Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Most senior executives would have a car allowance or similar. On a prestige car 25k/ year is just about the yearly cost when you include depreciation, fuel, insurance tax and maintenance.
Yes they are libel for BIK but it's often reduced due to work mileage done. While strictly speaking it is work milage traveling from home to office is often included. DF lives in Cork which is 260 km from Dublin. If she drove that 3 time a week it's over 1500km/ week or over 70 km for 46 weeks. Fuel and maintenance costs are not inc it's just the capital cost of the car for BIK. I presume you have to show receipts to draw it down. As these cars are leased it's often the easiest way is to set a figure on an allowance.
Is BIK not only a PAYE thing? How does a self employed person account for it?
They work for the state. If you work for one of the MNC then maybe yes you would have a "prestige car" but not sure why a CFO in RTE needs 25k a year to buy himself or herself a car when they are not driving around day to day.
Some people suggesting that the dreadful Callan might replace Tubs on the morning slot. Would be a terrible decision - he’s about as funny as getting a terminal illness diagnosis and he’s as smug as Fintan O’Toole.
😂”so Ryan why did you decide to leave the lls?” “Do ya like Ireland? Did you have cancer oh that must be awful “
Decades ago when my father was director of sales & marketing for the engineering company he worked for, he was given a “company car”. It was owned by his employer, he had use of it outside conducting his job which involved regular travelling to likes of ESB power stations, also looking after overseas engineers from vendor companies. He had to account to Revenue for the personal use aspect of the car and pay a certain amount of tax on that. This used to be a common arrangement in his type of role, one where using a car was an integral part of the job.
But infinitely better than tubridy
Not anymore
I like Oliver.
He is very good on the radio and infinitely better than Mario.
That is just my personal opinion.
i think the appetite is to reduce the showmen and provide national tv
Both of them are terrible impressionists and monumentally unfunny. If Callan does get the slot then I predict that it will be a critical and ratings disaster.
So, what account FUNDS the barter account?
Given a million quid has gone through it that million had to come from somewhere to pay NK RT rugby trips champs league trips match tix etc
So WHAT OTHER ACCOUNT FUNDS THE BARTER ACCOUNT?
this question hasn't been asked but needs to be because IF an account controlled by the finance unit funds it then PAC were lied to about it being outside the finance unit remit.....
TV ratings are going in one direction for most of their "stars". That never seems to hit their take home pay. RTE is constantly running at a loss and running redundancy campaigns or pay cuts etc
Staff are on tv telling us they have no money to put on proper shows etc
The "star appeal" isn't working and hasn't for years. RTE have said it themselves multiple times when they went begging for more money. So maybe an alternative plan would be to dump the stars and look at other options, maybe it will work, maybe it won't. But at least try something different
It's on a falling scale now so the exemption is gone partly, totally in 3 years I think
There must be some clause that allows the previous contract to remain until the new one is in place, but because he has been taken off air by RTE for editorial reasons he is unable to deliver his end of the pre existing contract. But surely having announced his departure from LLS in March , why were RTE not on the ball in getting a new contract in place just for radio before his LLS period ended in May? They could have played hardball as Tubridy was now less of a risk as they only had to get a replacement for the radio show which they have now done anyway. Oliver Callan was able to jump into that slot now for 6 more weeks with no notice because it all erupted so fast. So Ryan Tubridy was not irreplaceable at all
I am no expert on accounting
I just don't understand why they haven't cancelled his radio programme. That's different from sacking him. They can just cancel the programme surely.
Are they going to still call it The Ryan Tubridy Show for another 6 weeks?
It was said that unused advertising space was 'sold/offered' on the Barter system. I don't think much other detail was given. Many of RTE Radio's advertisements now for them selves or other state organisations. You can be sure the state does not pick up cheap advertising vis Barters, we probably pay top price.
What I am interested in is what RT does with the money? With two exs and two daughters to support was 460k (+ other income) it not enough. Pure greed or an other issue?
Callan is covering it. No need to cancel it just yet. Why the rush to bring the hammer all the way down here?
maybe just rename it
Why would he need to be supporting two ex’s?
married once and divorced. I’m sure all the financial arrangements have been sorted with that.
surely he has no financial obligations to an ex (not married) partner?
aren’t both his daughters adults now as well?
Conor Moore could be a welcome successor to ‘Callan’s Kicks’, if Callan does take over Tubridy’s show.
Don’t think it would have any bearings on the “ratings”. As I’ve stated previously, RTÉ listeners listen to RTÉ, the dial never moves and the radio is rarely turned off. A much bigger problem, than this sideshow, for the station is coming down the tracks in the next 15-20 years when those radios will be turned off for good.
Plus, Moore would probably stay in the UK if there’s a salary cap or reduction brought in, which you could understand. Top impressionist, though. Far superior to Callan.
What's the point of an hour long filler between the news and CB show? I never listen but I gather (if Oliver Callan is standing in) that it is full of inane cr@p in the lead in to the BIG STAR Claire. Newstalk doesn't seem to need a filler like that. I would listen to something on travel, history, a round up of the goings on "down the country" and so on. But sure what do I know?
She has been in RTE for donkey's years now, she is part of the whole culture of the organisation. The selective airing of some topics but not others , that will all stay under her remit. There seems to be a campaign to get her in there now because all the journos are afraid of actual real reform in the organisation. They just want all the financial stuff cleaned up but the existing culture in RTE to remain intact. Its the whole culture in RTE that is now toxic and needs a clean out and fresh air blown threw it. Emma O Kelly is definetly not that person
If you are going to demand better from better from public representatives you should add lee as I be criticizing Verona Murphy and her shouty playing to the gallery performance. She engaged in firing hypotheticals and demanding actions for things that hanker actually happened yet. It’s funny how there’s bo criticism coming from your corner regarding gee performance. Is that because she’s a Toyman supporter?
I am neither justifying it nor condemning it I just gave an opinion the way it works. It all included in the overall package. Its generally the way executives are hired nowadays it will include health insurance, maybe a gym ( health and wellbeing allowance), telecommunication package, working from home expenses etc
No sole traders account for all car expenses in there accounts. They are usually allowed around 66% for business and 33% for personal use
That is a blatant attempt to downplay and justify what’s happened here.
Barter accounts are standard yes, and they’re used for the exchange of goods and services.
THEY ARE NOT USED TO SIPHON MONEY INTO OTHER PEOPLE’S ACCOUNTS.
O’Reilly himself said that,
But sure lads all Ryan and Noelie have to say is they have dickie tummys and cant attend. Or pull the mental health card. The mental health card will cover them for the forseeable.
We'll never see them in front of the td's. 100% guaranteed.
Radio1 has seven shows between nine and seven. Newstalk has four.
Two one hour shows,an hour and half for Darcy and even less for Joe. All on extravagant wages for the pleasure.
Yes. Her as well. Who/what is gee?
I knew you’d miss me….
I've just googled ichabod, it means without honour.
Rather apt as is happens.