Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
You are not a fan I see, people elected him I suppose.
But you are correct about the amount of time that is wasted when someone just goes on a rant for the cameras/constituents.
Ryan Tubridy's and his agent Noel Kelly's solicitor will not be allowed sit beside them or make oral contributions at the Public Accounts Committee tomorrow.
RBB was there for the whole thing, heard everything, and then gave a hi-falutin speech (incorporating the film industry at one point).
Complete waste of time.
Agree with all the posters above that, in the same way that the RTE personnel had clearly had media training in the middle week, the committees would do well to take a leaf or two from their book and get their sh*t together before tomorrow.
...and a Fax machine
Smyth is worse than McGrath and Fitzpatrick. Was she not throwing making faces when McGrath asked the clearly understandable question about who RTE execs were loyal to. She is the worst of the lot given she's the chair.
Fitzpatrick asked the former CFO if she saw the invoices coming in for the 2 payment to Tubridy Now bear in mind that those invoices were presented in 2022 and she had just told him she left RTE in 2020. The CFO turned and looked at the Chair as if to say WTF and Smyth said nothing
if Fitzpatrick starts this carry on again he needs to be lifted out of his chair and deposited back in Louth
I will be watching on saorview
I think there is a good chance that the player will crash!
Probably will be the most watched program on RTE tomorrow.
Niamh (Legally Blonde) Smyth has been fawning over Tubs today. She probably wants to give him a hug!
Lets hope that they ask him questions rather than deliver a monologue!
"her" 😆
I don't know Butters but I have a mental image of Andre the Giant
I thought Smyth was good in fairness, she was calm and tried to be as fair as possible. Constantly saying 'pressed for time, time limits etc. The fact that Fitzpatrick/McGrath went ranting the last time she will be more justified in cutting them off quicker.
The problem I saw was that many of the TD's were coming and going from the chamber, missing bits and repeating things that were already covered. From what I remember Richard Boyd Barrett was there all the time (in contrast) and was annoyed that he just got a few minutes.
Niamh Smyth Media Committee Chair needs to up her game. When McGrath and Fitzpatrick were being ridiculous last week the camera panned to her looking concerned but doing fukk all about it
if Mattie starts his rubbish again she needs to say to him…….look I’ve just put what you said into Google translate and the app crashed. Now STFU you bogman
When Fitzpatrick starts asking ludicrous questions she needs to say…..Peter take a break and read the Beano. Brendan Griffin is getting the rest of ur slot
Jaysus, a Skibereen Eagle reporter!!!
@ButtersSuki probably works for a company who only uses chequebooks, all signed by the big boss man. That’s the impression I get from the quality of the thousands of posts on the radio forum from her
That would be a reason for some above him to keep the CFO if they had a certain 'culture' to keep going. In other words a 'yes man' is needed.
LOL. Are you making it blatantly obvious on purpose?
A letter to my public servants if you or your assistants are surfing this thread:
VICTORY LOVES PREPARATION
Stay up all night if need be and get your shambolic and incoherent amateur sleuth act together.
The entire country is watching you tomorrow. We want value.
One or two subjects and a line of questioning per man and stick to your subject(s) and lane.
You get the drift with these examples my public servants of Ireland.
Investigating corruption should be second nature to some of you.
Structure your line of question from the wide shot to the close up if you will please, like a noose tightening. Every question must have a purpose.
Do not ask repeat questions like dopes as it embarrasses us as a nation. Its not all about you says I.
If somebody has no confidence in grilling the Toyman do not pad out your 10 minutes with scutter.
Inform the chair you are satisfied and yield to your colleague post haste.
Absolutely no moralising and grandstanding; save that for your 4 year old (grand) child. You look like hypocrites.
Let them answer. Leave silence at the end of their answer. This freaks people out and they talk more. Do not cut them off. Let them hang themselves.
Play good cop bad cop. One of you rattle the shite out of them.
Consult solicitors, interrogators or prosecutors on a line of questioning/tactics if need be as you're not that talented or insightful.
As an Irishman I'm embarrassed that some of you represent me.
I'll be watching like a hawk tomorrow.
Probably do a Sean O'Rourke though and try come back in another guise. They aren't going to let a talent like Marty walk off easily.
It might be worth noting that Marty Morrissey will turn 65 later this year and, as a staffer, will be retiring. This is his last championship as an RTE broadcaster, I think.
That's quite the tangent.
Couldn't make that up at this time
Give a 'true and fair view ' is the wording iirc.
Directors , not the CFO , has the ultimate responsiblity (unless there has been a change in Irish law ).
Why the previous incumbent left is still unanswered and is possibly the key .
Accounts haven’t been signed off yet? As Deloitte were carrying out the audit which uncovered them as an external control.
i have to smile when i hear Sinn Fein rattling on about trust. i grew up during the 70s.
Look, talk to your CFO again or rather a CFO of a large company and come back to us when you fully understand what a CFO actually does. And a chat at the water cooler doesn't count.
Vindicated in your eyes perhaps but I’d be skeptical of the idea than he can rehabilitate his public image back to where it once was before this fiasco.
His draw as a personality is not based on good looks or sense of humour. It’s about being trusting and caring. That’s taken a mortal blow over the past few weeks.
that is as relevant as saying one grey-haired man supporting another. not everything has to be viewed in terms of money. i feel sorry for you, if that is how you view the world.
So, if the CFO is “at it” or incompetent where does the buck stop?
i think Tubs will be vindicated. he has done nothing wrong and the orchestrated moral outrage is nothing short of a witch-hunt.
the biggest and perhaps only sin committed has been to try and hide these payments. that was a silly thing to do. it's time for openness & transparency, especially as they are spending the public's money. i think we must continue to support our National Broadcaster, who have served us so well since its foundation.
Leaving the sinking ship?
If you are able to conceal hundreds of thousands of euros worth of payments from your CFO then you should immediately sack your CFO.
When you sign off on accounts, you sign that "you believe" that they are accurate to the best of your knowledge. If there has been a deliberate attempt to conceal information from the CFO then they are not culpable.