Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
I haven’t suggested jail sentences, but if you think there will be no fall out or casualties from this you are living on another planet.
By virtue of the suspension imposed on her Forbes’ career is over - in this country at least.
I suspect NKM’s cost relationship will change dramatically too.
And I wouldn’t rule out Tubs never appearing on his radio show again.
But deflect away with your ridiculous examples.
No danger just looking like more of an eejit defending RT and RTE if it transpires what they have suggested isn't actually the case.
I don't think there is even enough information at the moment to back up what the poster has said, specificity about the years 2017 to 2019.
Because he knew fill well about the arrangement. He knew he was paid by whatever corporate sponsor the deal was struck with. He then knew that said sponsor pulled out and that RTE would foot the bill. He knew every aspect of this and took the money gleefully.
Why doesn’t Tubridy come out and do an interview? Explain himself…….why?????
I am suggesting that everyone hold off paying their license until at least the end of the year or when An Post issues a letter for you to pay the license fee, not the renewal but the second letter you get from An Post.
Nothing to do with any report from government or anyone else.
@Spanish Eyes
You claimed this thread is a lot like paddy Cosgraves twitter feed, then followed up with 'Someone with a personal vendetta using faux outrage to further their agenda, it's uncanny' for a thread made up of post from dozens of posters.
Have you been drinking?
What danger could befall him if he is wrong? Why the need to be careful
You might want to be careful suggesting that was the situation without the facts being known.
Good heavens! Where did I go wrong??
Yes the same way in his twitter feed you have a number of posts, varying from the sensible to the not so sensible, taking all this in?
The post I quoted: "This thread is a lot like paddy Cosgraves twitter feed". (emphasis mine)
Dozens of posters have posted in this thread with any number of opinions ranging from the 'nothing burger' to extreme outrage.
Do you still claim that the thread 'is a lot like paddy Cosgraves twitter feed'?
Anyway I look forward to the slew of prosecutions under the companies acts, the investigations by the ODCE and the jail sentences that are being suggested in this thread. I'd expect a perp walk video any hour now.
Or maybe none of that will happen, I wonder what's more likely
Have a look and get back to me
Someone with a personal vendetta using faux outrage to further their agenda, it's uncanny
From the paper of record:
The vast majority of those jailed for not paying TV licence fines last year spent only a few hours in prison, new figures show.
Last year, 242 people were jailed for not paying fines after failing to pay their €160 TV licence.
Figures provided by the Prison Service in response to a freedom of information request show that the 97.5 per cent of those jailed walked free within hours, irrespective of the sentence handed down in court.
The figures show that of the 242 jailed, 236 were jailed for less than one day, with six prisoners staying in jail overnight before walking free.
Those who do not pay the TV licence can face fines of up to €1,000 or a term in prison if the fine is not paid .
Fianna Fáil spokesman for justice Niall Collins yesterday described the jailing of those not paying TV licence fines as "a terrible waste of State time and resources".
The average cost of a prison space in 2012 was €65,404.
The numbers being jailed for non-payment of TV licence has increased dramatically in recent years – the 242 jailed last year compared to 183 jailed in 2011 and represents almost a five-fold increase on the 49 jailed in 2008.
A spokesman for the Irish Prison Service said yesterday: “All prisoners committed to custody on a fine sentence are considered on a case-by-case basis by the Prison Service. When making an determination of whether to hold the person in custody a number of factors are taken into account, including the nature of the offence, the amount of the fine and the length of the sentence and the prisoner’s previous offences.”
He added: “While each case is considered individually, it is the case that fine sentence prisoners generally spend very little time in custody, with the majority being released on the same day. On September 4th, 2013, there were 11 prisoners in custody on a fine sentence.”
The level of non-compliance relating to the non-payment of the €160 TV licences is at 15 per cent. representing an estimated €28.3 million in lost revenues.
An Post collects TV licence fees and last year sold over a million licences, representing €160 million in revenues.
Strange post.
Tubsidy - noun.
' a sum of money paid by a public body, off the books, to an employee, without the knowledge of that employee',
Well that's what happened unfortunately for you, anything can make the news you just need to stir up some outrage
There is something about both that keeps me watching just for the laughs, glad to intrigue you.
And yet you’re still posting on it, intriguing.
New tactic: if the insults and the deflection don’t work, let’s try the absolute ridiculous and see how that lands.
This thread is a lot like paddy Cosgraves twitter feed
genuine lol!
you’ve jumped the shark now, but keep going. This is hilarious!
I thought the David Attenborough comparison earlier would be tough to beat, but you’ve knocked it out of the park.
I worked in a Georgian building in Dublin City Centre years ago and encountered one of these inspectors who let herself into the building by waiting outside til somebody left the office, and she ran in before the door closed.
So breaking and entering for a start.
Then she proceeded to demand my name, I laughed in her face and told her to leave the premises and return by reception to ask her queries. She went absolutely berserk, trying to establish her authority. In the end I just walked off and left her to her search, no skin off my nose.
Given that a fake story about fake tan being cultural appropriation got the same treatment I wouldn't put much store in any of the above
I mean on the face of it they wanted to guarantee their poster boy an extra income. Possibly negotiated by his agent.
Anyhoo looks bad.
It’s no real surprise, when you spend all day (an hour a day and 2 hours on a Fri) pontificating to people and then end up getting caught by the bolloc it generally blows up , like scholfield
Why would RTE have to honour a deal Tubridy made with another party? I'm finding it difficult to comprehend actually and so is the nation.
Re TV license, I once ended up with a thick inspector banging on my apartment door. He had said he was from A Post (showed ID on intercom) and had parcel to deliver into the porch area. I duly let him in. Next moment a bell on my door, he saw the TV and asked me to show license. I said “why are you asking me that when it is on your records I have one?” Then he read out a name and address and said there is no license recorded. The name was of a person in another block on another road. Talk about breaking GDPR, I now knew the same & address of somebody and that there was no license in record for them whether it or not they had a telly. They really are on fairly thin ice legally re how they gain access to people’s homes to “discover” a TV set.
Except Tubs didn't provide any services to the commercial partner after the first year,but continued to receive payments that were guaranteed by RTE.
Call me cynical,but there's a stink coming from somewhere.
I’ve seen tons of little bits during my Google search but came up against paywalls. Busy as feck atm so didn’t try that hard, but saw enough to realise I had been fooling myself into thinking BK is a cool enough guy.