Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
🤣🤣 Yep.
RTE are some grief mongers playing music by Christy Dignam at the end of a GAA show Up for the match and his daughter joining in near the end like she didn't know the song.
She was trying to up the crowd but they looked confused.
They’re all on here according to some posters.
he's a wanker - end off
I'm cringing looking at this.
Any reaction is brilliant Precious.
Indifference is not.
Thanks a million for the Time it took to read and respond.
Geraldine my Irish Rose indeed. Master Aldo you ask of?
F88king p*ick.
Enjoy your time in the sun Golly.
30 years of pure BISTO gravy Alfred.
Indeed. Be well.
UFTM is always a great unintentional laugh.
The Woman with the harp was absolutely dreadful. When she sang the first song, I warned the people I was watching it with 'this song is gonna be rubbish', and sure enough, it was. The cameras panned around the audience, you could count the people who were entertained or clapping on one hand, and have fingers left over. They quickly cut to another angle to hide the lack of entertainment. (They applauded when the 'applause' sign came on.)
At least there was no Conor Moore, another disciple of NK. His impressions are terrible.
When Tommy Tiernan's ratings were slapping the LLS around like it owed it money, Tubridy had him on to do his 'Tommy' impersonation, and you could clearly see it was Tubridy being spiteful.
I mean, RT's final LLS show started out with the cups song, which has the lyrics 'you're gonna miss me when I'm gone'. Pure vanity.
Two Alka Seltzer, a cup of coffee, and a brisk walk should be on the cards for you today dude after you wake up later.
Getting back to the business at hand, am I right that Kevin Bakhurst was going to opine on the future of Ryan Tubridy before “the end of the month”? If he meant this month, he’s not got much more time for ducking and diving.
Sure theres no nuance allowed in your posts thats for sure. Take a look at the language you have directed towards Tubridy critics such as Joe Brolly. No context no nuance.
So by your own declared standards you have just convicted yourself of all those things.
I don’t thing Brolly is a sociopath. I do think he’s a boring middle-aged man who has a huge chip on his shoulder about RTE sacking him for being a boring pundit who made everything about himself. That’s valid criticism. His flop of a podcast shows he just isn’t a popular guy despite what he thinks himself.
suggesting he’s a sociopath wouldn’t be valid criticism.
You are clearly playing the man there not the ball and with relish. Even bringing age and gender into it. Why is that valid?
Your 'standards' of what are valid criticisms are entirely self serving and hypocritical.
Many many posters reading your last post will come to the same conclusion as me that you are projecting. A bit fat sweaty orgy of outrage. Your words not mine.
Outrage at 'outrage'. How ironic.
For you to say “there’s no nuance” given your posting history whereby you label anyone who posts anything anti-Tubridy as being variously an angry middle aged white man, a loner, unemployed etc. etc. is quite the intriguingly delicious double standard.
That’s not why he’s not being used on RTE anymore though is it? He’s not being used anymore because of comments he made about Unionists on Primetime.
By what standards do you consider his podcast a flop? The Tubridy episodes were in the Top 10 most-listened to podcasts in Ireland for a number of weeks. Is that a flop in your eyes?
Brolly was sacked because of his remarks regarding a referee, that’s hardly about himself. He was blacklisted completely because of his remarks regarding DUP being racist and homophobic which I would surmise if you got Gregory Campbell and the boys in a room they would probably proudly admit to this themselves, it’s no great secret, they are overtly racist and homophobic. He has every right to feel hard done by because of this particularly because he has witnessed and endured their abuse for a large part of his life.
it’s ironic you use the word “boring” to describe him because like him or loathe him he is far from boring and RTÉ are now left with current affairs and sport programmes which are mind numbingly mundane and one sided.
As for his podcast, which you seem to have a particular bee in your bonnet about, the charts and listenership tell a different story from your “flop” assessment, it’s all I hear people talking about, I’ve an American cousin in Chicago who asked me if I listened to it, I don’t think he’s mentioned sport or Irish politics to me ever.
For the record, I think Brolly is a narcissistic prıck and I can’t stand the man. I do however, like open two way discussion and listening to alternative perspectives, something RTÉ is not in favour of if it goes against the narrative and government in particular.
I’ll read that later Higgins and respond if there’s merit in it. Hitting the links now for a round of golf.
Never particularly fond of him myself, but his rte podcast was great
His Pod is positioned at no. 4 on Spotify Irish charts today. Between JRE and The 2 Johnnies. It's relatively new so very early to be calling it a flop.
It was telling that a lot of posters supporting/understanding RT's position simply dismissed Brolly's assessment of the story because they didn't like Brolly.
The Brolly pod really highlighted a lack of critical thinking by the regular poststers here who drink the RTE cool aid.
Tubs and company got a sneak peak of the report according to the Sindo.
How did that happen? They are external contractors and get an early look at an internal RTE report??
This is Ireland, that's how.
Mostly women you see who are starry eyed for Ryan. Did you hear yer wan on with Katie the other day. Couldn't help herself but to send the luv to Ryan and that he back soon.
Did you read the article horse?
GT shared extracts with those quoted in it, which is standard practice. Don't let your hatred for Ryan blind you. Read the article not just the headlines.
It's not a criminal trial where the BOE has to be furnished, nobody should get that report first bar the minister.
Missed that particular cawlur but saw where it happened, not one woman I can think of is starry eyed about him. Most see through. But as a guest on BOC yesterday said “Ireland still needs saints” (and appoints them) , and a cohort of mainly women have appointed Tubridy as one.
He does evidently have male devotees too. Faithkeeping is not confined to women, look inside any temple or “virtual temple” in the world, typically 50/50 divided coming the people with penises and cervixes.
OK, I will say this only once. Many of the posters in this thread are not discussing the actual topic. Get back to discussing that or the thread will be closed
Concerning Ryan Tubridy, the subject of this thread, a recent article relates to how he has been assisted by a professional counsellor relating to the stresses around the news story breaking out, on the day it emerged. I’d say it was a very busy few days building up to this, but of course the rumblings were obviously there from the day he made the surprise announcement that he would be giving up the iconic Late Late Show
Back on topic: tubridy took payments outside his published salary and placed himself as saviour of Ireland after publishing his pay cuts: chap waffles about what ever is in his head combined with pre-prepared cue cards that he has never seen prior to entering the studio at 8:58am
deemed worth it because of his high poachability status
chap cries stating he has nothing else thus ending this illusion
Summary:
rte has been corrupt at the top for years