Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Are you suggesting that the Minister has given tacit support to break the laws she is responsible for implementing and ensuring they are enforced?
I hear ye, but really, considering there’s already a lot of people with pitchforks out for Tubridy, (apparently on Twitter?) fudging the answers will just increase the mob mentality and other people will jump on board for the hell of it.
As I say I don’t like Tubridy and I’ve questioned why he’s been paid so much for doing such a bad job for years now, that I’m just bored even mentioning it at this stage- but if he wants any sort of media career on radio or tv he’s going to have to at least look like he gives half s damn
Could you imagine if somebody like Peter Casey was over paid by €345,000 and Ryan got to interview him on The Late Late Show.
Could you just imagine the act Ryan would have put on.
Your main problem is that you think I can be caught out, on an internet message board, as if this is some game of any importance. In reality I had to go back and find out who you even where and why you were quoting me.
I have never once done anything except offer my opinion on this matter, so your blather about me claiming things regarding the barter account is a bit ridiculous really. It is also a misrepresentation of what actually happened.
Lose all credibility? Oh no, that would be terrible.
Have the last word if you please, it seems important to you.
No.
I never said I have never abused Tubridy. I have. I do think he’s what I called him, and much worse tbh after the revelations over the last two weeks.
I said I don’t abuse other posters, even those who abuse me habitually and have called me the most offensive and personal things. Do I need to list all of the abuse I’ve been given - even in this thread?
And one thing I certainly don’t do is create a new account to abuse people, unlike certain posters - incl. some regulars on this thread….you know who you are.
You call me a liar and defend Tubridy, and see no irony in that? 🙄
Finally, re. the expression “Dainty Little Bugger”. I didn’t coin it (if only), Rhys Ifans (a Welsh actor) coined the term for Mr. Tubridy after an excruciatingly embarrassing interview. It’s on YouTube if you’d like to see it for yourself.
You have had posts in this very thread about me removed for personal abuse, yet still you claim you have never abused anyone. #Bonkers
I think you need to read my comment again.
I hope that RTÉ funding model does not change and everyone that is liable continues to pay their licence.
I have opted out of owning a TV or any signal receiving apperatus and am not currently liable for TV licence. The last thing I hope happens after this is that I get roped into paying for this crap via some form of general taxation.
Ideally RTÉ would be totally scrapped or become 100% pay per view like netflix.
Pray tell how it works then as here is what revenue states: You will need to calculate the ‘cash equivalent’ of your employee’s private use of the employer-provided vehicle. This is the amount that you will add to your employee's pay.
so basically the benefit of the car is valued and taxed and prsi’d, so what I imagine is that in order for a brand ambassador to be interested in doing that role I would imagine the car provider would pickup that tax bill.
but do tell, fascinated to know how this should be handled
This is exactly the point - Id love to know how many "brand ambassadors" are declaring it either as an income or BIK.
Also I dont think the manufacturer / dealer can pick up the tab for BIK.
BIK is for an individual to pay and declare as required taking into account mileage allowances etc to off set some BIK. I just dont see how it would be possible for the car company / dealer to pay it without there being some tax liability on the individual.
Abuse is abuse. Bekind. Slagging someone off for being in a bedsit is abuse and not kind. Not cool.
Have you withdrawn your ridiculous accusation to another poster wondering why they didn't ask if Marty had a body in the boot of the car?
You seem ignorant of the basic facts.
Marty himself has said he needs to check out if his tax affairs are in order.
So will you now withdraw your accusation? It would be the kind thing to do.
Haha no offence but if those are the worst examples of my “abuse” towards other posters then it proves my own point, not yours.
I will cheerfully consider your accusations withdrawn.
If the goal is saving his career then he cannot be honest. Consider the sort of questions he is going to be asked:
Did you refuse to take a paycut? Why did you refuse to take a paycut? Why did you refuse to take a paycut and then go on TV saying that you had taken a paycut? Why did you not correct the public record that you had taken a paycut? Did you instruct your agent to raise false invoices on your behalf? Why did your agent raise false invoices on your behalf?
