Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
Are the Tubs payments a type of fraud? A concealed payment.
The list is gas alright and in reality it's actually WAY longer than the one posted because that one stopped a good while ago now and it only includes items mentioned on air. He seems to rarely pay his way and the freebies massage the aul ego. I remember one time hearing him joking about getting a discount on the license fee. He just seems to have "free stuff" on the brain constantly.
The one that stands out for me was the vinyl record he asked for during a week where he was getting other freebies because he was promoting Irish businesses. But the vinyl wasn't even part of that Irish business campaign (which itself just seemed to be a vehicle for freebies). It was just his own sneaky little request that he stuck in there and hoping nobody would call it out. No business was mentioned. It was just something he wanted and he asked could someone please send it to him even though you can easily buy it online. A day later he's bragging about it being sent to him - he didn't even mention the name of the person that sent it in! Then he received complaints and then he claimed to have returned the vinyl to the sender. Only a small example but sums him up nicely I think.
The only thing is no one takes any of those people who ring in to Duffy seriously they generally don't have too much going on upstairs. Anyone investigating the RTE\Tubridy fiasco won't be paying any heed to them.
The only one laughing on that show is Joe Duffy. I can't fathom being payed his salary, higher than a US President, for such a grubby role.
That's brilliant, it is both useful and hillarious. Pissing myself laughing at some of the stuff in there "free bag of marbles - but no steelies".😂
You are really going against Irish, apathetic culture by compiling that list. Shur what's the harm, don't make a fuss, Tubs is a sound lad, Jaysus what sort of weirdo would compile a list like that etc.
It's very Clintonesque.
"I did not know about that money"
"I did indeed know about that money"
At least he doesn't have jizz stains on one of his freebe scarves.
So I am going to astound people. I haven't paid the TV licence since I moved into my new place, I owe 3 years.
I have had several letters reminding me and on final letter about 3 months ago telling me that the inspector was around but I wasn't. This letter caused me to rethink paying the 3 years due. Mainly because I work from home full time, I haven't gone away on holidays and if I do go anywhere it is at the weekend, I might have one day in work a month. Basically I am saying the TV licence inspector has never been to my area. IMO.
I was ready to pay up a week ago, but now, they can wait, most likely I am happy to wait for a summons and pay when I get it.
For those of you using DD for payment stop. For those who got their renewal in the post, don't pay up. And just wait and see what happens. If it is anything like the last 3 years, nothing will happen.
I will update you when I get the next letter or an inspector out.
I saw the above, and thought of this:
Why aren't the Gardai getting involved here? Instead of hundreds of thousands worth of ad revenue going to RTE, it went into Ryan Tubridy's bank account.
If any of us didn't bill a customer and asked for the money to be paid directly to us, we'd be getting done for fraud.
Mod
Warning received for this post.
He'd be a brave man if he goes out and about on it now. 😆
Actually, it's very interesting to note the enthusiasm of his former colleagues to probe the issue, doesn't seem like he had too many friends there. They jumped into it on Prime Time on Thursday, and were hammering their coverage on social media in subsequent days.
On the News At One now, I nearly PMSL at the very long list of people read out, the list of those who were asked for interview and didn't even respond, let alone declined. From memory, it included;
and there were probably a few more. Really sticking the knife in.
They already have?!?!
Oh and he's very fond of the Private Screenings. They were a regular occurrence, all dressed up as "research" and "work" of course.
T'was a Vespa, darling. Italian luxury, you know.
It was long disbanded before then.
As I said in previous post, the freebies are one thing (you could argue he has no control over what people decide to send him), but when it turned into him blatantly and overtly asking for specific things it has to be viewed very differently.
Beats a Centra chicken fillet role for sure.
It is now obvious why Tubridy never asked any politician penetrating questions. Witness that he was the one that Mary Lou allowed interview her. No danger of hard questions! He had too many skeletons in his cupboard. Now RTE will have to find another toothless interviewer for our cosseted politicians
Did they factor in the mo-ped from bono
Bloody hell!
No it was not Seamus Dooley it was the SF TD and chair of the PAC Brian Stanley.
Fionnán Sheehan has never been one for hyperbole either. I think the people making light of what's emerging are enablers and apologists for this low standards, grifting culture within the organisation.
The Prime Time Investigates episode on this one should be interesting.
Getting overpaid 345,000? You should try it sometime.
Bloodhounds? Investigative journalism is not very good in Ireland. Especially, at RTE. Dependent on whistleblowers.
The Freebie List I mentioned from the radio Thread. This was compiled over (from memory) a period of a few months - it's not a 10 year compilation or anything - before the creator (credit to @PieOhMy for same) stopped updating it. During that time some posters complained repeatedly about publishing it or updating it saying it was off topic and other "makey-uppy" reasons - some of them (in fact most) are on this thread now - need I tell you which side of this argument they are on? I obviously don't know if they complained to mods directly or campaigned for same with the moderators - only they know that themselves; but I suspect they did given their behaviour on said thread. The real reason they (I suspect) wanted it censored was that they knew it painted the multi-millionaire tax avoider in a very petty, mean, cheap, and greedy light.
Here's the list as is stood before updates stopped:
Had to come back to post this:
Freebies list beginning 23 September 2020 and ending whenever I last posted, with one new update.
