Vasectomy is a minor procedure. Having tubes tied is a much more invasive procedure, so if both people are equal in the relationship, then it makes sense to have the minor procedure (vasectomy) rather than major procedure (tubal ligation). Thinking of relationships as one or other being dominant and the other person being 'under the cosh' seems rather old fashioned. Ideally both people should be equal with lots of give and take. This is an easy 'give' for the man.
Absolutely fine to do condoms as an alternative. Some of us prefer to go skin-to-skin and have made a decision to get the vasectomy in order to allow that. Different preferences - no right or wrong.
The note says "The lab will post the results to me, and I will be in touch with you once I have them. It normally takes 2-3 weeks for me to get the results and then inform you. Please do not contact me looking for results before then, it's not practical to respond to all requests. If you do not hear from me by 3 weeks, please email me or call the landline number. Do not contact the lab directly, they cannot give the results to you by phone"
Cant find that note he gave me but if I wont hear anything next week I will send him email myself.
I should probably post this in the 'controversial opinion' thread,
Well you got the first part right at least. I got a vasectomy because we are not having children and the contraception my wife is on impacts her hormones and her periods. It was a no-brainer for us and has nothing to do with hitting a low point or "under the cosh".
A vasectomy is much easier, safer and cheaper than a tubectomy.
I'd prefer sexual abstinence over a a surgery on my genitalia that wasn't aimed at saving my life.
And what a loss to the female population that would be.
I should probably post this in the 'controversial opinion' thread, but if men can get a vasectomy and women can have their tubes tied, are the men that get vasectomies really just people who have hit the ultimate lowpoint in being 'under the cosh' in a relationship? I'd reply, 'No thanks, if neither of us fancy having surgery on our reprodructive organs, let's do condoms'. I'd prefer sexual abstinence over a a surgery on my genitalia that wasn't aimed at saving my life. Next step, neon pink chastity cage. (Now, I shall run for cover)
For ball shaving, i was recommended to use hair conditioner instead of shaving foam beforehand. It worked a charm. No irritation whatsoever
I'm in the same position. Not sure what to do but will probably give it another week or two. I think the note does say not to contact him.
Guys did you wait long for semen analysis results?
I posted mine to Rotunda over 2 weeks ago and havent heard anything since fromdr.McCormick.
Not sure should I chase it up and wait few more days.
Thx
Home ice packs but so far no pain. Lads I’ll be honest the dentist is worse. Definitely get the snug supportive underwear. Bought nurofen on the way home just in case as it’s the weekend.
Best of luck.
Booked in for 11:30, just want it over now.
Also used Dr. McCormick and very happy. He does up to 14 a day!
No experience with Vasectomy West, but it looks like he is a GP that does vasectomies. That is fine, but for the same price and a similar location (Athenry), you could have a specialist that does this every day of the week (Dr. McCormick). For me it is a no-brainer. As with @bigboss1986, i used Dr. McCormick and i was very happy.
Dr.McCormick has clinic in Co.Galway(Athenry town) 2x a month.I used him together with many posters here.
Going down to Carrigaline next Friday for the procedure. Like most shaving my balls is my biggest worry.
Anyone have any experience of Vasectomy West in Ballyvaughan?
Thought we were done with two boys but looks like we're back in for more craic now! I'm hoping to remove the possibility of having four kids (fingers crossed it's not twins!)
Had it done 2 weeks ago.
The procedure was uncomfortable but probably more me being a wimp than actually being sore. He kept telling me to relax and stop tensing my legs etc.
I didn't take any pain killers since the day of the procedure. I was tender for a week after and am completely back to normal now. Have been running and gym and all is ok.
I was a loose boxer wearer but invested in some tight boxers and think I may be converted! Keeps everything snug.
Delighted to be done
If you're worried about pain from the procedure itself, it's genuinely nothing like.
Im too much of a wimp to get it done.
Had the same issue. Best way I could describe it was like a "blue balls" feeling. Contacted Dr. McCormick as well and got the same advice about hot baths and also to make sure I was getting a regular "release". All back to normal after a further week or so.
Thanks, that sounds rough enough. It's not sore just not right. Already missing exercising
Yep. This was me for 12 weeks. Got in contact with Dr. McCormick and he suggested hot baths, hot as you can take without burning yourself +ibuprofen. In my case, it was because the swimmers being reabsorbed into the body were causing swelling. The hot baths helped for a while, the ibuprofen not so much. He sent a prescription for steroids to my local chemist. Finished the course, and I've been grand since.
Fingers crossed you don't need a steriods script, but try out the hot baths and ibuprofen and see how that makes you feel.
Anyone finding us the lowers stomach, top of the pubic area that feels the strangest post op?
Not sure, just sort of dull feeling
I agree on that. To put it in perspective, most people would think nothing of travelling to Dublin to buy a car, see a show, or go to a match.
The operation involves making incisions in your scrotum, and cutting tubes inside. So in my view, it is worth travelling a bit of distance to ensure that you get somebody that specialises in that work, does it everyday, possibly thousands/year and has loads and loads of good reports on here.
https://www.ratemds.com/doctor-ratings/3472919/Dr-Oliver-Lynn-Drogheda-IRL.html/
Just come down to the big smoke and go to Dr. John McCormick. He's Ireland's #1 decommissioning agent!
Where are the reviews? Can’t find any good or bad
I overdid that. You only need the back of the penis (the part that rests against your balls) and the front of the scrotum. I missunderstood and did the entire area, balls, bush etc. It was carnage with the razor rash!!
Get in the shower, plenty of soap or shave gel and you will be fine. Do it today so it has a chance to calm down between now and Thursday. Maybe get a release beforehand, as the movement in sex or masturbation might irritate the skin (after you shave) if you don't normally shave down there.
Ok, might pick up some to be safe. Thanks!
I went the tight boxers route, and I'm fine now for what it's worth.
They make a big difference, I'd recommend getting a pair or two.