A dub getting interviewed after doing a 17 month stint on the frontline. I wonder if you would ever be right after it.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=9J_wBx-FBcc
Rambo,James bond , Terminator,wonder how many more names he's given himself and title's on his CV
I searched his name and it turns out he was on Joe Duffy before he went out there at the very start:
President of Ireland?
If you were a killer soldier anywhere in the world. I doubt you'd be bigging it up with tattoos and social media. Fair play to him he's gone where definitely most wouldn't. But the generation of ww2 just were different and possibly others at the front line now are still.
Easy to make fun of him but people like him were willing to go out there and put it all on the line. I say fair play to him and those like him who actually went to the front lines.
He done a fair stint so, that was from march last year.
Indeed, but it's the one's who quietly go I really respect.
think its important to note, that tanks n such are just tools. Tools can be fixed or replaced. Lives cannot. The important thing is that the troops seem to be able to survive these losses.
Yeah the name is a bit stupid but who really cares. He’s done more than anyone here posting from the safety of their armchair with their expert takes. He’s witnessed actual horror and not 5 second snippets from twitter. Put his life on the line.
Also the take that he isn’t a real “killer soldier” because he has tattoos and social media is just ridiculous and not the same as the soldiers from ww2 . If social media existed then no doubt most of those soldiers would have had social media. Having social media or tattoos has zero bearing on what you can do on the battlefield. I have zero tattoos and this is the closest thing I have to social media but I’d be damned sure he’d be a better soldier than me.
The NYT is producing clickbaity titles lately but the content is more sober (although they seem to forget to mention the replacements that arriving)
Link to the full article below
It's idiots who think it's a computer game that get other people killed trying to save them,
He's a walt , no matter what he claimed he did
Bradleys are valuable tools ,but tools which take time to replace in most cases it will take months to replace what they in lose armour, which in turn slows down or stops offensives in their tracks, they only received about 90 Bradleys and it seems they lost the majority of what they got in 6 weeks,
Visually confirmed 34 Bradleys lost/damaged (although don't know how many of those they recovered)
Ukraine have received around 180 Bradleys
They are due continuing deliveries of the excellent Swedish CV90's (to a total of 50), 60 more Marders and 200 IFV's from Poland
He's been a spoofer in the past. There's articles where he says he can see spirits, he 'woke from a coma with new abilities', he saved hundreds of lives via exorcism, etc. Expert in everything. Keeps one bullet for himself to avoid being captured alive...
When someone has a history of spoofing I take what they say with a pinch of salt. That includes what he did in Ukraine.
You say fair play to him for putting it on the line, I would be inclined to say hmm, did he really put it on the line? For all I know he was sitting around getting tats for a year. He even said he never got paid which doesn't really add up for a foreign volunteer. The one video of him 'in combat' in that clip looks and sounds very stagey.
Maybe that's harsh, maybe i'm totally wrong. That's what happens when you tell tall tales, people doubt you.
They received 124 Bradleys but not all of them are in combat others are training vehicles, Russia has taken a few intact too going by reports
There's a lesson to be learned here and it's not that Ukraine have no chance and should give up now. Those backing Ukraine need to give them the necessary support (air cover or whatever else they need) along with the replacement vehicles.
And I don't get how you've concluded that they lost the majority of what they got when it's less than a third lost?
Oryx has the latest at 186 in stock/pledged, including the last batch pledged to replace those recently lost/damaged. Arrivals are usually relatively fast.
Clash Report is Russian bias scutter
There's literally video evidence of him on the front lines preparing to clear out trenches and with a group hitting landmines so, yes he did put his life at risk.
I'm not saying he is a wise man. I'm not saying he doesn't have a questionable past. I am saying that he went to the front-lines. That takes balls and I for one respect that.
My understanding is that the Sky report featured an unrelated video of a group hitting landmines - to illustrate the intensity of fighting in Ukraine. Then a second video featuring the 'Rambo' fellow, which looked very stagey. The fact that his recounted war story was about driving away from a tank (the stagey video) rather than hitting a landmine (the initial video) would suggest that my understanding is correct.
He said he didn't get paid and came home because he ran out of savings. An actual volunteer gets paid, gets food and board. I know some actual volunteers who came back with significantly more money than they had when they arrived.
I could be wrong, if so fair enough, i'm wrong. Like I said, if you have a history of spoofing then people will be skeptical. That's the spoofers fault, not mine.
If that’s the video of him going to clear trenches then legging it home it really came across as the first time he saw action and ran. Maybe he did see more action, but he looked like a guy that realised that the crap got real right at that moment.
I know quite a few who as they say have '' Been there and done that", and they will discuss job-related things amongst themselves. But beyond that, no, and definitely not in a casual conversation, let alone going public as this man has done. In company, in the pub or at a party, they will get up to the usual high jinks that everyone does..perfectly normal behaviour. But let the situation change, and in a fraction of a second, they change into something else, and it won't be flight mode. And neither would their comrades appreciate them talking about the job. Even Andy McNab, who wrote books about his experiences, came in from a lot of criticism from the SAS, who felt that he had somehow, broken an unwritten rule, and let the side down.
Have you any links to them lossing the majority of what they have got?
I know they took a few heavy losses but didnt know they have now lost the majority of Bradleys they received.
I'd be suspending belief until his actual service record is backed up by authentic records from Ukrainian military. You'd like to take him at full face value but that'd be foolish as he has a history of self promotion.
It takes 2- 3 months for them to arrive, those to the replace the first batch of 16 Haven't departed from the states yet ,open to correction,nor have the other two batches of 30 which were to replace other losses
Here's another
He even publicly declared himself one of the most wanted men by the Russians,
It will be interesting to see if the service records from the defence forces,and the french foreign Legion turn up or will he forget where his DD2114 is due to his special forces time being classified , before becoming a armed bodyguard all over the world at 18
This is the video here, timestamped (not sure if timestamps work).
It could be a training exercise for all I see. No enemy in the footage. Spotted and 'chased' by a Russian tank (not in the video). Rambo shouting 'go go go' while others in the truck seems nonplussed. All just seems a bit stagey, like it's a training exercise and this guy decided to ham it up so he can pretend it's legit back home.
The other thing is, a self-promoter is 'fighting' in a warzone for 14 months or whatever, and this is footage he thought worth showing? Lads jumping in a truck to flee an invisible tank? I would have thought someone on the frontlines for a year would have way better footage.
If he spent the whole time fighting then i will feel terrible for doubting him. But I can't help it, I just get such a spoofer vibe from him.
You imagine he’d have earned a free train ticket after all that
Hmmm...let's see