Answering those sorts of questions honestly is likely to leave him looking grubby and money hungry, and admitting to things now also means you are admitting to dishonesty in the past. It just doesn't work in his position, you can't moralise to the masses when you have been caught out like that.
So career wise his only option is to duck and dive, tread the fine line of appearing to be helpful while still trying to avoid the worst of the dirt. Its a very fine line to walk and once you are walking it you are committed to it.
Maybe he will go in and be honest, maybe he will actually volunteer information without being forced and prove that he is actually contrite. All things are possible, but I know what Noel Kelly will be advising him to do.
It all depends on what was in his old contract. There could well be an agreement in for what happens in terms of his pay or conditions when the contract ends if the doesn't get a new one - similar to a golden parachute clause. This would not be uncommon in executive corporate contracts, and it appears that Tubridy was able to wrangle pretty much anything he wanted out of RTE.
You still acting the boll1x in the thread? Fair play, you are certainly committed.
I don't wish to get into an argument with you but I don't see how someone working for RTE could get paid €10k per hour.
Even Tubs (the top earner) earning €500k a year equates to about €10k per week between his LLS work and his radio show. BIK and expenses aren't going to add too much more on to the wage. Kielty's expense allowances were supposed to be about €50k so if Tubs was getting the same, it would push it close to €11k per week. You reckon Tubs only works one hour per week for those shows?
That's not how BIK works.
I had heard another figure in the recent news about 200k, was that what they were offering him to do just the one-hour radio slot every morning?
If it were already agreed, could be on the hook for 300k or so?
He gave the car back because he was caught. If this didn't happen he would continue to drive it as he has done for the last 5 years. So no he shouldn't.
It will be all hidden now. Even if Marty has or hasn't been fiddling the books it will be covered up.
His contract was for TV and Radio, so as he's given up The Late Late Show, his contract is currently null and void. It was in the process of being renegotiated just for radio. So I don't think Tubridy has any comeback against RTE. He's out of contract.
Ok. Fair enough.
You understand perfectly the attitude and the lack of awareness I'm describing that some have of those less well off.
I spent a minute reading your posts after what you've been accused of. You have some very bitter anti middle aged men posts. They don't do you any favours. And they're certainly not kind.
If Tubridy's contract were to be cancelled, I think Tubridy would be able to sue RTÉ, as the issue is jointly of their making, the secret deceitful top-up payments. So to actually cut him off now, how much would it cost RTÉ? I believe I heard that his contract runs to 2025, so they'd presumably have to pay him 10 grand a week for the next year and a half while not allowing him to work for RTÉ, or pay him off now perhaps up to the roughly 750k he stands to receive in his contract.
I don't want to see or hear from him again on RTÉ, but it would be a bitter pill to swallow to have to pay him off that amount of money.
In fairness Marty did give the car back so he should be forgiven and the whole sorry mess should be forgotten about.
I could be wrong, but I don't think someone else can actually pick up the tab for BIK. The whole point is that the person who personally benefits from the item needs to account for it tax wise. If someone else paid the BIK on it, that in itself would be subject to BIK.
I presume everyone that has been named and will be named in the next few weeks is getting an audit from Revenue
it would be nice to see a few of them published on the defaulters list but that won’t happen unfortunately
A Dublin judge presiding over the capital's TV Licence prosecutions has slammed RTÉ for what he described as elitism, "Godlike personalities", and "freeloaders" while defendants were "crippled with the cost of living".
Dublin District Court has a special weekly sitting for cases brought by An Post against TV owners who have not paid their €160 annual television licence fees.
Friday's list featured 159 prosecutions, but before hearing the cases, Judge Anthony Halpin delivered a strongly-worded pre-amble about the ongoing controversy at the national broadcaster. He said he was "disgusted and appalled" by the revelations.
