Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Yea, he was obviously passing off the RTE talent ,even eurovision had him back this year but not RTE. You would think today fm or newstalk would get him on for his take on this. However I think all the media people outside of RTE aswell are wary of this scandal
Thanks, I was there already but yesterdays video is not there.
Of course it’s relevant, he had a vested interest in the failure of TSTM (not that they needed help btw).
Do you really think he was going to say something like “wow! That was breathtaking. That was quite simply the most amazing musical/panto I’ve ever seen and it will decimate the Dublin panto market.”
Of course he was going to “diss” it.
Hughes was on Liveline a number of times during Covid talking about his panto. He once came out all guns blazing bitching totally about a rival panto making all sorts of allegations about the producer of a rival panto, incl. saying said producer was Scottish - and that Irish people should support independent Irish producers. Then said Scotsman called in and we had some amazing backpedaling by Hughes falling over himself to apologise. I’ll say this much about Hughes, he has a flair for the amateur dramatics.
The €300,000 was reviewed by Hughes. He confirmed this on Liveline at the time, and it was widely reported. Do you think I just make stuff up or something? A quick google will confirm same so I fail to see how you can’t find it.
Imagine how the drug dealers in Dublin would have made if Gerry was part of it
Link:
https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/oireachtas-tv/video-archive/committees/8077/
Gaybo got the Harley, it's in the window of Vicar Street now
My apologies. I read this wrong
The date was agreed in private session by the Dáil's public spending watchdog this morning.
Yes, Moya is worth north of €100m off the back of Riverdance.
Gerry Ryan was offered a share in the venture before it went big. He declined. He frequently remarked it was his biggest regret.
Tuesday at 11am for the media committee and Wednesday for the PAC....There has been no mention of it being done in private.
Not sure what relevance that is but I can't see anything saying the tax payer footed that bill....from what I can see the show was cancelled during covid and the estimated loss was 300k. If the taxpayer funded it I don't know.
Doesn't change the fact he was right about the RTE production and if RTE done any market research I am sure plenty others could have pointed out the flaws before the millions got wasted
The “nothing burger” crew seem to have disappeared too. Though they still pop up occasionally, and we stlll get the odd rogue re-reg. Intriguing.
Back in the day they probably got Billy Barry kids to do the demos.
Sorry mixed up people, had to google him to see who it was, did see him. Was he babbling on about bring his husband/wife to the canteen? no
I have no allegiance to any of the parties involved so I couldn't care less. As I said at the time Imelda had a good valid point but she lost it trying to get a snippet for tiktok. If she stuck to her task and not cared about social media she would be way more effective.
Take that how you want!!
Alan I see failed to mention the €300,000 he got from the taxpayer one year during Covid because he couldn’t put on his panto.
Now that’s a scandal that should have had more of an airing too.
Can't listen to him, heard what an ego bag he is to his underlings from people who worked on his show.
Still, he got justice for some deserving listeners over the years
Has it been confirmed they're appearing or getting a private sessions? I know they've offered to answer questions from the committee, but I don't know if anything has been arranged yet.
I heard someone say yesterday that Moya herself made tens of millions from Riverdance. Is that true?
This Nothing Burger sure is headline news for a long time and the fun is only starting.
Why are tubs and nk getting a private session. Do they not want people to hear their bs and consent advice by a legal advisor
State of Doherty and McColgan at the premiere.
2 absolute gowls.
You’d cross the road to avoid them.
Did he ever get the tax on the van sorted?
Anyone know how to access yesterdays committee video, it was visible while live but archive on Oireachtas TV has not updated to list it, but other videos from yesterday are there.
Link to committee meeting stating it will be live: https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/press-centre/press-releases/20230705-joint-oireachtas-committee-on-tourism-culture-arts-sport-and-media-meet-to-discuss-rte-s-expenditure-of-public-funds-and-governance-issues-following-the-statement-issued-by-the-rte-board-on-22nd-june-2023/
Just can't find it anywhere now.
In The Phoenix: Moya Doherty was advised that Larry Bass's directorship at RTE was a “huge conflict of interest”. She understood this concern given her own co-ownership of Tyrone Productions, a supplier of shows to RTE, Moya shifted her shares, to her hubby, when appointed RTÉ chair in 2014. It's the reason for so much crap programs on rte, they don't go with the best ideas or the best people, they just give the jobs to their buddies agent or production company.
The entire business model behind TSTM is fatally flawed. It has a couple months appeal at the end of the year at the most competitive period for kids entertainment and pantos, and its appeal is Irish based only (you aren't going to get tourists going to it).
Add in a huge cast and you can see it had and has no hope of success.
They really didn't think that one through, and who ever suggested it or more importantly signed off on it should be sacked.
River Dance was only Irish is what RTE would tell you. They are deluded to be honest and with Tubs leading them to be honest I bet they expected it to be as big as any of the shows you mentioned. Why else bury so many millions into it.
Market research seems to have been carried out in the canteen in RTE
I heard he was in Witness Protection?
TSTM was only ever for an Irish market.
The toy show is unheard of outside of Ireland.
Not like Mama Mia, Phantom, Broadway/West End shows.
Was never going to sell huge amounts of tickets.
Perhaps if they had gone to other TV stations and developed the idea to be global, like Davey Fitz with irelands fittest family, well then maybe, money could be made.
Well you entitled to your opinion of course.
I will say it one last time, people do pay for it. It's called the TV license.
Tbh you would have to wonder is there a lack of junior talent , or are they all feckin related to someone haha
Opening night and people already predicted the downfall
Panto king Alan Hughes who with his partner has spent €50,000 promoting their show Snow White and Sammy & Buffy hinted that the show might have a competitive edge over smaller productions.
'I think it's the might of RTÉ to take the chance and be able to do it because I know if we weren't established, there's no way we would enter the Christmas market with all the theatres and shows going on.