The king is dead, long live the king.
Only 102 days to lights out for 2023..
More races then ever before, huge crowds
The Merc dominance certainly didn't hinder growth in last decade
You don't know that though. There are mitigating factors such as drive to survive, and for all you know it could be even more popular if the merc years were more competitive. Anecdotally, I noticed a big uptick in following among my friends after the 2021 season went down to the wire.
I consider myself a fan but I've had much less engagement this year. One of the lads has is around to his for the races. Everyone brings a frozen pizza or chicken dippers and a couple of cans and have the craic watching the races. But we haven't really bothered as much this year. I don't have Sky myself so I only have highlights and I haven't always bothered with them this year either.
The lack of competition is a massive factor in fan engagement.
anyone hearing/reading rumours of leclerc to Aston Martin?
I've seen headlines but didn't click on them. Who do the rumours say he'll replace? And when do they suggest the move would happen? Like next year or 2025 or 26?
I presume leclerc is well under contract so I didn't bother reading.
Seen the lines but pure clickbait imho.. Same crowd seem to be saying Checo will lose his seat if there isn't a podium in next two races. Tabloid "journalism"
yea, I didn't click the link, but 1 of them said it will be when Alonso leaves. so.... next year ?
Its coming out of the mouth of Ralf Schumacher who throws such ideas in and the yellow press makes a rumour out of this brain fart.
You'd think he'd be better off trying to link his nephew to the seat.
Ah, we kinda are to be fair. They are cruising at the front with pace in the bag.
It is as you point out, a great driver in a great car with a great team behind it all. They aren't "slightly" quicker, they are miles ahead.
He is doing this for the AT seat. Saw also toto getting involved but never click those suggested articles from express, mail etc... Mostly nonsense
Marko stating that after Silverstone Riccardo doing a three day tyre Test and then he will be evaluated against Perez who is doing too many errors.
Interesting. Great opportunity for Danny Ric to show that he still has the speed.
Well "slightly" and "miles ahead" are relative terms. My point was that it's not like some other years where there was literally no hope of any team catching the front runners. It's not beyond the realms of possibility that one or two teams will be challenging Red Bull for wins by the end of the season.
I really don't know about that right now.
It reminds me more of 2004 with Michael running off, the only diff to that year would be Perez being so far away at the minute in the same car.
If teams will be challenging RB by the end, it will be because RB have stopped development on this car. It might happen, but right now I do not see that in a straight fight, maybe with some crazy weather or a safety car, but not on a normal Sunday.
Great to see this. No wonder Aston Martin are doing so well. It's the hard work of these Women and luck of the green behind the scenes 🙂
It's race week. Red Bull Ring this weekend.
Verstappen will be fuming that Yuki can do the RedBull event
Hard to know what to make of rumours like this. Worth keeping an eye out to see if it goes anywhere.
What ever happened to the Andretti Caddilic apication? Is that still on going or dead in the water?
Sprint race at that.
Wonder if Alpines new Stakeholder will be down for a gander.
We should know what happens next month.
Kazahkstani mining magnate sounds much more up F1's street than the likes of Andretti and General Motors.
It's extraordinary isnt it? The opposition to Andretti goes straight over my head. You'd think they'd be delighted to have an owner like that interested in F1.
Ryan Reynolds and Rob McElhenney getting into the F1 game now. Nice.
He could corner the American market though, and the other teams don't want that. It's just greed on their part.
Even if he did corner the american market, you'd think it would grow the American market so much that they'd all win. At least you'd think the FIA wouldn't care which team the new American fans support as long as they're watching the sport.
To be fair, Haas hasn't managed to corner the American market. Andretti would have much better brand recognition. I'd love to hear the actual reasons against Andretti from the people who aren't keen on them joining
Aren't they going in with Cadillac as well? They did pretty well at the LeMans recently
They are. Andretti-llac.
With the backing of GM, I really do wonder why F1 aren't really in favour of them.