Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
That too.
Well you sure do sound like a NKM acolyte.
In a statement on Friday on the payments issue, Mr Tubridy referred to "several reductions in salary" he had taken during his career at the State broadcaster, noting a drop of approximately 40% since 2012, when he earned a career-high of €752,950.
However, Mr Tubridy’s pay had increased by 41.1% in the four years leading up to 2012, according to a variety of published sources, including RTÉ.
His pay went from a reported €533,333 in 2008 to €752,950 in 2012.
He began presenting the Late Late Show in 2009 and that year, as RTÉ was cutting the pay of ordinary staff by 6% in the face of a 68% budget shortfall, the broadcaster sought substantial cuts from its top ten presenters.
Mr Tubridy announced that an amendment to his legal affairs “allows me to join my colleagues, who are all facing tough times, by taking a 10% pay cut”.
When Mr Tubridy took the 10% pay cut to which he committed in March 2009, is not immediately obvious.
In 2009 he is recorded as earning €519,667 — a cut of 2.56% on his 2008 pay.
The €645,500 earnings RTÉ declared he earned in 2010 were a 24.2% increase on what the broadcaster said he had been paid in 2009.
Meanwhile, the €723,000 RTÉ said he earned in 2011 was a 12% increase on the previous year.
Spare a thought for the hundreds of TV licence inspectors around the country who have been made redundant...... Jehovah's might be recruiting???
Speak softly, love
And hold me warm against your heart
RTÉ learn nothing. No concept at all of acting in the publics best interest. Cut by almost two months…
Kielty gets paid slightly less but will do a tonne less shows…. 20,000 in expenses too to be paid….
Just pull the plug on it now. Wait 18 months, rebrand and restructure. Not bloody rocket science.
Might be worth noting that employees cannot be just let go. RTE could be stuck with a few more turkeys than Dustin. On balance I'd prefer nearly all were employees, just keep the wages realistic.
Thinking back over the last few days, oh, the story that has slowly been dragged into the light. And what a biblical mess it is - with more revelations perhaps to come next week, especially if RT, NK and maybe even DF appear at one or both of the Oireachtas committees.
I suspect no one will know anything about who suggested what to whom and when about the shimmy with the €75 “grand” or the laundry options available via the barter account. The Chief of a yet-to-be discovered Amazon tribe would probably be able (and willing!) to provide more information. It’s impossible not to feel sorry for those who work in RTÉ and have no part in this shambolic situation. I do hope some good comes out of this whole debacle.
How many have cancelled their direct debit for the tubby tax?
Thank you for proving my point; he got a pay cut of 40% in 2012. What happened before that is hardly relevant.
Nearly all? They should all be employees.
They could come up with bonus structure or zero hour contracts for these presenters to avoid situation where they are stuck paying big bucks until retirement cos of one high profile gig.
Or if they stick with current approach have a pay cap, tight procurement rules etc.
It would be too messy from them to leave him before their contracts are up, but I would not want to have NK to be negotiating a new contract for me. The new DG/Board is going to have to make a show of standing up to him. He has really messed up a good thing.
To suggest that RT hasn't been involved in the cover up is disengenuous to say the least. He has known for years that his published renumeration is not the renumeration he has been receiving.
His image is forever tarnished by his action and inaction in equal measure. He is finished as a host.
Members of RTE staff are of course most likely more to blame for what has gone on but that doesn't absolve Tubridy of blame.
A lot of people are extremely disappointed by his behaviour to say the least.
So no programming should be eponymous. GB wasn't the first LLS presenter and never had his name on it.
Really? Who was?
It's entirely relevant because he stated 10% when Jobs and salaries were being cut during a recession. He pretended to take pay cuts in solidarity. He is a fake.
Don't see anyone special there, in fact they're all extremely ordinary.
They can all be REPLACED! I've often noticed that people working on local radio sound more interesting and interested than many in RTE.
And yet not a single relevant organisation or person (ie not the headers online) has implicated Ryan Tubridy. Why not? Tell me why that is.
I think it was Frank Hall, but stand to be corrected.
Did you miss that he took a 40% cut in 2012?
Jaysus. You are rotting my bollix on a friday night.
The flagship weekly prime time entertainment show of the state broadcaster is cut by just shy of two months to suit the new guy…..
ok….. what a start. Brilliant….
Covering his own travel costs ? Wow…. He’s doing us a favour by spending his own money to get to work. 🤯 genuflect ! Quick ! What a guy….
ohhh and spunking for his own hotel stay too….I’m tearing up here…. the humblebrag of the decade.
Meanwhile Ryan probably ends up back on tv with some redeeming mental health angle in about a year… giving 10% to charity …
Why has he been taken off air?
Why would they need to implicate him? It is as obvious as the nose on one's face that he has covered up the fact that his published renumeration is not reflective of his actual renumeration......he had many chances to correct the record on this or bring it to the attention of his employers.
I am not absolving rte of blame here. Obviously agents of the organisation acted inappropriately at best and ultimately it is they that hold the purse strings.
Headers online?
An entirely prejudicial bad faith argument.
There have been multiple calls for Tubridy to appear before PAC - from TDs and the union NUJ.
If he did nothing wrong why is he off air? Why would he be talked about wrt PAC questioning?
He has no benefit of the doubt here. The onus is on him to establish he was not implicated in the setup of this ploy of deception which benefitted him.
Sorry. I’m a bit slow. Old age, etc. Can someone explain to me how this conversation has morphed from RTE making substantial monies from competitions on premium number phone numbers, into a conversation about some lad, probably with the surname Tubridy, talking about putting scratch cards into coffins? Has the plot been lost?
No. His pay had become absolutely extortionate after massive pay increases during years of austerity and years where RTE were making big losses. He had lied about pay cuts during those years too. It didn't take long for the salary to rocket up again and the secret payments to start.
This man is spot on and I have registered to say this. Anybody defending Tubridy needs to take a long hard look at themselves