I loved Ken's sanitised wording of the "hairdryer".
He was on form today.
Was about to make the exact same point. Our men’s team are absolutely shite and there is no problem with there being podcasts talking about them.
Our women’s team have gone and qualified for their first World Cup. It’s clearly a topic that should get coverage on a show like SC which gives a lot of football coverage.
I watch the men’s team because I support Ireland. Not for the quality of the game. I’ll be supporting the women’s team for the exact same reason.
Yeah, anyone who claims the top level sport argument while watching the men's national team is talking rubbish. Most people watch sport for other reasons than just seeing top level sports.
Probably the common sense that things don't have to be the very highest possible example of a sport to still have merit, still warrant a following, and still be very engaging, entertaining and well worth watching.
Also that women's sport is simply a different thing to mens sport. Games work a different way. Different tactics get results. Different methods and styles suit the players attributes. And it's all the better for it.
It’s shite times for most-If they were to make it out of group second round game will be on a weekend which would be an event
Thurs 20 11am
Wednesday 26 1pm
Monday 31 11am
I'll be able to watch.
What attitude should he have?
I'll definitely watch some of the womens WC but being in Australia times will more than likely be shít.
It's true though.
Yeah I'm the same.
Maybe that could be part of it with for a minority but i like women's sport. It might not be as interesting to me as men's sport but it's undoubtedly important that its maintained to a decent standard.
SOC just leaves me cold for whatever reason.
I have a feeling that the reason she gets flak is that she is a woman who has consistently tried to speak up about women's sport. But maybe that's me just being cynical?
This rubbish again? How about you head off to the 1950s with an attitude like that?
There's something about Sinead O'Carroll I just can't take to.
At least the rugby world cup will include the best teams in the world of their sport. The women's one will have teams who would be beaten by a local u-11 boys team.
I think the build up for sporting tournaments is generally awful. Yeah we can all be excited but really all the chat is about imagination. Your asking the players what do they imagine might happen. Nonsense. It's grand that we can escape into that world for a bit but its really nonsense.
Mens soccer and rugby gets more of a pass because so much more is known of all the players and goings on but go back to the build up pods to euro 2016 and in the cold light of day it'll seem really dull.
Build ups can be helped by the best pieces of writing/chat by the likes of Ken or Jonathan Wilson.
far more interested in women’s World Cup than the fake World Cup in France this autumn- haven’t heard todays episode but can’t possibly be as boring as the corporate newspeak fest the rugby lads will be cooking up for their preview.
really is a a shame all irelands group games are on in the morning on workdays
Meeow
Point taken.
Murph always struggles on his own and Sineád is as bland as she is unlikeable.
Strange choice by The Journal for the role of "craic correspondent".
Oh wait, she's the editor and there's a couple of weeks all expenses paid in Australia going begging.
You can find the episode boring while also considering women's sport important, the two aren't mutually exclusive.
I enjoyed it, and I hadn’t paid much attention to the WC previously.
Lots of this type of energy....
Wouldn't be surprised if Murph was rocking a foam finger!
Sounds like an issue you have yourself, nothing wrong with the pod today. Interviewed two of the players, and a journalist about it. I thought it was a good show, and Murphy sounded genuinely excited. I'm looking forward to it, just a pity the match times aren't great.
I agree very much with Sinéad that women's sport is very important for society.
When I ever I hear him on OFTB it’s sounds like he has either read or listened to Ken and is stealing his view points #ViewPointThief
Murph and Sinead 'O Carroll failing miserably to generate any interest in the women's World Cup.
😂😂😂😂
that's the best one I've heard in a while, bravo! you should somehow tweet it to Jamie, I'd say he'd get a kick out of it
He's actually eased up a bit on The Simpson references to be fair and calmed down a bit on saying 'like' 8,000 times a minute
Yeah was hoping Mal would be on today, He bounces very well off Jamie. Murph was just going with whatever he says, although Jamie did speak a lot of common sense today in fairness , suppose there wasn't really much to disagree with him with
Yeah he is good. I did miss Mal though to call him up on stuff. I felt like Murph was just saying "yep" every minute or so.
They could use the tactics screen to show Simpsons memes.