Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
No idea - I really dread that day.
Jeez, Pat Kenny explaining Shadenfreude to the country in a statement 🤭
Here: https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/oireachtas-tv/cr1-live/
Get the popcorn ready. 😁
As I posted last week, I think a lot of them are hedging their bets on today's performance. If it goes well for Tubs and Kelly, I would imagine most of them will hang on for a bit.
If it goes badly (as I expect), then they'll run fore the hills.
Ciara Kelly's nice little dig on departure saying she needed to remain "impartial" has pout the focus on some others. We've seen how PK responded, we'll see how others in the NK stable will shortly.
I lost a lot of respect for PK yesterday btw. It's sad that decades of admiration can be tarnished with one show, but he has misjudged this one very badly in my opinion.
Memorable monent indeed but doesn't quite top this
My spidey senses are tingling and I fear Tubridy's gonna bullshít his way outta this.
NK goes in all guns blazing and takes the heat. Tubridy sits there with a big, sad "I didn't know anything about anything" head on him. Plenty of people have been fooled by this guy for years.
I hope I'm wrong. Feck him.
I see the strategy today is to play with words as much as possible and hope that the core points get lost in the shuffle.
For example, how long and how often will they proclaim that they were not "overpaid", when "overpaid" is not what the problem was in the first place?
If this is their tactic I suspect it is going to be a very frustrating watch.
Yeh I agree. But you also have to agree Forbes/Kelly/Tubridy have no cop, so its entirely possible.
I know when you go to court (in most countries) you have to disclose everything including phones messages. A verbal conversation obviously hard to track.
I really am hoping RTE have a load of information up their sleeves which they will release to disprove anything NK/Tubridy say today. The email or absence of one from O'Keefe for example. But then again its not in their interests to release that one!
Where is it on ? Only seeing Morning Ireland on the RTE News channel .
There's no offer from RT in his statement to pay anything back. To me this is a clear indication that this is heading towards litigation.
Celtic tiger pups that never stopped
Classic!
Never heard it before would you believe.
You're assuming he was tipped off on email.
Anyone with any degree of cop on would have that conversation verbally and in person.
As I said, the ignorant public blame Richard Collins and lauded Breda O'Keeffe last week. LOL at people saying how impressive O'Keeffe was last week. A perfect example of listening to the tone of a message and not the content.
Looks like coverage for the public starts at 11 here: https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/oireachtas-tv/cr1-live/
This is a very stupid approach from RT and NK.
NK's clients are either going to leave his agency after this or will be let go by RTE and it's going to destroy his company. I can't believe RT is playing the blame game and STILL saying he wants to go back to his job for RTE.
What planet are these two living on? Damage limitation, lads!
Not complaining though, makes for fantastic entertainment
Can contractors be unfairly dismissed by a client ?
If only people had been talking about this type of thing (what is known as "advertising leakage" btw) on the radio forum for years........
If only.
They have legal representation at the PUBLIC Accounts Committee. Unprecedented.
Tells you EVERYTHING you need to know about Tubridy and Kelly
Arrogant....
Repugnant....
Swaggering....
Entitled....
Holes
In a statement, RTÉ said it "rejects the claim that an incorrect version of events was presented to the Joint Oireachtas Committee and/or the Dail Committee of Public Accounts regarding RTÉ's agreement to underwrite payments of €75,000 per contract year due to Mr Tubridy.
"For clarity, the claim relates specifically to an email that was sent by the former CFO of RTÉ to NK Management on 20 February 2020, which is being characterised as a contractual commitment on the part of RTÉ to underwrite the payments in question.
"RTÉ does not accept this characterisation. RTÉ's position is that the email of 20 February 2020 formed part of the discussions and engagement between it and NK Management in relation to the proposed new TV and radio contract with Mr Tubridy/Tuttle Productions and did not comprise a binding legal or contractual commitment on its part.
"RTÉ's position is as per previous statements: that, until the verbal commitment given by the former Director General during the call on 7 May 2020, it had not agreed to underwrite the €75,000 payment per contract year."
I suspect a lot of NK clients will be let go by RTE in the next couple of months if this is the approach he takes.
The tip off wouldn't be in work email. If one happened it would have been verbal or a whatapp.
RTE surely can access all email correspondence between Forbes, Tubridy and NKM. If it goes to court, they will release all this. Including IF Tubridy was tipped off before resigning from the LLS.
What time is this on and where can I watch
Pat Kenny on Newstalk
Claire Byrne on RTE
Noel Kelly and RT is well covered this morning.
They're going in all guns blazing, completely the wrong approach IMO but should make for good tv nonetheless.
Tubs and Kelly are being REALLY badly advised if this is their approach - but then again neither strikes me as the type to take advice TBH such is the arrogance. Their only chance at redemption here would have been complete transparency, a grovelling apology, and returning the money. They are clearly not choosing that option.
Will there be tears from Tubridy? In a form of an Act of Contrition? Is Paddy Power offering any odds on this?
His future in RTE is on the line here. Come out as too arrogant and his contract will be let run out in 2025 and won't be renewed.
His final sentence: I am also hopeful that I will soon get back on air to do the job I love.
Setting up an compo case?
A lot of mental health issues in RTE once they are found out to be lying
Funny how everyone perdicted Tubs would do the "I know nothing" defence. Exactly what he is doing and wants to continue on with his huge wages. The guy head is up his ass