Large queues at Bank of Ireland ATMs this evening.
Threadbans
0ph0rce0
Ah jaysus, BOI. Not again dude!
The Gardai are manning the atms at the moment stopping people using them and people trying to transfer on Revolut are having accounts closed
and they’d get away with it too only for those pesky systems that record transactions
Why would they be manning theATM's?
Hardly their job.
In any case surely bank staff could knock them offline.
This will speed up the removal of cash from society.
Because it's a bank robbery?
There’s chaos all over the place and manic scenes at cash points. Saw photos online of the Gardas stopping people using them.
Saw a video from Drogheda and there’s carnage at the atms.
https://www.thejournal.ie/bank-of-ireland-8-6143756-Aug2023/
Reports of people using the cash to buy televisions in Tesco.
Jaysis...
Would this be a government decision to direct Gardai to protect ATMs?
It seems unprecedented.
Do people really think this is free money? Good luck to them when they see their account is overdrawn by 1000.
…..
You would want to be some eejit to attempt to effectively rob a grand with your own card.
Seems there is plenty of them anyway trying.
Ah Bank of Ireland - an utterly technologically stuck in the stone age useless bank.
Soft landing ?
I was just going to ask the same.
I don't recall the Gardai protecting ATMs at the start of the bank collapse and I recall there were people queuing to withdraw savings.
Gardai should be dispensed anywhere there's a gathering with a high probability of violence.
The fact that they suddenly have the resources when it's a bank and not a far right rally or where large amounts of tourists are is the question.
Gonna be some craic when all the mortgage and rent payments bounce cos all these accounts for overdrawn
Overdraft interest is something like 13.25% as well. F*cking cabages.
Gardaí have been clearing people from ATMs where lengthy queues formed, after receiving a directive from garda command and control.
Gardai don’t need govt permission to stop people robbing and or maintain public order
Somehow I don't think these lowlives will be returning to BOI again. They'll reopen accounts elsewhere. Why would you do such a thing if you had anything significant to lose from it?
Who would have taught Bank of Ireland doing a better job than our Justice Minister making everyone safer in our cities and towns!
I suppose it's hard to walk away if an opportunity like this arises. Easier said than done. Thinking would come later.
you need to sign an agreement to receive an overdraft facility from a bank
one to remember going forward
I am with the Bank of Ireland for years. if the person trying to fix the online systems is thee same as the person who designed the app, the place is totally fxxxxx.
Why couldn't they get someone to shut down the ATMs when they saw there was a problem?
An overdraft is documented on a facility letter. Depending on the amount, the customer's signature may not required on the facility letter but usage of the overdraft is deemed to be acceptance.
What's happening here is an unauthorised overdraft. If people don't repay it, then their CCR record will be impacted.
A lot of the people in the queues are not the sort of people who care about stuff like that.
Yea youd think all key holders would have been instructed to return to premises to disengage ATMs at first murmur of an issue - thats if there isnt a way to disengage them remotely which you would assume is possible in this day and age
Wont be a good day for the BOI share price tomorrow anyway
The app seems to go down a fair bit
I think this is the final straw for me. Do not feel my money is safe there at all. Very technologically vulnerable time and time again in an increased cyber risk environment.