Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
I don't think that is accurate, they thought they got a very good deal though I would say...doesn't look as good now to be fair...
I doubt they were aware their sponsorship was an elaborate ruse to disguise the fact that RT didn't take a hit to his salary.
But at the same time they were happy to act as a middle man in the 75 grand a year fiasco
QQQQ... if you wer Dee Forbes, would you not wanna go in a speak up? (as they are all saying that she's the only one who knew stuff) or do ye think she has signed a non disclosure agreement or something? after all - she was asked to resign a week before the deluge occurred (it seems)
Ah sure, none of them knew. Wasn't it all Dee's fault? 🙄🙄🙄🙄
Did Renault explain why they pulled out of the arrangement? Covid? Not generating interest in Renault? Their auditors smelled a rat?
Well not all state agencies are lacking in financial controls.
Although in general, it is very easy to be flippant and careless with other perople's money especially if nobody is held to account and proper controls are lacking.
Yesterday's explaination that RTE departments have been operating in silos is just crazy. How one department in RTE could be operating a totally separate system to record barter exchange transactions and that didn't come under the control of the finance department beggars belief.
Of course, it may be that it was just a record of exchange transactions between RTE and other parties including NK management and no actual money payments were made because afaik, there are still no details whether that barter account had a separate bank account or not. If there was a separate bank account, who were the authorised signatories on the account and what else was paid from it?
Every company is obliged to carry on their business in compliance with ALL legal requirements and financial transactions are up front and central to that - that's why they are regulated and audited every year. It would make people wonder what else was going on?
I feel sorry for Renault (a bit, anyway) "they are loyal, fair and good people". I'm sure that's true, and they must be seriously p*ssed to be associated with this particular clusterfcuk
I do
What a load of bullshit that was.
I still can't believe smart people fell for that crap, every eejit in RTE became epidemiologists at that time, spouting out medical advice, those 2 eejits here, how people watch RTE after below, one them is a doctor ffs
When I think back to the lockdowns, those useless masks, the vaccine passports, the discrimination shown to the people who didn't want a vaccine who couldn't go do basic things like eating, drinking, exercise indoors while the staff didn't even need a vaccine, the science was such flawed rubbish, mask on, mask off at restaurants etc
Anyone that went along with that rubbish is a disgrace
Ha comments closed...the only one you can still see is three heart emojis from...Doireann Garrihy...you guessed it...yet another NK client
I had seen it earlier though. 🤣🤣
You can't be too careful, if any of the hoi polloi managed to infiltrate these events they might wipe the grease off their hands onto the upholstery of Ryan's free car.
He wouldn't exactly be safe tootling around on his Vespa during these trying times, and where would we be then? I think we all agree it's best that RTE pay to ensure these are civilised affairs and protect brightest of stars ever to grace our screens.
Noel Kelly tells them what the numbers are and then they fake up a report for the government, routed through a UK polling company of course.
It would actually make you sick the way they treat our money. Id suspect most TV license payers haven’t had a cocktail let alone a Canapé in quite some time as they are worried about keeping oil in the tank and food on the table.
Scum.
im trying to find posts from the 47k Renault shindig but came across this 😂
Correction : Paid for by the taxpayer.
Every little piece of cynical exaggeration in these here threads has turned out to be an underestimation of the underlying truth.
I am curious, how do RTE calculate radio listener numbers? I mean I have a manky little radio beside me here at work - how do they pick up my listening data?
You aren't wrong...
I really don't think that's the case at all. The JNLR figure for the Ryan Tubridy Show includes Radio 1's 9 o'clock bulletin. Probably the most listened to spot on R1 after the 8am bulletin. Take that out of the figure for the RT Show and I'd say it's still a large but reduced number listening in that hour.
After a small period of adjustment, with the right talent and production, RT just will be a figure on Reelin' in the Years, at teatime every summer for the next 20 years.
But would it really (leave a big hole)? Yes if one applies the NKM line that listerners are loyal to the personality, but I doubt if Oliver Callan has hemmoraged listeners in the last week no more than Sean O'Rourke's retirement of Marian's sudden death did for their respective programs. It is relatively easy to get someone to fill the void who will establish themselves in the spot relatively quickly (or invariably have a track record of covering for the incumbent during their considerable absences!)
I'd say every marketing/advertising/graphic design company in D4 is already working on their pitch for the expensive rebrand that management will decide is the "solution" to this (see FÁS -> Solas for precedence).
They tend to have the odd hearing aid ad as well....synergy!
The sandwiches were handmade by Derry Clarke of l’Ecrivain.
I am joking btw……but…..Clarke, a chef, is represented by…..NKM.
one of my “favourite” sponsorships over the years…..and a long-recurring joke on The LiveLine Radio Thread…..was that l’Ecrivain at one point had a sponsorship deal for its kitchen! It was officially called “The Samsung Kitchen @ l’Ecrivain”. I’m not making this up! Guess who was behind that?
Ok people keep saying that....but where are these better advertisers on liveline?! Have you listened to it recently?
As I pointed out the majority of ads are for other RTE radio shows, RTE concert orchestra, and govt of Ireland ones.
The demographics of the listeners matters massively to advertisers as well. There are very highly prized demographics and I doubt liveline hits the majority of them....hence the lack of actual high in quality ads...
the real question for me is that I presume this attitude permeates through all of the semi states, hse, civil service. its not surprising that we spend so much and get so little back. reminds of the deal houlihan nearly got seems us peasants are just here for the tax.
It was obviously done to ensure the other presenters did not see Tubs true salary. Then they would have been looking for this rate as well.
Otherwise why not just declare his true pay ?
That is why Tubs never corrected the record.
Canapés and cocktails, dahling, for the luvvies.
One simply couldn't expect them to nibble delicately on a ham and cheese sandwich, the horror!
….
And fire in some sausage rolls too 😂