Free Unknown volume of books
Free Bespoke jewellery x 2
Free Essential oils for mask
Free Buns from Bewleys
Free Trip on the Irish Navy ship
Free 8 Glasses cases
Free Accessories for vinyl record player
Free Flowers
Free Yop, Fruit of the Forest and Yakult
Free Holland and Barrett supply
Free Calm App
Free Scents of Ireland commercial air diffuser and scents
Free Epicurean Delights (i.e. Grub)
Free Watercolour
Free Candles
Free Book about Elvis' comeback in 68
Free Waterford Famine Buke
Free Pints
Free Sweets from Shandons
Free Loose leaf tea
Free Bread knives
Free Candles possibly wickless candles
Free Teapot
Free Vinyl record (Beatles/McCartney)
Free Tea brack
Free Cards
Free More cards (rejected - Catholics need not apply)
Free Halloween masks
Free Cufflinks (monogrammed for Tubridy, of course)
Free Fudge
Free Southern Star newspaper
Free Opinion magazine
Free Print from book (gorgeous, apparently)
Free Crisps and Earplugs
Free Greetings cards
Free Beatles book
Free Bottle with fairy lights
Free Hot Chocolate Bomb
Free Personalised Christmas Stocking
Free Novelty Mug
Free Handmade Scarf (moss green in colour, and long)
Free multiple handmade Christmas Cards
Free John Banville Book (delivered personally to him while shopping)
Free Barack Obama autobiography (extremely large and heavy)
Free box of Lindt chocolates (only 8 in box, Tubs not happy)
Free Face mask from Chester Beatty
Free Books
Free Paul McCartney poster
Free Aerial photography coffee table book
Free Christmas jumper
Free Waterford Festive Star (a magazine)
Free Holly Bough (a Cork annual)
Free Santa Beard Face Mask
Free Chocolates from Bean & Goose (called out paucity of Lindt in their freebie, again)
Free Art from Trish Taylor Thompson (something visual)
Free Books (from “listener” doing her Marie Kondo clearout)
Free Shandon Sweets, again
Free invite to chess convention
Free Lighthouse Book
Free chess lessons
Free Book (Elf Isolation)
Free crate of Club Orange
Free Bag of Marbles, (but no "steelies", much to Tubs' chagrin)
Free Ireland's Own Annual
Free Band Aid vinyl single, with beautiful artwork (Tubridy checked artwork was included, before accepting it).
Free Paul McCartney - Back in the USSR vinyl album.
Free Box of Turf
Free Puffin Christmas Decorations
Free Puffin Christmas Cards
Free Puffin T Shirt
Free Meal in Kilmore Quay
Free Motivational Quote Cards
Free Book (Dauntless Courage)
Free CD
Free Personal Guided Tour of St Patrick's Cathedral.
Free Hand crafted Gin
Free Crystal Glasses set
Free Cocktails
Free Craft Beer Selection
Free Visit to brewery
Free "County Mayo in a Jar" x 2 (Wool, Shells, etc)
Free Vintage 1955 Comic (original copy)
Free Personalised Water bottle
Free White Vinyl Christmas record
Free Handmade Cards
Free Magazine about schools during Covid
Free Donegal Calendar
Free Bird Calendar (includes Puffin)
Free Fry’s Chocolate Bars – 4 pack - (Passed over to Mater Tubridy)
Free Patricia Gibney Book
Free Terry Reilly book – Ballina People
Free signed Rick Stein in France book
Free American edition of Liz Nugent Book
Free Frederick Douglass book (as asked for earlier this week, but no mention of payment).
Free Sanatorium (Abi Palmer) book
Free Robert Harris Book V2
Free Coffee Beans
Free Grand Canal to Dodder Book
Free Murder Mutiny and the Muglins Book
Free Smart Cooking Books – both editions.
Free Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan book.
Free Sherlock Holmes walking stick
Free Jenny Wren S’mores kit
Free chocolate bunny
Free tour of St patricks cathedral
Free walking tour of Dublin
Free currach trip on the liffey.
Free gift bag from St Patrick's
Free tour of Rowntree's factory
Free stay in Kerry Hotel
Free bog Oak tea light holder
Free Hand made muppet toy
Irish country magazine and pen
Braile book
New York magazine (succession edition)
Free lunch post toy show
Free preview copies of books
Private Screening of Belfast "for work reasons"
Hand carved walking stick
Free daffodils
Braille keyring / Patrick and the president
Advance screening of Elvis movie
Free water bottles
New FREE Headphones
New FREE Chair
New FREE Carpet
FREE BIKE LOCK
Request that his radio team link up with the Late Late Show team to have a birthday whip around to get him to Florida to see a Paul Mccarthy gig.
Free Madigans scarf
Free rolling stones ballet tickets
Free Sweets hamper delivered to home address
Free preview copy of a book
Free Dior perfume in a robot container
Free Wind in the Willows book
Free ticket for McBeth (taken from a listeners husband Note: this was in NY, not the Bord Gais Energy Theatre or some such place)
A couple of the highlights in bold.
This was and is the tip of the iceberg. It was a running joke ion the thread before some posters were removed from it (myself included).
Good point there, the government should pay RTE's own investigative journalists to expose it all.
I'm delighted that RTE is in disarray and struggling to explain their own corruption. This organisation investigated corruption everywhere else like bloodhounds and now can't seem to explain their own. Sweet sweet justice,
That was the guy from the Union, NUJ I think but not sure. I couldn't believe he kept calling it corruption..which it is obviously but he was the first who wasn't afraid to call it. There must be massive resentment of the "talent" fees and NK's earnings and no love lost for Tubridy anywhere.
345,000 overpayment.......My LC Maths suggest that approx 2,000 TV Licences needed to fund this gubuesque situation.