Nice haul by the Authorities yesterday in Rosslare harbour . Whilst many here glorify Drug Taking & Drug dealing its causing huge issues all over the country as Scumm Bags destroy towns, villages & Familys resulting in a wave of suicides in our locality over drug debts .
If it were legal, it wouldn't have to be policed around night clubs or anywhere. Failure, I honestly can't see if being worse than prohibition. I don't NEED to take cocaine, it's over 6 months since I last took it and it wouldn't bother me if I never saw it again, but I still don't believe it should be illegal.
Question for you. If Ireland legalised cocaine overnight where would we source it?
You’d need an international legalisation to take it out of the hands of criminals and that’s never going to happen so arguing Ireland’s stance on it is pretty moot.
But that's a vanishingly small percentage of all the people that take coke so you're trying to make the exception the rule. What % of people that take cocaine go on to be one of the greatest footballers of all time and what % go on to be 'rock stars' that cringe worthy, teenage p(hr)ase? Conversely what % of coke users achieve f**k all?
True, it would have to involve international support. Never say never, Ian Paisley used that word a lot and look what he ended up doing.
I haven't heard that
As I said already, you have done no research on the drug at all so I think you should do it before trying to push for it to be legalised
Even if you don't want to discuss it to get legalised maybe you should have a little respect for your body and do the research to figure out what you are putting into it. You only have one after all
Honestly I don't even think I would be happy sniffing talc powder, chalk, baking powder and all the other shite
I didn't say take say taking coke makes you become a legendary rock star or footballer. I used those examples to challenge the perception that taking drugs means you end up in prison, rehab or robbing OAPs
Legalising cocaine really isn't as simple as flicking a switch for a while, trying it out, reviewing after a few years and criminalising it again if required.
Respect for my body? I'm well into my fifties now, I've lived longer than a lot of health fanatics and not everybody wants to live 'til they're 100. If cocaine doesn't appeal to you, then don't take it, nobody is gonna trick or force it up your nose.
heard what?
Still not sure your point holds, TBH. Which group of cocaine takers do you think is larger.. those that become legendary cultural icons, or those that end up ruining their lives?
😂
As I said do a little bit of research.
What's the point of yours posts?
You basically are saying "you're wrong, I'm not going to tell you why you're wrong, do some research to find out why you're wrong and then we'll talk"
Why would anyone debate with that kind of low quality posting.
I believe the vast majority of cocaine takers do not end up ruining their lives. I was shocked when I read Ben Dunne had been caught with it over 30 years ago, now I'd be amazed if more senior business people weren't taking it. I believe stockbrokers are notorious for it and I saw a documentary which said many high-earners in Silicon Valley love their coke.
Ok, please tell me what I should google.
Where there's a will there's a way. If more people acquainted themselves with facts instead of hysterical inaccurate opinions, that would be welcome first step. The only way we wouldn't criminalise it again would be if the pros outweigh the cons, surely that's a good thing. We saw during Covid when restrictions were eased and cases then rose, we quickly reinstated them.
The state of Oregon would disagree with you. They are over 2 years after they changed the law.
health system overwhelmed im sure?
I don't think you fully comprehend what it would take to legalise cocaine. What is the roadmap you would envisage?
Like some of the other comparisons above I am not sure what relevance COVID restrictions has to this.
It always amazes me how the majority of drug users seem to just get through their lives without causing any issues and simply enjoying themselves and their lives and not disrupting anyone or anything else around them.
it is the ones that get arrested that give the game a bad name.
Correct. They put millions into funding it at the start but it is not enough.
They didn't legalise cocaine there, they decriminalized it for personal use. Portugal did something similar and many have said that was a positive development.
....not surprised, law enforcement are probably overwhelmed also, along with many other departments, this is far from clear cut, an incredibly complicated situation, multiples of billions would probably be needed, including in a small country such as ireland, but we re not ready for that just yet, taxes would probably have to increase, in order to fund the whole lot, that probably wouldnt go down too well with folks either!
I already tried to have a discuss which ended up been told that cocaine is not addictive and also the poster was not aware of one reason why cocaine would be illegal. This was after me and other posted the reasons.
Hence why I said it would be better to do a little research before posting on a thread talking about making cocaine legal. It's all on the thread
We keep getting told to forget about all the organised crime, drug dealers etc which is involved in the illegal trade of drugs.
That should be forgotten about so they can have "a few lines"
Yet they are the first people to complain about the Garda when anything happens
America seemed to handle the transition for prohibition of alcohol to legalisation in a fairly straightforward way. I mentioned Covid to show how easy it was to change laws.
Again, that was totally different it's unfortunate that you cannot see why.
It's very easy to change a law on paper, no doubt but legalising cocaine is a totally different ball game for what should be very obvious reasons.....
Traveller gangs around Louth too. Threatening families because one member owes money and arriving in big numbers to collect from the poor parents and even grandparents. Two at the door shouting and screaming threats with another 2/3 in the garden and about 5 outside the garden leaning over the wall looking menacing. Absolute scum and good for nothing.
...similarish story here in the south east, id say the lads in this story are from that background also!
I said I didn't find cocaine addictive, you said you wouldn't take it so how can you contradict me. You or anybody didn't give me a good reason why it's illegal. Also you didn't tell me what i should google for this "little research"