RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Look, talk to your CFO again or rather a CFO of a large company and come back to us when you fully understand what a CFO actually does. And a chat at the water cooler doesn't count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Long Sean Silver

i have to smile when i hear Sinn Fein rattling on about trust. i grew up during the 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭Fanirish

Accounts haven’t been signed off yet? As Deloitte were carrying out the audit which uncovered them as an external control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,224 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Give a 'true and fair view ' is the wording iirc.

Directors , not the CFO , has the ultimate responsiblity (unless there has been a change in Irish law ).

Why the previous incumbent left is still unanswered and is possibly the key .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,939 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭One Who Waits...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Expunge

It might be worth noting that Marty Morrissey will turn 65 later this year and, as a staffer, will be retiring. This is his last championship as an RTE broadcaster, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Probably do a Sean O'Rourke though and try come back in another guise. They aren't going to let a talent like Marty walk off easily.

A letter to my public servants if you or your assistants are surfing this thread:

VICTORY LOVES PREPARATION

Stay up all night if need be and get your shambolic and incoherent amateur sleuth act together.

The entire country is watching you tomorrow. We want value.

One or two subjects and a line of questioning per man and stick to your subject(s) and lane.

1. The letter guaranteeing the 5 years of secured payment
    2. The €120,000
    3. The €345,000
    4. Tuttle Productions
    5. The timeline and chain of events from March 5th, 16th and on wards.

You get the drift with these examples my public servants of Ireland.

Investigating corruption should be second nature to some of you.

Structure your line of question from the wide shot to the close up if you will please, like a noose tightening. Every question must have a purpose.

Do not ask repeat questions like dopes as it embarrasses us as a nation. Its not all about you says I.

If somebody has no confidence in grilling the Toyman do not pad out your 10 minutes with scutter.

Inform the chair you are satisfied and yield to your colleague post haste.

Absolutely no moralising and grandstanding; save that for your 4 year old (grand) child. You look like hypocrites.

Let them answer. Leave silence at the end of their answer. This freaks people out and they talk more. Do not cut them off. Let them hang themselves.

Play good cop bad cop. One of you rattle the shite out of them.

Consult solicitors, interrogators or prosecutors on a line of questioning/tactics if need be as you're not that talented or insightful.

As an Irishman I'm embarrassed that some of you represent me.

I'll be watching like a hawk tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

LOL. Are you making it blatantly obvious on purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,485 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That would be a reason for some above him to keep the CFO if they had a certain 'culture' to keep going. In other words a 'yes man' is needed.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

@ButtersSuki probably works for a company who only uses chequebooks, all signed by the big boss man. That’s the impression I get from the quality of the thousands of posts on the radio forum from her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭TruthorBust

Niamh Smyth Media Committee Chair needs to up her game. When McGrath and Fitzpatrick were being ridiculous last week the camera panned to her looking concerned but doing fukk all about it

if Mattie starts his rubbish again she needs to say to him…….look I’ve just put what you said into Google translate and the app crashed. Now STFU you bogman

When Fitzpatrick starts asking ludicrous questions she needs to say…..Peter take a break and read the Beano. Brendan Griffin is getting the rest of ur slot

I thought Smyth was good in fairness, she was calm and tried to be as fair as possible. Constantly saying 'pressed for time, time limits etc. The fact that Fitzpatrick/McGrath went ranting the last time she will be more justified in cutting them off quicker.

The problem I saw was that many of the TD's were coming and going from the chamber, missing bits and repeating things that were already covered. From what I remember Richard Boyd Barrett was there all the time (in contrast) and was annoyed that he just got a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭One Who Waits...

"her" 😆

I don't know Butters but I have a mental image of Andre the Giant

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,222 ✭✭✭CH3OH

I will be watching on saorview

I think there is a good chance that the player will crash!

Probably will be the most watched program on RTE tomorrow.

Niamh (Legally Blonde) Smyth has been fawning over Tubs today. She probably wants to give him a hug!

Lets hope that they ask him questions rather than deliver a monologue!

Fitzpatrick asked the former CFO if she saw the invoices coming in for the 2 payment to Tubridy Now bear in mind that those invoices were presented in 2022 and she had just told him she left RTE in 2020. The CFO turned and looked at the Chair as if to say WTF and Smyth said nothing

if Fitzpatrick starts this carry on again he needs to be lifted out of his chair and deposited back in Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Diamond Joe Quimby

Smyth is worse than McGrath and Fitzpatrick. Was she not throwing making faces when McGrath asked the clearly understandable question about who RTE execs were loyal to. She is the worst of the lot given she's the chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Diamond Joe Quimby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,661 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

RBB was there for the whole thing, heard everything, and then gave a hi-falutin speech (incorporating the film industry at one point).

Complete waste of time.

Agree with all the posters above that, in the same way that the RTE personnel had clearly had media training in the middle week, the committees would do well to take a leaf or two from their book and get their sh*t together before tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Ryan Tubridy's and his agent Noel Kelly's solicitor will not be allowed sit beside them or make oral contributions at the Public Accounts Committee tomorrow.

You are not a fan I see, people elected him I suppose.

But you are correct about the amount of time that is wasted when someone just goes on a rant for the cameras/constituents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Field east

IMO, the core problem with RT is his ‘SIN OF OMISSION’ - unless he has the same condition of the CFO who could not remember what his salary is. It is therefor possible that he might have felt that the RTE annual report re his salary seemed right and did not feel that it need to be corrected. It will be beyond reason if RT floats the idea that he never checks his accounts to see what exactly was lodged into it on a monthly basis except for the fact that there was quiet a bit lodged in every month and he did not do the exercise of multiplying the monthly fig by 12 . Therefor he was not aware of his actual amount paid to him annually except for the fact that he was of the opinion that he was paid quieta bit

in relation to the above , I assume that he gave his permission to NK to negotiate a further Nuala payment at a time when all others were handed down salary /wage cuts and RT never thought , for one second , the unfairness of it - within his own mind- and how would the other staff feel about working with him if it ever got out. It is hard to keep things under wraps anyplace over the long term. Did he not realise that ‘RTE Investigates’ might be already in there for its next relevation re rule breaking; breaches of policy; nepotism; bullying, illegal activity; POSSIBILITY of barter accounts, etc, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

Couple of pubs showing it on big screens.

Be like italia 90 all over again 🍺🍺🍺🍺👙👙

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭sporina

I think he is a clown but yes people elected him but who put him on a committee. His performance last week was pathetic and a total waste of everyone’s time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I wonder will the lads have a buzzer in their pockets that the solicitor can activate when they hear a question that they don't want the lads to answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,661 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

What time tomorrow are the two committees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,703 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It might be too much to hope the people tuning in will get an understanding of what TDs do and factor it into their voting picks...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)