Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
There's definitely an element of some people wanting to vent and been given a good chance to bash RTE and Tubridy himself - but, tbf, RTE have given them a great opportunity to do so!
The wider and fundamental issue of the whole debacle are the questions that have been raised about the corporate governance, business practices and financial practices at the most high profile organisation in the country - which is publicly funded.
The mind boggles at how such a large sum of money could be effectively unaccounted for over a period of years. No-one seems to know how this happened, why this happened, who signed off on it - if that's even the whole amount, or whether there's going to be lots more to be uncovered as time goes on. RTE is publicly funded and has self-consciously traded on an image of truthfulness and probity, while also speaking of having a funding crisis and while also bestowing pay-cuts on regular staff. But then it turns out that throughout that entire time they've been pissing away hundreds of thousands, totally at odds with published salaries - and all of the processes and decision making behind that left entirely opaque? There's some serious questions to answer there and investigations to be undertook. It's legitimately important that a public service broadcaster receiving public money be held to account in how it conducts its business. That's the real crux of the issue
I'll agree with you that the level of coverage in the story has been multiplied simply because it features Ryan Tubridy. A similar story could have emerged about an executive at RTE or the HSE receiving the same amount - or even more - and while it would still be a huge story, the coverage wouldn't be as wall to wall. The media loves to talk about the media. And, let's face it, we're all entertained by this.
And there's always a danger in that noise that the real meat of the issue - how exactly RTE is run, how public money is used - is somewhat lost and the story becomes about the individual. You can see it already. People are bashing RTE, but there's equally as many, if not more, people bashing Tubridy first and foremost. Tbh I can understand why: it's more engaging and involving to talk about the whole Tubridy side of things than the comparatively drier corporate side of things.
But, having said that, I do think Tubridy has questions to answer. Was he aware that he was getting paid far, far more than was publicly stated for years? Perhaps it was all legally sound and fully agreed and perhaps Tubridy was already so well off and had so many people looking after the financial side of things for him that he could have been oblivious to that extra 10% of his salary that wasn't in the public domain. It's not impossible, I think it's implausible, but, not impossible. His statement yesterday, no doubt prepared at pace, was pretty vanilla and basically said "nothing to see here" - I very much doubt that'll be his final word on the issue.
Not tubs fault….he announced in 2020 he was taken a pay cut and what do the silly billies in rte do but give him extra money.
how silly of them!!!!!!!!!
I think there's enough outcry from the Oireachtas, programme's like Prime Time and the general public that this will be fully investigated. It's not going away.
The suspension of Dee Forbes is a good sign too. Enough is enough, this is fraud really.
The PAC should be involved, RTE is part funded by the TV license fee collected from us mere plebs.
If Parliament got involved with This Morning and ITV, our Government can demand a full review, ask questions of RTE, even if it is their preferred bias media
How much did Tubridy get for the St. Vincent De Paul ads? I doubt very much he did it for free given we his greedy nature has been exposed.
Nothing wrong with that.
Funny who we take dislikes to and a friend or family member might have a completely different take :)
It's about Corporate Governance issues, a lack of transparency and poor oversight on the use of taxpayer/licence fee payer money.
Money can't just be dished out willy nilly without due process whilst a different understated figure is communicated to the public who absolutely have an interest in getting value for money.
Far too many people are missing the real issue. I'm not sure how many of you work in organisations with proper Governance or have had exposure to how things should work at board and committee level.
The fact that there are indications people on the board and sub committees may not have known would tell another story.
When you hire a company to do a review which is on the payroll for years, I think we all know what is coming out of this review....fluffy clouds :-)
It's not overblown. At the same time as this was happening, RTE were making great play of being short of cash, and saying how staff would have to take cut backs. Looking for more money from the government and licence fee increases.
They cut Tubridy's headline pay but concealed these figures. Tubridy went along with this.
They lied to their staff and to the country.
There's a reason why RTE staff are gunning for Tubridy.
I noticed Will Goodbody trying to reduce the amount involved and the period involved during the 9 O'clock news. Have a look between 7 mins 50 seconds and 9 mins 20 seconds.
RTÉ News: Nine O'Clock - RTÉ Player (rte.ie)
WG refers to an amount 120,000 between the years 2017 to 2019....why would you start picking elements of it if not to change the narrative?
No it's not overblown. This is tax payers money we are talking about.
The same money which could be used for multiple other reasons. It's also tax payers money because each year RTE manage to blow the tv license money and go crying to the government for more.
