Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
I think it's the staff that have had enough because they could have killed this story if they wanted to.
Instead, it looks like years of simmering anger has now boiled over. I suppose you'll get that when they hear the person that needs the money least is getting more, while they have to fight to get their broken chair replaced.
Powerful stuff alright. Gaybo handled it so well and was put on the back foot by the poor mother. RT would have loved a similar opportunity but he would have completely messed it up with his fake empathy.
In addition to a salary, does any RTE presenter get a sponsored car or other benefits that would not show up in the salary figure?
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
So, poor Dee is too ill to attend the Oireactas Committee.
Well, that isn't even the least bit suspicious ...
So they are going full pelt with the mental health card as a follow up to yesterday's statement.
I'm sorry - as someone who has seen many people succumb to mental health issues because of poor services or the economic crash this utter opportunism absolutely sickens me.
It is disengenous to people with real mental health issues.
God protect her from harm. I hope some underlings give her a phone call before it all gets out of hand
People like this who play the mental health card are a disgrace.
They do a real disservice to those people who genuinely struggle with mental health issues.
Why doesn't she just say, "I won't be attending" and leave it at that.
They should call her bluff and give her another date in 2 weeks time.
In fairness to Jess Kelly, she is an employee of Newstalk and has been for ages. Our paths have crossed at various times in the past at various events we attended as journalists and she is a decent auld skin.
Dee is now saying for health reasons she can't attend any hearings this week. If this is the case why not get her to produce a doctors note so that we can see her bona fides.
Jess is listed on the NKM website.......
Not trying to be impolite, just stating a fact on the above. I hope you accept my sincerity on this?
As for Forbes, she's shown her true colours and character.
Ah sure look at the guests...RT prob would have Davy Fitz or his ilk on. The late late hasn't been worth watching since Pat Kenny left.
Say the lad who thinks that Gerry Ryan was some radio messiah...you're a gas man, Cluedo.
Oh I know she is an NKM client and this is not for her NT contract but her for external work she does such as hosting events or chairing panels at various events.
I can’t say I’d be too worried about his health honestly
look if he was poorer maybe but something tells me Ryan Tubirdy scarcely has to worry about seeing the doctor. Unlike us mere mortals who might need to skip a GP visit or filling a prescription because the ESB bill is due or whatever.
Yes. They have brand deals with car companies and are "Brand Ambassadors". These are SEPARATE from fees and are negotiated with the car companies directly - nothing to do with RTE. And you'll be shocked to see who specialises in such arrangements! NKM! I know right? Who'd have thought?
I can't comment on who's getting what NOW but over the years:
Pat Kenny had a long-running relationship with BMW
Tubs had (past tense) a relationship with Lexus.
Katherine Thomas had a relationship with Audi, now I believe Volvo provide her vehicle.
There's many more........
Just on a point of interest here, I was warned by a now departed mod from talking about these arrangements previously. I wonder why?
When the whole country is watching your every move and negatively scrutinizing and commenting on all you have done, it would have to have some impact on your mental health.
These people are not robots. They are still people with thoughts and emotions and feelings and worries and anxieties.
I am one who fully believes that the "metal health" angle is insanely over-played of late, but I am not going to say that Dee Forbes is telling porkies here. I'd imagine her mental health is very much being tested.
the fact that dee forbes has spent her entire tenure trying to get the license fee increased is all you need to know about her.
I don't understand this is there something wrong with having an agent?
Do you have one?
This seems to be more than just an agent. This is a company providing services to RTE.
I'll be entirely clear here and nail my colours to the wall. Tubridy and Kelly took the money and the deal on offer and can't be faulted for that per say. RTE were willing to give him that sort of cash and the responsibility for this utter circus lies entirely with them and their failure to publish the correct figures.
Tubridy had for years painted himself as a moral crusader. He told us all how we should be living our lives and how we should be treating one another. He railed against lads during covid who might have taken on a nixer to feed the family. The same lads were accused by many of contributing to the death rate and spread of covid. He was part of the RTE team who drove that fear through people and he also targeted people who wouldn't be vaccinated with the same sort of campaign. He has always preached at how bad society was and how much was wrong with it. That was literally his stick for years.
Based on what his act was I think he is now finished. He was willing to take public money on the QT while expecting lads to feed there family or heat their homes for 300 quid a week whilst lecturing them about their responsibility to society.
This is literally the issue here. That's why he can't come back. If he has anything about him he would offer to do something decent with the money. Either pay it back or whatever. But he won't. Fianna Fail to the core.
This is in the public domain.
Look what I found from 2005 ... did this lead to any changes?
Free car deals enjoyed by RTÉ broadcasters like Pat Kenny, Ryan Tubridy and Gerry Ryan should have to be declared, the Dáil heard tonight... Labour’s communications spokesman Tommy Broughan said Ryan Tubridy had the use of a Lexus car and Pat Kenny and Gerry Ryan both have “relationships” with BMW and Mazda respectively.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30201227.html
Very interesting. About €20k of the €56k expenses seem to have gone on 'entertainment'! That's a lot of sausage rolls in the RTE canteen.
I sometimes wonder how these people manage high power/high stress jobs suddenly develop mental health issues when they have difficult questions to answer.
We're not fools here, she doesn't want to attend and cannot be forced to. For her own credibility she should have just said no, I don't want to attend thanks and left it at that.
WWN has spoken with sources who believe Ryan Tubridy’s agent is currently in negotiations with Oireachtas committees about possible attendances to answer questions regarding concealed payments to the host by RTÉ.
“Ryan’s attendance would strictly count as a ‘personal appearance’ which as we’ve learned in the last few days costs a cool €25k. Noel, Ryan’s agent, is only asking for the fair market value for his client,” explained a source.
It is believed the argument has been made that Tubridy is ‘box office’ and thus an appearance at an Oireachtas committee would bring big audiences and a chance of sponsorship opportunities and increased revenue for the grilling.
“This man could be making appearances before committees for Netflix or HBO such is his supreme talent and unique ability to draw an audience, the Dáil is lucky to have him,” added a source.
https://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2023/06/27/tubridy-willing-to-appear-before-oireachtas-committee-in-exchange-for-e25k-fee/
ok
she lied and abused her position of power but because she feels bad she shouldn’t be held accountable? Rubbish.
Yes, to be in these positions takes a certain type person, someone with confidence, assurance and who is mentally strong; but theye are still human, and depending on the situation, they can still really feel the effects of pressure, particularly such demonizing type of pressure, as is the case here.
Catherine had a deal with Jaguar
Which they brought on themselves!