Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Not necessarily.
Oral agreements don't mean squat is business afaik.
If it ain't in writing it doesn't exist.
A member of the RTE board out in public.
The Director of Legal Affairs said:
RTE Director of Legal Affairs, Paula Mullooley, says she does not believe Ryan Tubridy has a contract to present his radio show. “There may be an oral agreement as to what he’s being paid”.
Yeh, but he trousered €81k for himself in the process , probably justified fee for his ingenuity.
Agree, especially re RTE/NK showing those African nations the way forward! I did like Verona's contribution though, she certainly ramped up the tension and rattled acting-DG Lynch.
Also credit due to the questioners and chair today - much much better than yesterday.
Dee Forbes being duped into believing Tubridy's worth to rte was worth her fecking away her career over, that is her own issue to come to terms with and anything that was illegal will be resolved hopefully.
I hope the golden circle in rte is broken and this is a catalyst for real change. This wasnt all done on Dee's watch. I'd imagine theres lots of fellas on fat pensions who wined and dined on the slush fund regularly since Italia 90! they might have a pang of guilt but wont be answerable to anything.
But the worker representative at the PAC, who was nearly in tears, today said that staff are lucky to get a free copy of the RTE Guide and no chance of the Christmas edition. So was he misinformed the PAC or were these people higher ups in the organisation?
There is some seriously dodgy $hit going on, because the level of deceit and ridiculous stories peddled from some of them today was like something you would hear a child in high infants trying to come out with after they had gotten in trouble.
Some of them there today literally made absolute total fools of themselves instead of actually stating just facts.
Something was and is going on.
It’s not only the accent, it’s his merry band of cronies he has on and his huge arrogance
No, I think that was a side hustle - a different stroke to the Tubs 75k x 2/3
There were other payments, he "consulted" about the effects of Covid and dealing with agents. But hey, it's only public so who gives a ****, certainly not senior management in RTÉ anyway.
I missed parts of the committee hearing, but I thought the payments to Noel Kelly for consultancy fees were actually the extra payments to Tubridy (to create false invoices), rather than actual consultancy fees for NK? Or were there other payments?
The most viral moment today is that absolute boll*x Collins not knowing his exact salary.
But then admitting it is a massive 200 grand plus a 25 grand car allowance.
I suspect a large percentage of the population will have seen that clip by the end of the day.
Why are the two gov committees giving an out to the RTE employees/ board members by quiet often asking questions/ talking about what they will do in the future. All conversations/ questions should be focused on what happened etc, etc, etc, etc. The RTE attendees will babble away about the future if allowed and will help them to be seen in a better light
I think they’re trying to resurrect “play the game”, guesses, charades, big hand gestures and at the end of it, a load of huff and puff for nothing. See you again next time.
defundrte is about the only answer, let them sink or swim with commercial only income.
My brief take on today
Dee Forbes and Noel Kelly have a very, very close relationship to the point that imo, there may be criminal charges pending
RTE actually paid Noel Kelly (as a consultant) to advise RTE on the best way to give more business and money to Noel Kelly - Even the West African countries haven't managed to pull that stroke
Siun - seems decent enough but not cut out for the cesspit that is RTE - Pottering about pruning roses more suitable
Collins CFO - Basically at trainee accountant level and on €225k pa - cannot be allowed to remain
Coveney - wearing a special high-tech invisibility suit
Munster - good, but didn't know when to shut up just as somebody was squirming or about to hang themselves
Verona Murphy - a contribution akin to :- FIFTEEN YEARS OF MY LIFE I'VE GIVEN YOU, FIFTEEN YEARS, LOOK AT ME NOW, LOOK AT ME, I'M IN BITS *drops wine glass* FIFTEEN F***IN YEARS YOU BASTARD *picks up half full pint glass of warm guinness* BASTARD! AND I’LL TELL YOU ANOTHER THING…*goes unconscious*
Stanley (PAC chair) - way too soft considering the information at his disposal
Did the committee ask for a detailed breakdown of who was brought on the junkets, I wonder was Nk or his team included.
If that’s the case well then maybe RTE were absented from the applying good governance practices by the relevant department. These two gov committees are NOT ASKING THE RIGHT QUESTIONS !,,,,,,!,,,,,,
Who would have known at the time that Noel Kelly was the foremost expert in Ireland on dealing with once in a lifetime pandemics, and not only that it required large amounts of public money to be thrown at him to dispense his wisdom.
RTE has always been a law unto themselves, run with Haughey-esque arrogance, the nonchalance of turkeys not voting for christmas. Akin to Delaney in the FAI. Conceited and deluded but powerful enough to believe their own hype of what they were worth. Lots of big fish in a small pond, with inflated senses of self worth.
I am not surprised, but disappointed on 2 fronts-
1 - RTE has so much potential it is just sad how badly has been run for decades
2 - I thought Dee Forbes as an experienced outsider would grasp nettles but instead just got caught up in the rte culture and built on previous rte mistakes. this culture pre-dated her arrival and while she has made errors of judgement And deserves to answer for errors, she is being thrown under a bus unfairly in my opinion as there are much much more than her complicit in being frivilous with tax-payers money. It isn't the same as owning your own business or any business where you have a fund for entertaining clients. We're a small country with RTE pretty much a monopoly, not much need for entertaining clients!! i'd prefer if they concentrated on entertaining audiences!!
Hopefully this will lead to better governance, and investment in the arts and public service broadcasting. It is worth investing in, if you can ensure money is well spent, as we are a creative and vibrant country.
All 'talent' should just be recruited on the same pay scales as nurses/gardai/teachers going forward and it'd solve a lot of problems!! Ironically there would be no shortage of applicants or staff shortages...
Or the rte guide.
Very good 'day in court' today for DG Dee. These RTE execs are already looking ready to turn on each other, LOL!!
CFO and Commercial director: are toast.
Chair Siun: on v v thin ice
Lawyer lady: was being helpful in that oh-so lawyerly way (i.e. sc*m)
Coveney spare: who knows/cares (but at least he's not pleaded guilty to criminal charges, phew eh Simon!)
Acting-DG Lynch: might survive only on the basis they can't all be fired
Ah you know the old saying, never promote anyone more competent than yourself.
The CFO said it was for advice on how to deal with agents - specifically and only Kelly himself - during Covid!
I know it sounds ridiculous and incredulous but NOT making that up.
He was taken on to stay quiet and do what Dee told him
Or the price of a bus home - let alone a special bus rented out especially for the special executive.
Did Tubridy not break his contract when he stopped presenting the LLS?
At long last and should request all board and executive committee minutes while he is at it. The report as to the outcome of the consultancy servicecarried out by NK during Covid should also be requested . This was apparently about advising RTE how to improve some aspect of its management.
I wonder how many cleaners or secretaries at rte got tickets to U2, to the Japan World Cup , to the CL final or the K Club?
If I was a betting man......