Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Been done...Quite successfully also (Saw a production by the Ballinrobe musical society a good few years ago - very impressive) and I believe, according to ads running at the moment, that the West End production is coming to the Bord Gais. But you're right, an appearance by the ill fated Titan submersible would make for a great tragic cameo!
Now speaking of failures associated with past or present RTE personnel, who remembers Moya and John's production of "Grace O'Malley, the musical" which bombed so spectularly on Broadway? Whilst everyone in RTE remembers and cites the huge success of an idea incubated within RTE and threw out as a Eurovision interval filler, that went on to become a global juggernaut, hence providing evidence or proof to them that any idea with its genesis within RTE or based on an RTE concept couldn't possibly fail, could it? They could have done well to study Moya and John's failures as well as their successes in planning for LLSTM.
Yes he is.
I’ve posted this and details of many other familial appointment (in RTÉ for example) over the years in the radio thread. I have posted this exact example earlier in this thread.
I’m sure however he beat off loads of other qualified candidates in a thorough interview process for this advertised role……🙄
Can't ask about gender, it's 2023
Well
I'd say it's more Noel Kelly pushing Tubridy to appear with him, so they can try put it all on RTE, say they did nothing wrong and it was all RTE and therefore RTE should put Tubridy back on the air, and then carry on as before.
Even with the invoices NK was submitting, he can say that's just the way RTE told him to submit the invoices, so he did. Say that RTE didn't have to agree to the extra payments or underwrite the Renault money, but they agreed to, so that's on them.
Whatever about Tubridy, Noel Kelly is unlikely to go in and give a mea culpa. He'll likely just put it all on RTE, and given all the other stuff that has been coming out about the RTE barter accounts, car loans etc, RTE will just be the fall guys for everything.
No. Apparently Mattie McGrath has a previous engagement, giving a lecture on Speech and Drama in UL !
It's like old school TV, you have to wait until the next installment next week. You can't binge watch the whole series.
That would be a great idea "Titanic, the musical " cameo by the submersible
Is there no televised meeting today?
I think he’ll open a can of worms on himself
Just out of curiosity, and speaking of nepotism, would yer man Andy McNally, Client Services Director at NKM by any chance happen to be a son of Aonghus and a grandson of Ray. He bears a striking resemblance anyway, but I'm sure he's in his position on merit alone.... Nothing to see here...
Like the lad who's got a list of the number of rte news presenters on his phone
Thats entertaining and disturbing all at once!
What good would it have done? A list of things to change rte from some randomer
Can I pay my licence fee in flop flops? I'm thinking if I present two pairs at the post office...
That's it. He has been advised this is the only way to save his career. Don't be surprised if he offers to give back the money too. Then we will have the fluff pieces in his agents favourite publications about how sorry he is and that he regrets losing the trust of the nation. He might not be forgiven by a lost of posters posting on this thread, but it might work with the wider public.
Yes indeed. Only the same cost as 4 loads of balloons or 200 pairs of flip flops.
Oireachtas Media Committee due to hold hearings on GAAGo next Wednesday too, as well as a potential second session for Tubridy and Kelly
Tried that. Now she looks a bit like Myra Hindley!
yep, that's it..it his chance to go public with his story ( which they will be doing dry runs with some expensive PR spin doctors for the next few days ) and he'll come out, hands up and he'll offer to repay any extra money above what was stated. He's probably cramming through his extensive collection of Kennedy political books... what would JFK do...???
It will be interesting to hear what Noel says about who knew what, but it should clear up who knew about this deal and were approving it Dee F and Geraldine anyway but wonder if any surprises they will bring to the table, I'd say RTE execs and board might be sweating a bit.
They were asked yesterday by Timmy Dooley if they knew of anything else that they might like to bring up , which i took as thinly veiled we know something and you have a chance to get ahead of it now but they all shuck their heads.
I think we are running the risk of losing perspective on the bigger picture issues which are really quite alarming.
The flip-flops, balloons etc are too extravagant, but there are other items that I'm not seeing as bad value. The meeting space in London for 4 and a bit grand a year is very cheap.
It's just shocking they simultaneously didn't provide adequate workspace for their London correspondent. You'd expect them to have some kind of office arrangements. You can access space in various media companies. There are possibilities of sharing space etc etc.
I know they're different divisions within RTE but there's a terrible sense of the lavishness of the corporate side and the hard working drudgery on the front lines, actually producing programmes.
There's a lot wrong and the structure and corporate governance certainly seems at best to be extremely loose and dysfunctional. There's going to need to be a really forensic review and I hope that the process the minister is putting in place will be adequately robust.
Whole organisation might need to be restructured and rebuilt. There are somethings where the best solution might be ctrl-alt-del and just start fresh.
Bakhurst sending out a call for new presenters and RT watching it:
Unless he goes in front of it with a load of excuses his career is over....he has no choice
If only there were people out there with no attachment or relations in RTE, but who had intimate knowledge of how the media landscape works, had been crying foul for years re. the waste and excess, and questioning the relationship between NKM and RTE? If only those people had put forward say a list of things they'd do to change RTE with the aim of saving it? If only those people would had spoken before now.
If only........
I've just read the AH thread about TSTM.
I thought the plot posted here was a joke, but fcuk me - a story about a dead mother for a Christmas musical? And they thought it would work?
I'd agree on this, I was genuinely surprised it was that low (relatively).
I think she looks a bit like pat kenny if you squint a bit 🤔
Bakhurst says the reconstitution starts on Monday. If it's not an entirely new board with new protocols and laws around public money and how it's spent, then it's already a failure. He shouldn't be in this position. He is a hire by this board - it's the person they know and want, not the person RTE needs. It's a joke.
noun
noun: reconstitution; plural noun: reconstitutions
It would also be interesting to see who exactly owns the storage facility and if they are in any way connected to any RTE staff.
Did someone in RTE say to Tubs, appear on front of the oireachtas committees or you won't work here again?
I really can't see any benefit coming from this except saving his career with RTE.