Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
They only work with RTE, so they are RTE stars.
Evidence of the same please.
I guess the sarcasm wasn't thick enough.
Pint? They have a special 600ml "pint" glass behind the counter for when he visits.
He's never noticed though.
You'll find they did speak out before, it's been linked to at least twice if you care to look through the thread. I posted it and so did @AndrewJRenko.
I wonder did he use his barter account to buy the pint
Lol, next stop NYC
To hell or to Connaught
Tubs spotted in Sweeneys Bar, Claddaduff, Connemara yesterday.
Tubridy is not a direct employee of RTE though, in the sense that the education correspondent Emma O ' Kelly is. She has a permanent, pensionable position. Tubs is an outside contractor, as they are called. There are stars and there are serfs in all forms of employment. It's odd that these protestors only began marching around Montrose once these revelations emerged and not even once previously despite their long standing grievances regarding pay, conditions and the poor general "culture" that some claim exists at the station.
I wonder who did it?
That's what I don't get, why are rte not creating talent and promoting them etc to do this kind of stuff. Very disappointed in no one living in Ireland being able to do the late late for example.
Is there anyone on the big shows who are employed by rte.
Do you think CAB will need a garda escort when the dawn raid happens in the morning?
And in BOC's case, it's his second job. Nice work if you can get it, I guess...
Just reading something earlier that reminded me of what other workers were going through while Tubridy and or his agent were pushing for him to get the extra money.
It's slightly surreal how out of the of touch they were, not to mention greedy beyond belief.
And the kicker is, when he's off they have the Newry one O'Donnell on as a fill in, so more earnings for NK
They're so transparent, it's actually hilarious.
Ha I can't seem him wanting to seriously discuss salaries at RTE so. Maybe they should all be put on leave for editorial reasons
That might be his pay breakdown but as regards airtime I'd imagine he works akin to the school calendar, ie a week or two off at all holidays, (Xmas, Easter etc) a month to 6 weeks off in summer and plenty of weeks off sprinkled throughout the year. Pat Kennys schedule basically. If your commanding 250k pa in RTE, you have lots of holidays
I'm not sure of the relevance of that, but that's illegal, too
About 40
I worked out his hourly rate and it's about €1560 ph
Fair play to you and the other posters who were trying to highlight the negative influence this agent was having in our national broadcaster for so long including abusing taxpayers money. I had never heard of him but it sounds like he had built a cosy cartel in an RTE with governance standards Haughey/Bertie would be proud of. You earned a sense of satisfaction at being finally proven correct. Never mind the blinkered tip-the-cap begrudgers.
Marion was on more money for less hours.
I don't know if his show runs all year round, but assuming it does.. then 104 shows per year. Equalling 2355 per week, or 589 per hour
Just out of interest, how many weekends does he do, that's crazy money
Brendan O’Connor says taxpayers made ‘feel foolish’ by some at RTÉ
Brendan O’Connor says taxpayers made ‘feel foolish’ by some at RTÉ | Independent.ie
You could hardly make this stuff up.
The Cork native confirmed this week that his pay is €245,004
For 4 hours per week on air
No cash paid - settled with trade credits (offsets/contras). I had the wrong idea about the barter account, it's a barter COMPANY who buy ad slots from RTE, buy tickets from IRFU etc then ad slots are exchanged/swapped for tickets and other stuff.
Am I right in thinking all unsold expiring advertising slots would be placed with the barter company to sell at whatever they could get for them and then barter company charge their 35 percent on.
That being the case, rte most likely viewed this as free money as the alternative would be to allow slots go unsold.
I can see that the barter company is a valid tool in running of rte but not the manner it was used.
I suppose the main question that needs asking is whether there was sufficient funds produced by the barter system via the normal running of rte to cover all these dodgy payments or whether an increased portion of advertising was needlessly sold via barter company to ensure slush funds remained healthy. The scandal in that would be that the dodgy payments would then be costing far in excess of the actual value due to possibly selling advertising at reduced rates and also the barter fee payable.
Anyone know who were the beneficiaries of the Rugby tickets, Football tickets and trips to the Champions League Final and wined and dined at our expense?
Garrett Tubridy probably gave the rugby tickets to RTE to support his brother through his financial hardship. 🤭
Ok so following that logic some OTHER account must have paid for the tickets?
After all they had to be paid for with money yes?
So IF another account was used to pay for the tickets then it was in the control of the finance unit in RTE because the Barter account was the ONLY account NOT in the finance units control.
OR (as is possible here) there is ANOTHER (undeclared to PAC) account outside the finance unit that was used to pay for the tickets....