Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
He ‘did nothing wrong’ so he’s apologising for doing nothing wrong, we do it all the time , apologise for doing nothing wrong.
🙄
A judge in Cavan threw out 20 cases of non payment of the licence fee given the "shennanagins" at RTE.
Can anybody explain to me why, what Marty Morrissey did was so wrong? I have no opinion on the chap, I neither like him or dislike him, but I do not see how it could be considered similar to Tubridys greed.
My understanding of what happened in MM's case is that his biggest problem is that he is a member of RTE staff.
In his own free time, outside of his employment, he was asked to MC these gigs, which he did, after asking RTE if he could or not. He refused payment, and did them for free. Renault then decided to give him a free car, and he accepted. He did not ask for it, he did not bill them to get it, he did not MC for it, he does not talk about it on his social media accounts or address it anywhere as a brand ambassador would. If anything, I would imagine the underhandedness would lie more with Renault, who I guess thought that they were getting something out of it by having MM seen to be driving it around.
RT on the other hand, has been discussed here since the start of the thread, it would be pointless to go over it all again just to highlight his greed, especially during the economic crisis and when RTE were suferring most, leading in part to the licence fee going up to €160.
I have seen somebody mention that the licence fee could (or possibly should) be put with electricity bill in future. What absolute nonsense. Apart from whether or not you agree with the TV licence to begin with, a lot is going to have to be reviewed, and forcing people to pay it whether or not they have a TV in their home is just ludicrous. If the TV licence payment is to get reviewed, then so will so much more.
RTE claimed almost €4 Billion in the last 20 years from licence fees, yet were still able to dig themselves a bigger hole for themselves. Last year alone they received €220m from licence fees and €180m from their commercial arm, with GOL claiming that she and she alone brought in €1.65 Billion in the past 11 years. It is painfully obvious that they have not got a fecking clue how to manage money in there. They need to do away with the commercial arm altogether and stop these junkets and other bullshit expenses. Apart from anything else, they encourage bad money managing, and more spending. This arm is where I see the blame to fall mostly.
As for Tubs suing. I cannot see how. He is currently out of contract, save for a 'verbal agreement' that is keeping him getting paid while his contract negotiations are paused. Once this is over, it is unlikely that any new negotiations will meet Tubs demands. There is no way in hell he would be getting a new contract on the same terms, or even a quarter of them I would imagine. Once no agreement is reached, contract is non existent and it is on to the next. Apart from that, I cannot see him back in RTE ever again. Regardless of the 5 or 6 defending him here, the numbers that dislike him are far too high to ignore. There would also be some sort of outrage, at a very low level or possibly on the streets (I have no idea) if he were to be reinstated, but it would be enough to force them to look at it again which would be madness.
He was supposed to take a 15% pay cut, just like the other top 10 earners. So I think it's safe to say that he was overpaid.
It would be nice if some of the clowns who don't have pertinent questions would just waive their time, there was no need whatsoever for that rubbish from McGrath and a few others. No more need for the grandstanding lads, either ask a pointed question or move on to the next person.
Exactly.
And letting silence fall, after an answer, can be 100 times more effective than expressing outrage and grandstanding.
I doubt it, a lot of them too busy thinking about tiktok videos and how they look than asking questions
Nobody “who’s willing to work within the system to pay their licence”- will get a criminal conviction - an important point to make here- and also, whilst I think what that judge has said is great, it’s only one judge.
I certainly will be saving it.
Its not that difficult to work out, needless to say the company doesn’t pay the BIK
Keep reading the revenue website and it should become clear
Anyone who doesn't pay the fine will get a conviction. Same as it always was.
It's arguable that Tubridy wasn't overpaid by €345,000. He was paid what he was supposed to be paid according to his contract(s). It was RTE who underreported Tubridy's salary and/or possibly disguised elements of it. Small point but important nonetheless.
They’d be mad to play it any other way- clear questions and clear answers is what is expected next week.
I certainly hope so. There have been 3 televised hearings now, at this point they have all had plenty of chance to display their anger/shock/horror at RTE and to grandstand for the viewers. There is no more need for it so they can cut to the chase and actually try to get answers.
Nobody is getting a criminal conviction for this now
Well the cats should be safe around Donnybrook now the staff are probably afraid to be seen driving!
The org that continues to insist it doesn't pay coaches, just reasonable expenses😂
I hope that the politicians calm down the play acting, and looking for their moment of fame when they get these two in front of them.
Ask plain questions, like the ones you have outlined and let them answer.
It would be much more effective than the way some of them approach their line of questioning at present.
Yes, but it is a “rich target environment”. 😀
Fudging the answers is a very risky strategy because all it takes is one really smart question that puts him completely on the spot and he is toast, all credibility gone. One of those questions where the TD has been fed some information and Tubridy doesn't realise that the TD already knows the true answer and is just waiting for the right spot to hit him with it.
So the smart tactic is complete honesty and transparency. But like I say, complete honesty is also likely to hurt him badly so he may want to risk the fudging.
There is of course the possibility that he may have no choice but to duck and dive. There may be things he knows that were flat out illegal and that he simply cannot volunteer publicly. His big problem there is that it will be harder for him to hide behind DPO and GDPR like the RTE board have been doing, since he will be talking about himself and not others.
Very interesting.
You've posted very well throughout. Enjoying your posts.
Phoenix Magazine has never produced anything funny. They didn’t break the trend with that. About as funny as finding your family cat dead on the road.
RTE are looking at new merchandise.
He'd start the show with his hands behind his mack and say,
"It's been a trying week especially for struggling families and those who are homeless".
Social media would melt with one's saying
How down to Earth Ryan was whilst they were in tears.
The Phoenix is playing a blinder here.
Yeah but such conditions are usually for completing the contract term, like how he was supposed to get $120k for completing the 2015-2020 contract. With this contract, it was for radio & TV, but because he quit TLLS, he's now out of contract because they had to renegotiate it for a radio-only contract.
They said in the most recent hearing that he's not currently under contract, and hasn't been paid in the past month. It's likely they'll have to pay him something for the few weeks he did the radio show while not under contract, but I don't think he has any recourse against them for anything else. His contract ended early through mutual agreement because he gave up TLLS, and a new contract for radio only wasn't finalised. So he's not under any contract currently.
BIK is payable by the beneficiary. If someone else pays for it, the beneficiary will have to pay BIK on that. There’s no escape
Even if RTE were scrapped or made 100% subscription funded (neither of which are at all likely), there would still be some kind of licence or tax to fund the BAI's Broadcasting fund (that supports programmes about Irish culture, heritage and adult literacy on any channel, not just RTE) and TG4 (currently funded indirectly via RTE themselves). And as I've posted before, I think it's likely that this will hasten the universal Household Media Charge that the government has already committed to. We're not going to escape it.
Wowser !!
Fair play to him!!
Good point- I can just hear his faux outrage voice right now - aaaaaagggghhhh- make it go away freshpopcorn, make it go away!!!😛