Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
you cannot avoid it , it happens to us all
I might listen to it myself later. Getting a scale and polish in the dentist, then meeting the Mother in Law for dinner. Might as well keep the trend going.
I won't be listening to it either because I already subscribe to more podcasts than I can keep up with and I'm not particularly bothered about the finer details of the current scandal but I'd have to say the response it has generated in this thread alone, when the world and his dog have been having their say about RTE lately, strongly suggests to me there must be something of substance to it...
I've managed to pass through it, by becoming a tedious old-aged contrarian.
Catchy little indie jam number which closed the Brolly podcasts
Not bad, but not his best work either IMO, but some of his other indie band covers are very funny.
Michael Fry isn’t bad. A one trick pony, but his shtick is grand in small doses.
Listening to episode 1 now. Not a sports person so have limited exposure to Brolly but him coming out with the remark about his Co-host was possibly drinking so missed Brollys early RTE days was terrible. What a Kent!
I'd say you'd have to look at the production company. The idea of Product placement was always to suggest that it would help pay for the programme, perhaps this deal mean that Bannon can be paid less for the programme he presents, he siad is was a small fee, but we know now (and knew then) that he possibly getting paid good money for his shows. This on top of his Volvo.
Did Bannon mention a nice warm solid fuel stove in his house renovation by any chance?
DERMOT BANNON – BRAND AMBASSADOR FOR WILLIAMWARM BRIQUETTES (wfqa.org)
Curious you say that as he works on Callan’s Kicks - tv and radio versions. You’ll probably move to strike your earlier faint praise on account of this discovery.
Its also funny how both Dunphy and Brolly defended RTE to the hilt while they worked there and regularly smeared competition like the BBC and Sky Sports. But as soon as they are out the door and see there's money to be made from attacking RTE they jump straight on that bandwagon.
RTÉ made the correct editorial decision to get rid of Brolly from the Sunday Game. He was boring and tiresome and his attempts to make everything about himself and his monumental ego just wasn’t resonating with the viewer.
The dude can’t accept that he just isn’t as popular as he believes he is. A lot of middle-aged bores suffer from that delusion. That their opinion is somehow relevant and contributing to the national conversation.
You've sold me.
Sky News hit the nail on the head in regards to the issue of Ryan Tubridy's pay. Perfectly explained. RTE also seems not to tie the pay of their staff to their ratings. Many of their "top talent" actually presided over a drop in ratings.
Tubridy has topped that list for years, and was officially paid €440,000 (£375,500) in 2021. That may not sound huge by UK media standards, but his pay is considerably more than the likes of Jeremy Vine and Nicky Campbell (who have much larger audiences).
"A lot of middle-aged bores suffer from that delusion. That their opinion is somehow relevant and contributing to the national conversation."
Your self-awareness does you great credit.
TV Licence Stamp update...
My stamps arrived in the GPO which is good news.
The GPO want to know have I received a FREE licence?
One sounds a bit pissed off I think.
No mention of a refund. Looks like they do not want to it or I'm setting a precedent possibly.
While I don't hate Brolly and had no problem with a lot of his punditry, I despised the personalization of attacks on current and former players and the hypocrisy of some of the criticism. Very few people have made more money out of their connection to the GAA than Brolly, yet if a current or former player like Aiden O'Shea or Gooch Cooper wants to make a few euro, Brolly immediately has a go, claiming its wrong. He's also famous for his name dropping, he has to name drop a famous connection into everything. Then the other personal attacks on people like Marty Morrissey. He has no filter.
Absolutely. Brolly is one of those lads who can lash out the criticism to beat the band, but can’t take any himself.
No surprise there Vincent.
What’s this Vincent thing you’re on about?
Another update.
My stamps are being returned to me as I dont fit the criteria for a refund.
What criteria you ask? If you start a direct debit, purchase on line or receive a free TV Licence.
Its one big club.
When will Bakhurst have his conversation with Tubridy over Turbidy's future at RTE and when will we know if Tubridy has been fired?
Regards...jmcc
It was supposed to be this week he was going to chat to him.
All very good questions. If its true KB is off on holidays soon it might be a pinch point that he needs to resolve the situation before departure. Story is out of the headlines from what I can see at the moment today. Those answers you seek will bring it all right back I'd imagine.
Yep. There may be political problems if Tubridy is allowed back after all this. The Indo has been spinning for him. If there's to be salary limits as part of the conditions for next RTE bailout, then Ballsy might have his RTE earnings cut.
He's also been down to the Cork Studio, I wonder if he will take a holiday?
Perhaps RTE and the rest are hoping that people will forget everything that has happened.The main factor, I think, will be the advertising. If the advertisers don't want to sponsor or advertise on Tubridy's shows, it is an easy decision.
I don't think advertisers care unless they see a drop in the numbers listening. It will be interesting to see if people have moved the dial.
As a podcaster for 7 years, I know the good the bad ugly of podcasting. So I am qualified to give an honest opinion on it. The most annoying thing about the podcast is when Joe Brolly interrupts Dion Fanning, this effect's the flow of the conversation and can be very off putting.
However he is a typical barrister resulting in Joe being very methodical which I rather enjoy. No Bullshit with Joe he gets down to the nit gritty and in the first podcast he describes the NKM relationship with RTE so well.