Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
It's definitely interesting to see how many will leave NK. His reputation is in serious trouble and it's probably only a matter of time before some big names seek new management.
It's not so much about Lottie herself leaving, but she could be the first of the dominos to fall.
What has he done wrong?
He got a good deal for his client - That's his job!
just seen there that lotti Ryan is married. But chooses not to use her married name. The Ryan name must come in useful 😋
Not anymore its not
Yes. It has been owned by Odhran since 2020 distilled media no longer has any part of the site.
He was involved in negotiating, enforcing and invoicing extra payments from RTE to Tubridy designed to be concealed from the public and official accounting.
As has been pointed out several times, "wrong" doesn't mean illegal or even immoral, and the ultimate responsibility for everything lies with RTE/Dee Forbes for capitulating to these requests, but yes NK's reputation is now intrinsically linked to the RTE corruption because he was a willing participant in it and he benefitted financially from it as well as his client.
Talent Agents should be a moralistic guide to us all.
Such a great deal his client may never work for RTE again?
He also sent in invoices with a false description for 'consultancy services' when no such services were provided. This was done to collude with elements in RTE to get his client paid without oversight of the RTE board \ auditing.
A good deal is one that is sustainable.
Greater review and auditors likely to be sent in, I wonder did they miscalculate the public interest in this at the start? Christopher O'Sullivan mentioned Oireachtas TV crashing.
They must know that many are threatening a licence boycott too.
Not quite since there is a marketplace for executive jobs in Ireland. If you don't pay the going rate for people with senior executive skills and experience, they will get a job elsewhere, nearby, that will.
The same is not true of 'talent'. RTE is the only place to go so they should be able to dictate terms.
I would like to think that not all agents are like NKM. I think if they're not a one-off, they are up the far end of the continuum.
Such a good deal that his client is finished. Not a great but of business in itself. Considering that He will no longer have the level of control in rte that he had until now, I'm guessing that his entire business is on a downward slide so overall, major f uckup from NK.
NKM is guilty of killing the goose that lays the golden eggs. Aesop was never far wrong....
Or maybe by Baz( can you believe his mother is also on NKM's book!) doing up a house somewhere!
It's grand having the stars leave to save money but what happens if viewership drops? Then revenue drops, i.e. sponsors won't sign up for advert slots or will demand to pay less for these slots.
It'll be interesting looking back at viewing figures next year to see if they've dropped or not.
By the way, you seem to be equating 'on air' hours as if that's all a presenter has to do. There's rehersals and lots of background work to do so I doubt any of them are getting €10,000 - €20,000 per hour.
Imagine trusting a guy to be the Head of finance in your company and he doesn't even know his own salary!
I think he knew it well but just was a bit flustered with the direct question. He absolutely should have anticipated the question and answered quickly and firmly. He dropped the ball.
He knew his salary. He just didn't want to reveal it to the world, or possibly his wife. 😁
I’ve skipped loads of pages. I got as far as page 188 something on 30th June and the last page of this thread is 244 (which I’m on now)
Would someone give a brief summary of what’s been happening in the past 4 days?
Dee Forbes has been reinstated, with a promise to increase the license fee to €260 per household and collect it through revenue to avoid evasion. Ryan Tubridy has accepted a very large, but fair package to stay with RTE in the face of very intense competition from the BBC and some US channels. Lottie Ryan will take over the LLS from Patrick Kielty on a permanent contract.
From my general skimming over it over the weekend, it was mostly a lot of arguing about who owns Boards.ie. Very little actual new stuff has happened over the weekend.
Curious as to what salary Lottie is on? She's a classic example of a nepobaby who got where she is because of her old man.....
The current board are to be replaced with posters from this thread, who all know exactly what to do and how to do it (but may spend more time arguing between themselves than actually achieving anything).
Imagine being asked your salary in public by someone who has no legal right to know your salary and is only looking for airtime on TV.
The government went to the people a few years ago seeking to give power to the Dial committees to ask these sorts of questions and the Irish people rejected it.
Not too many TDs giving out when they are taking free tickets to matches and VIP hospitality, paid for by organisatons receiving massive amounts of public funds like RTE. The RTE thing is a debacle but there are hundreds of charities and organisatons funded by the Gov who are probably far worse and have no oversight or salary caps.
It has not at all been shown that these are anything but self-proclaimed "stars". Outside of a montrose circlejerk I would suggest there is not one of them that is actually a star at all.
Regardless, its a state broadcaster and people are forced to pay a license fee for it, so why exactly should we care about revenue generation? Is maximising sponsorship really the most important thing here? No wonder RTE has lost the run of itself, it thinks it exists to make money for a small group of people.
We’re worse than PAC on this thread. #bekindmyarse
This behaviour obviously was very normal and accepted. Doireann Garrihy at the same.
RTE is very much seeming like it was a complete a free for all. People taking liberties all over the place. Like their own personal playground where they could do what they like when they like.
Imagine being the CFO of a public body, going to a governmental oversight committee called due to reports of financial malpractice regarding wages, and not expecting to be asked abut your own state funded salary.
Why are Toyota getting the likes of Lottie Ryan to be brand ambassadors for them eh? The sponsors obviously think there is some appeal there. I don't see the appeal in her myself but hey, I'm not paying for the advert.
Why should we care about revenue generation? Because the licence fee doesn't cover the cost of running RTE by a long shot. And the good salaries that Tubs et al. are on is only a small part of the defecit. There's camramen, researchers, electricians, engineers etc. that draw a wage from RTE too. And RTE has to buy content from abroad too or else we'd be looking at Dermot Bannon programmes every single day. RTE needs outside revenue to stay afloat, and it's not doing a good job of that at the moment.
Does she think by leaving nk she can escape her salary getting published? I wouldn’t put it pass her