can get out of the leaked information while this goes on will be worth the complete and utter transparent about-face he's done regarding his position about this.
Yes indeed. Now Tubs is in the real world with the ordinary hard working folk. What a fall from grace.
But he also pops up regular with Claire Byrne, the NKM circle effect? It was noticeable that he was going to bat yesterday evening for Tubridy.
As was Sarah McInerney but I couldn't quite decide if that's because she was posing questions directly on behalf of Tubridy or whether she is also in the circle.
FS might start to draw too much attention to himself by such manouveres. Change lanes and people start digging as to why?
I’m too tired this evening, otherwise I’d go on the desktop and produce a GoFundMe page for Ryan - not a live one to go online but a spoof for a screenshot as I did once with NKM hyper-praising Tubridy even more than he usually does, a year back or so. Got some reactions!
Sone of NKM “talent” have been known to cause the odd “problem”. Oliver Callan once did a skit on RTE presenters being all from the same agent.
I heard someone on Drivetime telling us Ryan needs to work for a living like the rest of us as his daily living expenses would be mounting up. If Ryan, with the amount of earnings he’s enjoyed for years, hasn’t been able to make very good provision for the rainy day, well heck the rest of us we’d jump off a cliff.