Large queues at Bank of Ireland ATMs this evening.
Threadbans
0ph0rce0
Will somebody please think of the da banks 🤣
I hope they are made pay every penny back, with interest, their accounts closed and their credit rating pulverised.
The ordinary customer will probably end up paying a substantial amount of this money through charges, etc.
TedBundysdriver is a clown of the highest order. No moral compass apparent.
Or a six pack of dutch gold wha.... 🤣
Love to see the banks get a black eye.
The customers credit rating will still be impacted if they just leave liuke that. For the sake of 1k. Ridiculous. Good luck getting a mortgage or a car loan in the next 10 years lads.
Last night really shows how many morons we have in this country.
You better believe it 👨✈️
Why ?
Fair play to them for taking money that wasn't theirs ?
This crap rots me, take money that isn't yours and then expect to get away with it ? Whinge about the big bad banks when in fact it was themselves who went to the trouble of going to ATM to withdraw money that they didnt have !
The worst thing is that the average joe soap who did nothing will get hit with increased fees down the line
Yeah especially when abroad- you could reason with an Irish restaurant especially if it was an obvious issue for many but I can see a foreign restaurant being somewhat skeptical - I NEVER carry cash these days but I know I should have a couple of hundred stashed safely just in case- I’ll be doing that in future when abroad- nothing like the wrath of a waiter with an unpaid food bill 😀
Effectively all PTSB Chip and Pin Card Services whether at merchant terminals or ATMs went down and also the App for transactions other than viewing your account balances. Bizarrely and thankfully the Wise App was able to debit the card itself that was already registered but the attempts to register the three cards for Google Pay failed.
Cash is king
They wont keep a penny. A lot of them are overdrawn now and/or wont have any money - not a penny - until they clear their debts.
Oh little doubt but they can probably hide away and keep the money. And BofI will be able to do SFA about it.
But good luck to them trying to function going forward and using any payment system other than cash. They'll soon be very p**sed off when they can't even order a pizza.
A very rare occurrence that all cards you have fail ie credit and debit cards, but a good reminder of the importance of always having a few Bob in cash to hand for such emergencies
I would say most banking systems are like this. The stuff that does work has been working for years. Then they add web and app support and access from the general public and by other systems on top. Then it gets more and more convoluted as they try to keep up with the competition and move more and more functions online. And try to make them available all the time. Plus you've got the bad guys continually trying to hack the systems ... so software has to be continually updated and that can lead to more issues ...
Speaks volumes about your character then.
Yes
You support theft?
Bank is saying limit of 500 per day was in place so I wouldn’t be believing people who are claiming they got 1000s right now
Fair play to every single person who got money from the bank. I hope they get to keep every single cent.
Presumably Revolut made a nice wee sum on it. They charge a fair bit for ATM withdrawals as I recall.
It's theft, plain and simple. Nothing complex about this.
Those who availed of the 'opportunity' should be punished, and made pay back every red cent.
So if a security glitch meant the door to Brown Thomas was unlocked at night its ok to go in and start stealing?
It is being discussed in the radio that because the IT is a hotch-potch of some of the earliest ever IT, upon which layers of ever newer elements have been plastered, that there’s legacies of potential incompatibilities ready to surface at any additions, patches, updates and the prediction is we will see ever more of it.
Like the old Irish road direction answer “well I would start from here if I were you”.
Haven't read the full thread but I had a nightmare experience two weeks ago when in Spain and since then I only use cash. On the Thursday night Permanent TSB went completely down for card transactions and ATMs. Checked Twitter and other customers were reporting same problem. I had already told PTSB I was away and had no problem the previous four days with any card transactions so it wasn't a random block. Open 24 was closed and the Fraud Department phone lines had also crashed / closed.
Couldn't pay for my meal in Spain and the waiter frogmarched me to the ATM which said I didn't have the funds. The Manager asked me to phone the Emergency Line which had crashed - thankfully there was an Irish waitress on hand to explain to him. The App however was accessible to view only. I was able to show I had substantial cleared funds in three accounts but the restaurant staff were very suspicious of me and I was "ringfenced" by three staff who thought I was going to make a run for it.
I rang the Gardai from overseas to see if they had any information on PTSB back in Ireland but they didn't pick up.
The waitress tried registering my cards on Google Pay but they were declined as "inactive".
As a last ditch (before Spanish Police were going to be called on me) the waiter said to try the Wise App and pay to his own personal account. I happened to have a (rarely used) Wise account and this worked - thank God.
Phoned PTSB the next day and they admitted everything including phone lines were down the night before.
I still have flashbacks about what could have been had the Wise App not worked. I now withdraw cash twice a week and use it for largely everything.
Government thinking what to say atm
Someone on the radio asking for leniency for social welfare recipients for paying the money back.
Still very easy for them to just ask the 4 other ATM operators or Visa to temporarily decline the cards.
I lost respect for some people yesterday. Running out of work to get "free cash" at an ATM using their own card
I know there's a large cohort who get welfare at PO who will have benefitted financially
Anybody who thought they were getting free money last night are completely brain dead!
As Burgess said this morning, fraud is fraud. Those who are not concerned about credit ratings may find life gets harder when BofI closes their accounts and they have hardship opening another. They'd better get used to cash again.
I had VPN enabled on the phone, initially thought that was interfering with access to the app. Woeful that they didn't replicate the website's banner message onto the app.
Considering people were withdrawing money late last night, it would be mental to think they already spent it, I would imagine most still have the cash so there will be no issue with either putting it back into their accounts or holding onto it and allowing any debits to bring down the unauthorized overdrafts.
For those who spent it on TVs and such, then I'm afraid its tough, I pity the poor staff in Tesco having to deal with people demanding refunds on their 65-inch TVs because they now need the cash.