Large queues at Bank of Ireland ATMs this evening.
Threadbans
0ph0rce0
Can you close an account with a negative balance? The bank (surely) wouldn't allow this
No. It could be sold to a debt collection agency, which would have the balance brought to zero, and then closed, but an account can't be closed with a debit or credit balance. The close instruction will simply fail.
I'm waiting for politicians to start talking
There isn't a lot of votes in this though so I'm not expecting much
No - it has to be zero - it won't close otherwise.
Politicians sticking up for thieves? It’s possible and not unprecedented 😀
I would imagine many of those who availed of yesterday's glitch have at this stage changed the method of welfare payments back to their local post office.
I’d love to just be in a situation where i could immediately just get the fûck out of this country and never come back. It’s an absolute basket case these days….. headbangers and lunatics running the place. Politics, to business, media and beyond…
as others have said, nobody will face any consequences for this…. Maybe a resignation of a CEO and a fine for the bank…nothing more consequential.
Can we stop pretending this is going to have a significant effect on the banks balance sheet? BOI would have needed 1m people to withdraw €1k each to wipe out their profits from jan to June. This will be a blip, and they will retrieve most of the money.
Credibility is a different story though
Years ago BOI credit my account by 1k. I genuinely didn't notice as I had a few quid in my bank and it was coming up to Christmas so a lot money going in and out. 6 Months later I got a call to go in and talk to them about it. I offered to pay them 10 quid a week back. They accepted. Cheapest loan I have ever got.
The wasters wont even try and close it - they will just leave the negative balance sit there. For some of these accounts it may be impossible for BOI to get their money back as these people cannot be traced - they have moved on from the address on the account etc. BOI will lose out on this glitch - I cant see it being large amounts though.
How far will one grand in Scooby snacks go?
But they put the money into your account. Going down to the atm and withdrawing money is different, that's deliberate.
I think people on here would be surprised by the demographic who withdrew money yesterday. It wasn't just wasters. A lot of "intelligent" people did too. I know of 2 Engineers I work with who withdrew money.
Are you serious? A glitch on a banking system is making you want to emigrate?
Seem to have a short memory, as the country is in a lot better state than it was years ago.
Economy stronger, plenty of jobs, people can marry and divorce who they want, equal rights, church has less power, contraception and abortion now available etc.
Much better than it ever was in the past.
I would call them 2 Engineers wasters being honest. They obviously lack intelligence if they thought it was a free money windfall.
Well, you know intelligence is very subjective. I've worked in a professional capacity with some "intelligent "people who I wonder if they even passed the Junior Cert.
Intellect doesn't always guarantee wisdom.
When you open a bank account they need proof of address and some even require your pps number. They need proof of identity from passport, drivers license or something else that has photograph. It's not instant and can take a week to complete after they do checks. You can do it online but if you don't have the required docs for the online application then you have to make an appointment, again that can take a week.
Changing your social welfare payment also requires forms to be filled and sent in. That takes time and I can only guess an emergency change would be change of address through eviction and that will probably need some type of signed documents from the council or housing authority to say you are on the list for emergency housing.
I'd say other banks will be checking any new applicants to see if they are ex BOI becuase they won't want someone who just left an account in the red.
RTE have said no interest rate will be put on the acoounts or fees but it was said that this can affect further credit ratings for loans etc.
No politician is going to hitch their horse to this cart.
Speaking up for people who knowingly took money out of an ATM they didn't have and are crying poor mouth when their social welfare goes to pay it back would be electoral suicide bar every vote you get is from a complete knacker in a complete knacker hole.
There's enough decent people in every constituency to make you regret it. Its not a good look for even the biggest skank of a TD, all it'd do is alienate the (allegedly) decent people who might even give you a preference #2 or #3 - very few TD's get over the line on the first count and rely on these transfers.
I don't see it happening. Mind you, personal responsibility is anathema for many in the opposition benches these days.......
You can be an intelligent engineer and still be a waster. It's not mutually exclusive.
Some people are classed as intelligent because they have a degree and a well paying job. Some of these people are also the most incompetent people you would ever see. Intelligent in a certain area devoid of intelligence in other areas.
This scenario suggested that there is a lack of critical thinking applied to how this might play out for them. Would their employer be happy if they found out- doubt it. Is the risk worth the reward - I very much doubt it. Seems like they have a lot to lose.
And that kids is how your father lost his job. I expect a few of the larger withdrawals will before the courts.
It's clearly obvious from earlier posts that people are judging those who withdrew funds based on their looks.
"Suits" - what age are you? 12?
Go to a funeral, abuse the mourners for wearing suits and see how far you get.
People lose their minds when it comes to "their" money. Fear and greed get the better of them. Those two might be decent engineers in their field but lack sense and critical thinking and be dangerously ignorant when it comes to personal finance, banking etc.
Oh yeah, how will they ever find someone with a bank card linked to their address taking money from an ATM with a camera pointing directly at their faces as they do so. Jeez
The second basic law of human stupidity covers that. https://bonpote.com/en/the-5-basic-laws-of-human-stupidity/
What part of their engineering degree dealt with money management and banking?
Savings as opposed to withdrawing money you don't have and have not the approval for overdraft
Criticising idiots who thought they could get "free money" does not excuse bankers for their myriad of sins. Two things can both be true at the same time
Just to be clear, the Garda are trying to stop people who are "stupid as f*ck" queuing up at an ATM withdrawing €1,000 and then walking home with €1,000 in their pocket.
If ever there was a target to mug.... fish in a barrel 🙄
I'd say a heap of people were mugged on their way home yesterday.
They weren't protecting ATM's they were protecting people 🤦♂️
! What are you on about ?