https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/you-look-out-and-you-only-see-a-few-people-on-the-strand-washout-july-and-lack-of-beds-hits-tourism-sector-as-hopes-pinned-on-early-season-boost/a610994306.html
Irish hoteliers and others are back blaming the bad weather for their fall in custom, and not their own prices or charges.
What are your own experiences of excessive prices being charged in Ireland relative to the rest of the EU?
A motorhome/caravan park? Are people taking the piss Cos that's just what the body needs after a 4km swim, a 180km bike ride and a 42km run.......226km of pain to come back to a cramped caravan with a poxy shower and no room to relax.
Are people here for real? 😁
Mad stuff. And some will try to use that as a comparison for 3 and 4 star star hotels in the heart of other eu cities.
The only one of those hotels in Dublin City is above Copper Face Jacks ffs 😂😂😂
Your ‘comparisons’ are frankly ridiculous. Click into that link and have a look at the rooms, maybe another comparison is in order…
A lot of people seem to be struggling here. I put in the days, put in Dublin and Munich, then put in 4 star. Set to lowest price and that was it. Nothing else.
If you want to set locations/areas etc knock yourself out.
myself and herself used to take 3 nights at a decent 4 star hotel in Cork city centre every year in December, clockwork
prices went astronomical and much as we love the gaff I thought no way it's worth it so changed tack and surprised her with 4 nights in Sicily at a really nice hotel in a place called Taormina, got decent flights to fro with Lufthansa for +€100 pp over
BUT we got mid April sunshine, a beautiful town, great food, went up Etna and all sorts of other interesting things plus the daily expenses there cheaper (and Taormina is meant to be at the posh end of the scale)
went so well have already rebooked same trip again for 2024
The only person struggling on this thread is you.
G'way outta that. You've been found out and called out now by multiple others, and you're still trying to wriggle your way out of it as if you're in the right all along. Give it up, pal.
Also, just in case you missed it earlier:
https://jackson-court.ie/
The Jackson Court Hotel Dublin is a 2-star hotel located in the historic Saint Stephen’s Green district........
Should we crowdfund the cost of the motorhome to park there?
I’ve no **** interest in looking at the Jackson Court on some website, thanks. Sure I might use the wrong website and you’ll have to post the snarky age action ireland link again to help me use the internet 🙄 It’s amazing that everyone seems to be struggling and you’re the only intelligent person on here.
Ironman is a one day endurance triathlon race its held in Youghal since 2019 it my 3rd time doing it. I don’t have a caravan and is that place far from Youghal?
But still true. The price of air travel will rise and foriegn holidays will be less affordable.
You have no interest in looking at a website but you have interest in cursing at me online :-)
"everyone" is you and another person, the other couldn't even use the calendar when provided with the dates. I think that says it all doesn't it
Looking at the growing year on year profits from Ryanair it's not the Green Party fault for rising cost of holidays.
Also you will find those pesky people working in Spain/Portugal etc are looking to increase the minimum wage. Which of course in turn will drive up the cost of hotels/restaurant etc like we have seen in other countries. Both Spain and Portugal had an increase this year according to a quick google
You will see a lot of travel agents are pushing Turkey now for that reason
Well we can both read a calendar and know that September 6th isn’t next week, so we both have that going for us.
Took me several minutes to write that swear by the way, worth it though.
Any more mis-representations (fraudulent representations , some would say) for us? Maybe another hotel where you’re not actually staying in the hotel, like the one on the previous page?
Would you not contact the organisers? They had unused accommodation going free last time. Loads of people around are putting people up. Granted, it's only a room in a house but better than paying that kind of money.
This thread (like so many others) does not, as far as I can see, involve inputs from anyone in the actual industries under discussion. It's really more like a pub conversation and I don't think anyone ends up better informed or modifying their views.
You don't know what I run or don't run. But you keep telling yourself what you want. 😉
The fact of the matter is we're constantly getting screwed left, right and centre in this country and it will come to a head one day.
But if you're happy to be mugged for over priced "goods and services" in Ireland, go right ahead, Mr. Patriot.
Here's a list of such sites - yes there's one at Clonvilla in Youghal. I'd have thought someone doing an ironman would be well able to camp overnight?
https://www.campingireland.ie/map
Motorhome?? Who needs a motorhome or campervan to camp a night or two? Jaysus, just more evidence that the country has gone to the dogs with expectations!!
There we have it fellas. Expecting a shower and a leaba after 12hrs+ of physical exercise qualifies as 'notions' these days.
FFS.
Is it an Ironman event or not? Surely you'd be fit and tough for this, camping on an air mattress would be easy peasy.
They do have showers in camp sites, you know. Failing that, a dip in the sea at Red Barn :)
Fitness doesn't come into it........You'd be in rag order at the end of it. Like, barely able to stand.
You'd need a bath, a proper shower, something to eat and a decent night's kip.
Not a fecking blow up mattress and a traveller's dinner.
If the poster would prefer to stay in a hotel for comfort then so be it, thats their choice.
True, but no point in complaining then that it'll cost north of €1000.
Thanks but as our options when booking were limited we had to pay a non refundable deposit of €500 which we did.
There’s very little value to be had with a holiday in Ireland.
The disparity between here and central Europe is far more than a cheap flight from Ryanair.
We were looking to maybe get away to a nice hotel for a few days this year but the price was astronomical, and that was before you factor in just how completely insane food and drink prices have gone.
Instead we decided to go to an F1 race. Tickets, flights and accommodation all cheaper than staying in a hotel here for a week.
We don’t even have an option like an IBIS here either. Have used them abroad for Christmas market weekends and such. Basic, clean, about €70 a night.
If people are paying it then there’s nothing for hotels to complain about, that’s the market rate. But something is seriously wrong if these are the prices they need to charge for their business to be profitable.
I booked the red car park for two nights later this month - came to €40.
Just to clarify
€1400 for 4 nights in Cork. . . . Holleeee Jayssssiiissssss!
Ehhh, that's the whole point of the thread actually.
Why in the name of jumping Jesus would anyone go on holiday in Cork?!
Why would anyone go on holiday anywhere in Ireland for that matter?