I support RTE and I think we need a national broadcaster, this is even more relevant today after the likes of covid. No matter what people think of covid it was the only way to communicate to the population. But it is run like most government bodies, over budget and not providing the service the population wants.
Yes people want the Late Late show, do we need to pay the likes of Tubs so much money to present it? no we don't.
This is the list of earners
Tubs: over paid even with his declared wages, an average interviewer at best, his interview with the lady from Derry Girls says it all about him
Joe Duffy: anyone can listen to auld ones moan
Ray D'arcy: ??? really? the guy was ok on Today FM, taken back in to present a TV show which crashed, was told he would bring in advertising and hasn't. If I failed that bad I would be fired
Claire Byrne: never watched her so no idea
Miriam O’Callaghan: struggling to see why
Brendan O’Connor: Is he even on the station anymore?
Dobbo: news reader
Mary Wilson: no idea who she is
and the list continues. Really we have a lot better talent who end up in the UK because these is what RTE are hiring.
I could list out the Lottie Ryans, Doireanns etc and it all ends up with a list of nieces/nephews/daughters etc who are not hired for talent
Maybe refrain from making comments about something that you haven't read would be a useful start? you admit this yourself but then move to judgement on it!
Not only RTE but Government and Public/Civil Service have trouble with those 2 words as well.
Is 'doing the system', feathering your own nest, an Irish thing. You'd often hear the rationale put forward that when we were a colony we were always trying to do the system, be it poach salmon, get off with pulling a stroke. It was grand when we were conning the British administration. But the habits became ingrained and we continue to act this way.
Or is it simply human nature is human nature no matter where you go. With certain cultural exceptions e.g. the Germans generally do what they're told.
….
Sorry and reform seem to be the 2 hardest words for RTE.
I like Joe too but I'd like him twice as much on half the salary :)
no one missed pat kenny?
not sure about that.
I like Joe.
There, Ive said it.
RTE have to find a way to justify these high salaries.
It amazes me the Joe Duffy thread here sees huge traffic, for a few reasons.
One it's agony aunt stuff mostly. Maybe a bit better on a newsy day like today. Two it's on in the middle of the day, i didn't think so many people would be able to listen, as opposed to an evening programme.
How many more of the Top presenters have a deal like this? We have been ripped off long enough having to listen to RTE poor mouthing and telling us they need to pay these exorbitant salaries to keep the talent. Slash all the wages of the top earners now and lets see how many end up in pastures new on big salaries?
The cheek of them then crying the poor mouth and trying to get everyone who has a broadband connection to pay as well.
I think we're just cynical and suspicious of success. Not surprising with the low level nod-wink corruption and nepotism the place is riddled with.
That's just the non successful people.
The successful ones tend to keep quiet.
Then they accuse their critics of begrudgery.
It is often said that Irish people are terrible begrudgers.
10% of his salary extra is a pretty trivial amount and it was presumably necessary because he was signalling his intention to move on.
I genuinely wonder though, where would he (or any of the other vastly overpaid presenters) move on to? Didn't he do a brief filler in at BBC radio some years ago and I don't think it was successful?
I didn't watch the LLS since he took over (I tried but couldn't do it) and didn't listen to his radio show bar the odd clip if I was in the car, before I changed channels. But, imo, he came across as someone totally unsuited to the role he was in.
He had no interest in people, or curiosity about them, he didn't know when to just stay quiet and allow someone to speak. It was all shuffling and slapping the desk and the cue cards, omg, the cue cards. They weren't just props or reminders, he was glued to them. So he was unable to respond in a normal conversational manner to a guest.
And anytime I looked at the lineup for a show, there was the inevitable misery slot.
Not what I want to relax with on a Friday night.
How anyone thinks Tubridy can save his career and keep the money is beyond me.
This is it. The national broadcaster should be there to give young talent a place to work. After that if they want big money and they are good enough let them go off to commercial broadcasters to make their fortune if they wish. If they want job security then they can stay at the national broadcaster and 'regular' wages. Somehow RTE became the bloated mess that it is with ordinary presenters paid extraordinary wages.
No but I'd imagine you are in the minority. it's a real Irish thing. Like FAS and multiple other scandals. Where the guy receives a pat on the back and a good auld "sure isn't some biyo". No Fxuk that now at this stage. It's not a trivial amount of money when it's me and you paying it.
It was the same when Bertie and Charlie were caught out or Lowry was caught out. Too much nepotism and not enough outrage or accountability.
The other fact is that Tubridy just isn't talented enough to command money like that and our market isn't big enough to pay salaries like that. Let him off to the UK or wherever and see how long he lasts lecturing the masses on the next shite book he is going to read.