RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭techman1

The "green agenda " stuff with the "climate emergency " stuff etc etc is being used as a way of burying important news and stories that RTE don't want to cover because it doesn't suit their agenda. I remember before this scandal broke prime time did a trivia piece on sleeper trains in Europe making a come back because Europe was clamping down on short haul flights. Of course they had to send a prime time presenter to Brussels or somewhere to test out one of these sleeper trains

What relevance is a silly piece like that got to do with an Irish viewer where there are no sleeper trains and the one luxury sleeper train " the hibernian" was wound up completely during covid because there were no tourists here but that never got any RTE coverage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,996 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Extremely weak leadership. Little fiefdoms in RTE. Zero governance or oversight. Chairwoman asleep. CFO who doesn't know his job.

But lots and lots of "Talent".

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,820 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Joe/a researcher is reading boards...I am convinced, he just corrected his mistake around Anne O Leary who was at PAC yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

That's not it at all. That's an okaying of the issues that is a huge part of the cultural problem.

There's mass abuse of tax payers money, using elaborate, clandestine methods of pay, during Covid. Faking pay cuts. Top ups. Inordinate amounts of tax payer money paid for sponsor junkets. Paying for Ryan T/Renault events out of the tax payer's pockets. It's all underhand and criminal, using a sucker fish agent to wring and wring as much tax payer money as possible that also suffered transfer percentages through accounts in other countries to disguise said payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭chicorytip

I think the only scandal here is the squandering of public money on inquiries to investigate this non-issue. There is no corruption in RTE or the media generally. What we had was a little bit of creative accounting. No public money was stolen or actual crime committed although you could certainly claim that the manner in which transactions were accounted for was deceitful but that's hardly a heinous crime.

I was actually very impressed with the manner in which the RTE executives gave their evidence and the truthfulness of what they said in answer to the often incoherent questions asked by their inquisitors.

I think that the hubris and arrogance of just three individuals stands at the heart of this and not the entire RTE organisation. Forbes, Tubs and Kelly obviously have a very close friendship with one another which has been mutually beneficial for all three. A cosy cartel. The problem was that the power and influence they enjoyed made them think they could do what they liked and they behaved recklessly and with bad judgement, never expecting any negative consequences would ensue either for themselves or for RTE as an entity. Now, the career of one lies in tatters and the future career prospects of two more will be severely hampered. RTE will survive and become stronger as a result of more rigorous management practices which will arise from this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

The NKM homepage is back up. It's received a tacky revamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Just on a point of clarity here, I’m not ex-RTÉ, I never worked there. I have had professional dealings with RTÉ for almost 30 years now, but I am not an ex-employee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

RTE have a press office and specializes in media - but have hired a media company to deal with current enquiries.

You couldn't make it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,165 ✭✭✭✭walshb

So when there are cuffs on RTE, wake me up.

I don’t disagree at all that “suspect” and “shady” carry on happens. I know it does, and I don’t agree with it. My point is that it seems to be “covered” and “legal.”

It’s rife in life..

You could list pages of activities/actions that happen that you could argue as bent, shady, amoral n all that; but bottom line is can it be shown to be corrupt/illegal?

One I read, and apologies to any AGS members, is that if a Garda is on vacation and cannot avail of OT, he/she is paid an allowance. That’s just one… to me it seems ludicrous. But it’s not near illegal.

In relation to this affair: It’s highly unlikely PAC will bring about any RTE staff prosecuted for criminal offences. And even thinking this seems to annoy some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

What? You mean he was sent to elocution classes by his mammy? Duffy is a Dub whilst Darcy is Kildare, Creedon is Cork.

It’s not how someone utters their phrases, it’s what comes out. And in Tubridy’s case, self indulgent inanities predominated. Note past tense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,165 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think you’ve made your point. Ray and Joe are better broadcasters than RT. I think he’s pretty poor as well. We’ll leave it there so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

You would like a binary answer? Is this a court of law? I must have missed that part.

I have answered most of your questions so far but you haven’t asked the question asked of you by another poster, and now me:

Have you any connection with RTÉ, NKM, Noel Kelly himself, or any of his clients?

I’ll happily answer your question after you answer that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Karppi

I've certainly heard her before, in her capacity as a Union representative, bringing up issues. But the way the system works is that they first go to the company, raise their grievances etc. These then neatly get put into an internal process within RTE which is undoubtedly designed to bog the whole thing down for as long as possible, undertake enquiries, look for comparators, blah, blah, blah, and basically do somewhere between nothing and bugger all about it.

Walking out and striking is not possible on a whim. I'd say the NUJ members are fed up to the back teeth of being given the run around, of hearing about how parlous RTE's finances are, why they can't have equipment that works let alone technicians to use it. All this omni-shambles sh1te that exploding at the moment must be the straw that's breaking the camel's back. I don't blame her (or anyone else in the "doing" part of RTE) for being rightly angry about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭thomas 123

So your one of the talent with your own company and not tax compliment 🤣🤣🤣

It’s Marty morrisy lads - I’ve cracked it!

6004DE38-4BE3-4BC6-9E32-46B9DB231F4A.jpeg

This would explain all the phone numbers - delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Field east

RTE had to go outside because all the potential candidates inside actually said that they were not interested while giving - lame- excuses. Eg family , happy where I am , etc. I wonder did they know something that put them off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,669 ✭✭✭baldbear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,492 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Bring Bill O’Herilhy back - ‘We’ll leave it there so.

-

I was thinking all this RTE craic would make a great film - Pat Short as Mattie McGrath for a start!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Karppi

Did that +100k figure come from the same place that Anglo Iirish's erstwhile David Drumm picked that €7bn figure from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jinny_Cat

On the Rugby Tickets, isn't Tubridy'd brother head of corporate affairs at the IRFU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Sorolla

You really missed a chance to give the ultimate answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Field east

Or the conditions, material supplies, etc, therein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

NK has inordinate influence at RTE. If you tell Tubridy go jump, NK could potentially make life difficult for DGs, etc at RTE because of everyone else he represents at RTE.

The dealing with agents has to end. Everyone has to be brought on board as an RTE full time employee with a salary cap of 200k.

As for exonerating Tubs, you've been banging that drum for a while now. Tubs innocent, did nothing wrong, etc.

RTE wouldn't be in this mess if it wasn't for him pressuring for more money. And I don't buy the BS that Tubs had nothing to do with demanding more money. He obviously did. Agents do not act independently of the wishes of their clients. He's as guilty as NK and Forbes. And if he wasn't he'd be into the PAC in a flash. But he won't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Just as an aside, 100k is a decent salary in Dublin, but it’s very very far from mega high earner territory these days. Most people I know would be there or above. I wouldn’t get too caught up on it.