Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
I'd say over Tubs tenure on TLLS I watched less than 5 shows. 2 were Toy Shows, one was the car crash interview with Tom Cruise and I can't remember anything beyond that TBH. I may have commented on other LLS's on the thread, but again it would be a very infrequent thing for me to do.
Radio is my thing.
Genuinely don't recall any of your posts. Sorry.
You see Tubs loves saying "Be Kind" crap, he learned that off Ellen. We know how that ended.
People I find who say this usually would walk all over you and are anything but Kind.
Tom Lyons is one of Irelands best journalists. I have met him on numerous occasions at various journalist get togethers and he comes across as a decent and honourable person willing to expose the truth when it needs to be exposed.
Who asked to inform boards
He works for a public broadcaster, with that comes some requirements. If he doesn't want to release his salary then he can go work for someone else,.
They are not investigating. They are using a "friendly" company which works with them all the tiem which means it will be a fluff report because if they told the truth then RTE wouldn't hire them again. The same company running the report also ran a report to tell RTE who and how to fire people while they gave back door payments to Tubs.
In the reality the rest of us live in, back door payment to fool the public is scandalous, especially when the person in question took them during a payment cut and redundancy campaign
That would be an understatement. I had the displeasure of being seated in front of him at a rugby match in Limerick once. His behaviour and language that day were both appalling. That's the nicest thing I can say about him.
No bother. But on the late late thread I’d be a very regular Tubridy piss-taker, and plenty piss-taking/criticisms on his radio thread as well.
I hope you and the dog are fine.
take care and have a good weekend
If being the main story for 2 days on all of the nationals papers and the No. 1 news topic on radio and TV for 3 days, the DG of the National Broadcaster suspended and politicians from the Taoiseach down commenting on it and the seriousness of it isn't a scandal, can you please enlighten us as to what a scandal is in your eyes?
On a re-read yes, possibly does, but I'm here in the vets now (not a euphemism!).
I should have said:
Nobody died here. So why are you so outraged about people calling out Tubridy's behaviour? Apparently, you're not allowing people to be 'outraged' by Tubridy's behaviour, but you can be outraged by theirs.
So remember. Nobody died. It's just criticism.
Strange isn't it you don't realise your own double standards?
Something doesn't have to be criminal to be worthy of public criticism and scrutiny, and to have career consequences for media roles such as this.
Criminality is not the only metric and never has been for public 'outrage'.
His RTE career is over.
There is no way anyone is listening to his opinion on anything for the next year or two at least and never again on license fee funded media.
I've always paid my license, not a chance am I renewing it this year. When this blows over and RTE are brought to task with new people and transparency throughout and with Tubridy gotten rid of, only then will I consider paying it again
That sounds like a quote from a gangster film 😂
The Currency is reporting that 2 of RTE's biggest advertisers/sponsors are pulling out.
Nope, I haven't, sorry.
Actually, I probably have seen them, but not noticed them enough that I was inclined to seek out that poster's further posts. I'm not saying this to be rude, they obviously didn't stand out in any way or make enough of an impression on me to say to myself "that poster makes a good point".
I honestly thought you were a newbie or a re-reg. Not trying to offend here (again), just being honest.
Oh Jaysus, just googled that, you are right, a b0llix it seems. I only ever saw him being interviewed re his father, pub etc, ca e across as very pleasant. My opinion is changed.
It’s not his role to inform us here. And to what extent were we misled?
This seems to centre on a discrepancy in reporting, not anything remotely approaching scandalous.
and they are still investigating the finer details.
I think we can all admit thousands and thousands of euro show up into our account and we dont care how or why they showed up!!
It was clear on day one what he did wrong, he misled the entire population of Ireland. Him and others in RTE
If that was the case he wouldn't have made the second statement. His initial dismissive response shows he himself though it was a 'nothing burger'. His second statement shows he realized he was wrong. It isn't a 9 / 10 scandal as you say, but it certainly isn't a 1 / 10.
I wouldn’t go that far, but I reckon he is trying to appease and halt this as best he can. He very much likely thinks this is a storm in a teacup; something I’d agree with him on
I think you're partially right in that Tubs is not at all sorry and his "apology" was over-played with fake contrition because he thought he could talk he way out of it.
Unfortunately he's got no ability to put that across because he's a slimy rat creature with all the charm of a rancid sardine.
Advice
What changed his response though? He made the first statement, the 'outrage mob' was already out in force before his first statement. Why did he feel the need to make the second statement?
Surely you’ve seen plenty my posts on radio and tv regarding Tubridy. I’ve seen plenty yours.
Yes. We know. In today’s world people are so cautious of the outrage mob that contrition is way over-played.
Of course they’re “making” it up. That’s the job of media lately. To grossly exaggerate and over/egg and stir up interest in stories that are nothing.
And plenty people lap it up because they thrive on people in powerful and successful positions falling flat on their faces.
simple: scale 1-10 on scandal and seriousness: Garda in cahoots with crime gang is a 9/10. This story? A 1/10
So have I. Be better than them.
Tubridy's second statement, the groveling apology that followed the dismissive initial statement suggests he thinks otherwise.
I have to take my dog to the vet now, I'll be back later.
With respect, I've been called mentally ill and a creep in the past 2 days alone by posters on here. I didn't see you admonishing their posts when they played the man.