"It is a criminal offence, and on conviction it carries a fine and a record of having committed a crime. The people before this court are accused of failing to pay the TV licence fee, and these people may feel a little hard done by when they see the way RTÉ has abused statutory funding which is annually provided to RTÉ."
Accordingly, he said, it would be remiss of him not to make reference to the recent revelations and exposures about those who are the recipients of the licence fee.
"The revelations have rocked the very foundations of the national public broadcaster and have sent, not ripples, but seismic shock waves throughout the organisation."
Quoting Marcellus from Shakespeare's Hamlet, he said: "There is something rotten in the State of Denmark". Judge Halpin said that the epithet could appropriately apply to the "shenanigans and mischievous activities that have gone on in RTÉ over the past number of years of which we knew nothing".
I am appalled and disgusted that such clandestine, secretive and dubious goings-on would be the order of the day in respect of arrangements between RTÉ and the Godlike personalities who seem to be above scrutiny.
Judge Halpin said he had watched some of the proceedings of the Dáil Committees on TV and praised the Chairs and the respective members for their "sterling work". He added that it was proof that the investigative arm of the parliamentary system functions effectively and efficiently.
"They have a difficult and gruelling task in getting to the truth. George Orwell, in both Animal Farm and 1984, was preoccupied with the way language can be manipulated as an instrument of control. The shifting positions of persons giving evidence before the committees is testament to this."
"In Animal Farm, Squealer, the pig who was Comrade Napoleon's propaganda machine, abuses language by whatever means necessary in twisting and distorting rhetoric so as to justify behaviour. To get the right answer, one must ask the right question, or the facts will remain concealed unless otherwise uncovered by diligent and assiduous examination.
"Our Dáil Committees have triumphantly succeeded in this regard, but there is more work to do."
The judge referred to what he described as "elitism and exclusivity shown and demonstrated by the RTÉ "ruling class".
He said it was "an anathema to the fundamental principles which underpin the freedom of the press and the trust engendered thereby of an independent, professional, honest and responsible National Broadcasting Service which is the backbone to any democracy".
He continued his criticism saying recent revelations have wounded the bulwark of RTÉ's professional standing as a broadcaster once held in the highest of esteem.
Shame
"Shame on those who have brought that about. I will go no further than those remarks, but I must say those freeloaders in RTÉ who received a loan of cars, who received branded cars free gratis, spouses of RTÉ who were wined and dined and partook of events at the expense of RTÉ, and others who were lavished with such generosity, ought to pay back to the organisation the euro equivalent of the benefit they received, to help this financially strapped semi-State body.
"Also, those personalities and senior executives who received unconscionable sums of money should reflect on their position and do the right thing."
He said it saddened him that those before the court "who are crippled with the cost of living, have to swallow this unpalatable pill of the licence fee when they see that such a source of income is squandered and abused".
Prosecution
"But the law is the law, and the law provides that you must have a licence if you have a TV," he said, adding, "I will afford more time to those who need it, and An Post may enter into an arrangement with you to pay by debit mandate or collect stamps so as to help with the expense of the license fee."
Concluding his remarks, he said: "Those who intend to do this, I will leave without a conviction, and those who do not turn up, I have no choice but to convict, but I will keep the fine to a minimum." He then proceeded to deal with the day's cases.
In typical sittings of the TV licence prosecutions, where he had to convict no-show defendants, Judge Halpin has limited all the fines to €150 plus an order for €100 toward prosecution costs and gave them three months to pay. The law states an offender can be fined up to €1,000 or €2,000 for subsequent offences.
Good man Judge- well said:
Thats the point I'm making and in doing both parties are defrauding Revenue of funds to run the State. No real difference to what good auld Marty was doing except for the important difference that he has been caught by the shorts, thanks to RT
I might save that tweet for when my FG MEP candidate calls next year, if that's the calibre that they put forward for election.
I would imagine that for brand ambassadors, the car would be BIKable, but as that would not be an incentive for anyone to be a brand ambassador, then I would see the car company having to pickup the tab for the BIK, and that’s fine, so long as it’s all done properly and declared properly…..