Seeing as Elton has now rescheduled his Dublin gigs, might be useful to start a 2023 thread as others might start popping up.
The Commitments - 7th - 19th February (Olympia Theatre)
Elton John - 28th/29th March (3Arena)
Example is also playing in Galway in September.
DARREN KIELY
Workman's Club, Dublin
Thu 16 Nov 2023
Tickets €15 on sale Friday at 10am
Anyone know anything about The Buzz Lovers, Nirvana tribute band?
They're recreating Nirvana Unplugged in the National Stadium, 18th Nov. Sounds cool, in theory, but it's €40... for a tribute act 🤔
Kind of tempted, but wondered if anyone has ever seen them in the flesh?
https://www.nirvanaunplugged30.com/
There's a Led Zeppelin tribute band also doing the NS
Those guys are unreal, saw them in sugar club few years back. Tempted to head to this one
Why is Robert Forster not coming near Dublin? I'd give anything to hear Surfing Magazines live
He played the Button Factory in March
Thanks, I somehow missed that, there was a great Go Betweens documentary on channel 4 I think about 3 or 4 years ago, really good watch
Sold out button factory this year on earlier europe run. Will be back at some point
Yeah, excellent Button Factory gig. And Surfing magazines was cool.
The Streets playing Belfast and Dublin on 22nd and 24th October. Preale on Wednesday 16th August at 9am. General sale on Friday 18th at 9am. https://twitter.com/3olympiatheatre/status/1689547136721944577?t=XQ_PhmIgYhJ2ea9I1FaYIg&s=19
The Nightingales & Ted Chippington, Bello Bar, Sat. 9th December: https://www.foggynotions.ie/concerts/concert/the-nightingales-ted-chippington-dublin-2023
Also in Belfast and Waterford on 8th/10th.
Check out the feature lenght Nightingales documentry - "King Rocker" from 2019. Robert Lloyd seems like a right character...
Looking forward to this one. Waterford tickets secured!
As i don't have any streaming subscriptions i've still not seen that doc. Really thought it would have surfaced somewhere in the usual haunts by now, but alas no. Maybe next time i'm house-sitting i'll remember it and flick it on.
And doesn’t he love his Guinness? I often find Stewart Lee a bit much but he’s perfect for this doc, a real gem.
It was on Sky Arts originally so probably still available via Sky/Now TV. They’ve done well with their choice of music docs over the past five years, XTC and Go-Betweens also.
Mike Skinner is reuniting with The Streets for a special performance in Dublin's 3Olympia Theatre on 24th of October 2023.
Tickets for the performance are from €45.55 including booking fees, and tickets will go on sale Friday 18th of August at 9am.
Nice little 2 night festival in Ballina, Co Mayo on the October bank holiday.
Features Peter Broderick, Celaviedmai & more
www.octobernights.ie
Death Cult, Olympia, Tuesday 7th November. Yep, THAT Death Cult, before they became The Cult.
Same night OFF! are playing the Grand Social, which i'll be at.
The Murder Capital playing Cyprus Avenue, Cork on Friday 17th November. Tickets on sale on Wednesday at 10am via venue site. https://twitter.com/CyprusAveCork/status/1691011989701861376?t=bqNIadHkCi702qN7IIOzuw&s=19
Jim Jones All Stars, Whelans, Tuesday 31st October. Essential gig if you're interested in high energy, dirty, rock n roll. https://www.whelanslive.com/event/jim-jones-all-stars/
The Walkmen, next week Vicar Street. 36 quid. Nice 😁
Caught JJ Revue twice, pretty amazing. How does this lot compare, more of the same?
Was at Boris Brejcha in Palmerstown House last Saturday night for D8 in the Garden.
Great little set up out there for it and the gig was top class.
Will definitely go back there again if there is something similar on next summer.
Debut album arriving next month but YT clips would suggest yes, it's more of the same. Perhaps bluesier, but Jim Jones doesn't tend to stray too far from the template really.
Anyone selling noel gallagher tickets. Very surprised he sold that out giving he couldn't sell out st.annes park and malahide(with a fantastic support DMAs/Blossoms)
Went to buy tickets last week and seen they were sold out. Was more interested in going to see the Mondays and Primal Scream rather than NG.
I was at the St. Anne's gig last year and I thought it was rubbish. Won't lose too much sleep if I don't get my hands on a ticket.
Ye that gig was petty poor, rain didn't help. Was on the roll over back from knebworth the previous night so was still an amazing Bank Holiday weekend....still have to see noel whenever he's in town though
Same, and Liam also didn’t sell out Kilmainham last year either (which was great cause I got a general admission ticket on the cheap and ended up in the pit). I suppose Noel’s new album is a lot better than Liams and last year was his third time playing playing on Who Built The Moon.
I was going to go to this cause it is on my door step, and I used to love Oasis. Don't know any of his solo stuff. But your comments don't inspire me with too much excitement. Was it the case that the man himself made no effort, or his songs are just plain. I was having a look at the setlist, and the Oasis songs are just ok. But no Slide Away, Moring Glory, Roll with it, Some Might Say, Champagne Supernova etc. He plays lots of the slower acoustic type songs. Main reason I was tempted to go was an evening with Happy Mondays, Primal Scream and some Oasis tunes would make for a good evening. Saw Primal Scream before in the Olympia and really enjoyed it.
But I might pass on the whole thing, and go to Tiesto in Kilmainham the night before.