Large queues at Bank of Ireland ATMs this evening.
Threadbans
0ph0rce0
You were who the system was created for. You needed access to funds that you knew were floating around somewhere in banking cyberspace and once everything was back up and running normally, financial activity on your account would balance.
This has highlighted to me though that I really need to be keeping a few hundred in cash in the gaff, just don't trust the banks at all, BoI this time, be AIB next
They won’t go without money. The government will pay it as normal, they’ve just withdrawn it early. Nothing to do with the govt.
They won’t go without money. The government will pay it as normal, they’ve just withdrawn it early. Nothing to do with the govt so no need for them to get involved in any way, shape or form.
I always have cash. Technology is great……. until it isn’t.
That's pretty much it. The government don't know what SW recipients exploited the system to withdraw over their balance. I can't imagine BOI separating those accounts who receive SW and who exploited the system and just zero their balance so their SW will actually be usable. If they went with the latter they would have to cancel any DD's coming out of that account also.
If they had 0, and withdrew 1000 and spent it, now they have -1000. Gov will pay their 200 welfare and then they will have -800 and so on.
Anything over 500 quid is being reported to the Central credit register if the customer isnt engaging with the bank.
Exactly. Talk of €5 a month payment plan is pie in the sky.
A credit check can only be done if a person applies for credit. It can't be done in tandem with the opening of a bank account.
i would have thought the days of people having multiple current accounts with zero balance was gone given the charges. A BOI current account is billed at 6 euro a month these days. You would have to assume most had something in the account or else they were down the overdrawn path already.
In any case. As unlikely as it would be to happen, arranging a payment plan with the bank would require people to do that magical thing called engaging with the bank. Which would mean an acknowledgement of the debt they've now placed upon themselves.
I can't see any special deals being done
The crowd that dont need the account at all won't lose out
Others who work /need the account and foolishly took out cash may lodge it back
There'll be a small percentage maybe 10-15 who'll be fukked for a while
Because the Bank would have had to pay for Out-of-Hours service charge to yer man for that.
Whereas getting the Gards to do it for them is 'free'.
BOI saying that they won’t charge interest to those that withdrew money following the glitch
This thread will definitely win circlejerk of the forever in the annual boardsies.
I didn't know that. But they'll need that for the Christmas presents / Holy Communion Day / foreign holiday in no time inanywayz
That's why this drive to a cashless society needs to be halted. Maybe businesses will now take heed and realise that they are screwed if customers can only pay with card if there is a technical issue.
Not necessarily. Easiest way to pay utility bills is to set them up as payees on internet banking. And pay them when you’re ready to.
Neither my husband or I bank with BOI. But his employer does and now his wages due today are delayed till tomorrow through BOIs total inadequacy as a bank in 2023.
It’s ok for us cos we have access to money. But lots of families are living from week to week.
I think if BOI had to compensate every person who was inconvenienced by this cock up then they’d soon get it sorted.
Say €10 per hour for every hour that you were kept waiting. For everyone.
Utterly pathetic.
All the little angles will need their school bags and uniforms soon enough.
It might not be recoverable from those who have nothing but not everyone in the queues was a dole head. Even a poster on here said two engineers from work withdrew the "free money"
Somehow I feel there's a stick hiding behind that carrot
There was a lot of young working people who were simply foolish and didn't think it through
Thought it was free money some of them
Don't think there will be anything done for dole receipents here contrary to what some are posting
Government won't bail them out .Imagine the uproar there
Banks are saying "no interest will be charged" clearly they are going to debit accounts and that - balance will stay til cleared
Have BOI released figures on how much exactly was withdrawn?
Doubt they will release that information.
Drew Harris now being called on to explain the legal basis for the intervention of gardai in blocking access to ATMs. Think this might run a little longer
It's only a win for those with BOI accounts they aren't actively using for wages, social welfare etc.
Lot's of hearsay about limits of €500 (ATM daily limit??) and €1000 (account limit to allow withdrawals while system was fooked?) and also of people bypassing said limits. Hard to fix on a picture of what the 'exploit' actually was.
For example my Rev, PayPal, Google Wallet are linked to my bank account. Could I have used them all simultaneously to topup \ transfer?
Some amount of drool in this thread.
Edit ... removing my noise on this thread.
Somebody withdrew €57k when similar happened at Ulster Bank.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20325354.html